Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.2
189
5 Stars
37
4 Stars
71
3 Stars
43
2 Stars
23
1 Stars
15
Staff Friendliness
3.9
Pace
3.8
Amenities
3.5
Conditions
2.8
Value
3.5
Layout
4.3
61.0%
Recommend this course
135 out of 189 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.2
189
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
6
1 Stars
7
Staff Friendliness
4.1
Pace
4.1
Amenities
3.4
Conditions
2.4
Value
3.3
Layout
4.1
54.8%
Recommend this course
17 out of 31 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.2
189
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
6
1 Stars
10
Staff Friendliness
4.0
Pace
3.9
Amenities
3.5
Conditions
2.6
Value
3.4
Layout
4.3
57.8%
Recommend this course
26 out of 45 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 7267
Slope 134
Rating 75.4
Type Public
Book a Tee Time at
Heartland Crossing Golf Links
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Nick Price 72 7267 yards 75.4 134
Championship 72 6849 yards 73.2 130
Preferred 72 6406 yards 71.0 126
White 72 5976 yards 69.0 121
Red 72 5536 yards 69.0 121
Scorecard for Heartland Crossing
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Price M: 75.0/135 445 160 538 320 207 580 472 453 457 3632 542 188 457 509 153 400 482 440 464 3635 7267
Gold M: 73.2/130 422 145 515 305 181 560 450 435 425 3438 525 168 418 500 125 385 444 405 441 3411 6849
Blue M: 71.0/126 400 127 495 295 141 540 425 405 400 3228 495 156 372 491 110 360 429 355 410 3178 6406
White M: 69.0/121 W: 74.3/129 380 110 450 261 117 525 408 390 360 3001 478 137 361 453 95 323 398 340 390 2975 5976
Yellow M: 65.9/109 336 90 435 231 97 504 370 360 350 2773 462 118 333 430 74 290 376 315 365 2763 5536
Red M: 63.8/99 W: 71.8/123 280 89 360 170 95 340 240 290 279 2143 316 117 250 290 71 209 240 199 290 1982 4125
Handicap 5 9 13 17 15 11 1 3 7 14 12 2 16 18 10 8 4 6
Par 4 3 5 4 3 5 4 4 4 36 5 3 4 5 3 4 4 4 4 36 72
Handicap (W) 6 12 16 18 14 10 8 2 4 11 13 7 17 15 1 9 3 5

Course Details

Year Built 1998
Golf Season Open: 3/15 Closed: 12/15
Architect Steve Smyers (1998) Nick Price (1998)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Golf Simulator Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Indoor Practice Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes

Reviews

3.2
189

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 16
Patio Dining 8
19th Hole Specials 4
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 40
Undulating Greens 19
Plays Long 15
This course/club is great for:
Advanced Golfers 21
Locals 21
Entertaining Clients 8
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 17
Near the Airport 17
In the 'Burbs 16
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Previously Played

Mad greens

The course was full of weeds the greens were burning up and it was not very well taken care of from the last time that we played it
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Fair
Value for the Money Fair
Course Layout Average
Response from Heartland Crossing Golf Links on 08/14/2018:
Hello, we're sorry course conditions were not up to par. We appreciate your feedback and we are working on making improvements. Thank you for playing Heartland Crossing Golf Links, we hope you give us another chance in the future.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Fair
Course Layout Excellent
Response from Heartland Crossing Golf Links on 08/14/2018:
Hello, we're sorry you didn't fully enjoy your round. Our goal at Heartland Crossing Golf Links is for every golfer to enjoy their experience. Thank you for playing, we hope you give us another chance in the future.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Nice day with One Exception

This is a great course and pace of play was outstanding. Fairways and Tees were in tremendous shape, BUTTTTT the greens were horrible. One green (10th) was fairway cut short while they try to reclaim the actual green. Most greens have over 50% damage. The damaged areas are not cut nor are they marked as area under construction to take relief. It appears the course burned up the greens by watering during heat of the day or not watering. Love this course but you might want to give them a month or so to get the greens back in shape.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Good
Response from Heartland Crossing Golf Links on 08/07/2018:
Hello, we apologize course conditions were not up to par. We're working on making improvements and we appreciate your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed our nice layout and a quick pace of play. Thank you for playing Heartland Crossing Golf Links.
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

So sad

My wife and I played Heartland crossing on July 27, 2018. I have played Heartland many times over the past 17 years. At one time I thought it was the nicest daily fee course on the south side of Indianapolis. That is no longer the case. I knew it had fallen on hard times but never expected it to be so bad. Every part of the course - tee boxes, fairways, greens, etc. were in horrible shape. The greens were especially bad - unputtable. We played for $16.00 each with a Golfnow hot deal and $16.00 was too much to pay for the condition of the course. I hope someone will purchase this coure and restore it to what it once was. I am hoping that will happen but, in the meantime, don't waste your money.
Staff Friendliness Average
Pace of Play Average
Off-course amenities Fair
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Average
Played On
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Course is in terrible condition

I've played this course several times this year,. Last month in fact. The greens are in terrible condition, brown spots where grass is dead and large clumps of sand on the greens. The fairways are mostly dead. What a shame the course has fallen to such a bad state. 70%of greens are burnt or dead and 50% of fairways are dead. They should have refunded our money on site but no such luck.
Staff Friendliness Fair
Pace of Play Poor
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Average
Response from Heartland Crossing Golf Links on 08/03/2018:
Hello, we apologize you didn't fully enjoy your round. Our goal at Heartland Crossing Golf Links is for every player to enjoy their experience. Thank you for playing, we hope you give us another chance in the future.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Beds water

Got what I paid for - thank you for affordable rates
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Fair
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Good
Response from Heartland Crossing Golf Links on 07/16/2018:
Hello Jeremy, we're glad you enjoyed a great value and our friendly staff. Thank you for playing Heartland Crossing Golf Links!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

Greens need some love

Absolutely got what I paid for. Great afternoon round. Greens need some love - a few were burnt up.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Fair
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Good
Response from Heartland Crossing Golf Links on 07/12/2018:
Hello, we're sorry course conditions weren't up to par and we appreciate your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed a great value and quick pace of play. Thank you for playing Heartland Crossing Golf Links! #HeartlandCrossingGolfLinks
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Top 25 Contributor
Indy Advisor
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

An Absolute Dump

This is, hands down, the worst conditioned course I've played around Indianapolis in the 3 years I've lived here. Not sure if it's disease, money problems, or likely both. But this is not a course that is worth anyone's time or money in its present condition. The warning signs were evident from the start when we arrived 35 min before our 7:30 Sunday morning tee time and beat the workers to the course. It only went downhill from there as we practiced on the putting green and noticed large dead patches on it and elsewhere. As evidenced by the attached photos most of the small greens on the course were dead, with sand or mud replacing grass for large patches - they were basically unputtable. Where there was grass it was mowed at different heights, so there were stripes on the green, as well as parts around the fringe that were missed completely by the mower. The mower also left grass clippings behind that had to be wiped away when we even attempted to putt. The rest of the course had not been mowed at all. The grass in my backyard is shorter than the tee boxes, and I haven't mowed in a week. The fairways and rough were patchy at best. The sand, which is everywhere on the course, is unraked and thin. All the bunkers are deep as well, so this was particularly penal if you even attempt to hit out of them. The rough was very lush, and we spent a lot of time hunting for balls one bounce off the fairway. Add to that no one fixing any divots or anything, and yeah, you get the picture. It's been a while since I've said paying $15 to ride 18 holes was a ripoff, but this was an absolute ripoff. Sad, because the course is a Nick Price layout, and would be very challenging if it were in playable condition. But this is to the point where it needs to be shut down and reworked before anyone sinks another dime into playing the place. Run away from any deals here, it's just not worth it.
Staff Friendliness Poor
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Fair
Response from Heartland Crossing Golf Links on 07/10/2018:
Hello, we're sorry you didn't fully enjoy your round. Our goal at Heartland Crossing Golf Links is for every player to enjoy their experience. Thank you for playing, we hope you give us another chance in the future.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Deteriorating Course Conditions

Greens overall in bad shape. Many burnt areas had been sanded where there is no grass. A few of the smaller greens only had partial grass coverage. What grass was growing was fairly long and slow pace putts. Tee boxes average. A few of the boxes did not have the markers out in place. Fairly tall grass and a few weeds, but no big bare spots. Fairways average. Grass was a little long but had been mowed. No weeds and full grass coverage with no bare areas or ground under repair. Sand traps were mostly groomed and in average to above condition. Some were hard and needed more sand. No weeds in them. Rough had been mowed with some thick areas that would suck down errant balls. Tall grass and waste areas in good shape. Pace of play was excellent on a Sat afternoon. Overall we had fun and a good round. Paid $31 to play and would've liked to see better conditions as other deals are out there for nicer places. Probably won't go back this year unless a special circumstance. Hope some improvements in green conditions are in the works.
Staff Friendliness Average
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Fair
Value for the Money Fair
Course Layout Good
Response from Heartland Crossing Golf Links on 07/10/2018:
Hello, we're sorry course conditions were not up to par and we will escalate your feedback to management. Thank you for playing Heartland Crossing Golf Links, we hope you give us another chance in the future.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Close to the end

Management clearly doesn’t understand how close they are to loosing the course. They are extremely close to loosing several of the greens. There is no excuse for this with the summer we’ve had. You can tell that they have skimped on maintenance for quite some time now. The course is a great design that is in a mediocre neighborhood that probably doesn’t get the traffic to be profitable, which leads to poor maintenance. They seem to be headed for the same fate as saddle brook. They need to do something quickly. I live close by so I hope that doesn’t happen, but I will also not be playing this course again anytime soon unless they are giving green fees away figuratively speaking.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Fair
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Fair
Course Layout Excellent
Response from Heartland Crossing Golf Links on 07/09/2018:
Hello, we apologize you didn't fully enjoy your round. Our goal at Heartland Crossing Golf Links is for every player to enjoy their experience. Thank you for playing, we hope you give us another chance in the future.

Stay & Play Offers

$449 Starting price
Valid dates: Sep 03, 2018 - Oct 21, 2018
Book this Stay and Play package to enjoy your stay at the Stowe Mountain Lodge which includes 1 round at the exclusive Mountain Course at Spruce Peak (Formerly known as the Stowe Mountain Course) and unlimited rounds at the Stowe Country Club!
Nearby Courses
Indianapolis, Indiana
3.7465235294
88
Greenwood, Indiana
0.0
0
Indianapolis, Indiana
3.3571428571
77
Greenwood, Indiana
4.2393588235
126
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE