The Fort Golf Resort

4.3325235294 4.3 stars from 5 (213)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7148 yards
  • Slope: 143
  • Rating: 75.0
  • Layout

  • 6002 N Post Rd, Indianapolis, Indiana 46216, Marion County
  • (317) 543-9597
  • (317) 543-3967
  • www.thefortgolfcourse.com
Write Review

Year built: 1997
Architect(s): Pete Dye (1998), Tim Liddy (1998), Wadsworth Golf Construction (1998)
Type: Resort
Golf Season: Open: 4/01 Closed: 11/01

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fee
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Shirts must have collars. Tank tops, t-shirts, cut-offs, and athletic shorts are not permitted.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 72 7148 yards 75.0 143
Blue 72 6758 yards 73.1 138
White 72 6114 yards 70.4 130
Green 72 5408 yards 66.9 123
Red 72 5045 yards 69.1 124

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.3 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.0 stars from 5
Value: 4.1 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.0 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.2 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 213 Reviews
5 stars:
124
4 stars:
59
3 stars:
24
2 stars:
5
1 stars:
1

recommend this course

195 out of 210 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city worth the drive in the 'burbs   Great for wildlife/ scenic views advanced golfers a weekend splurge   Challenges include bunkers elevation changes thick rough   Great for drinks brunch patio dining  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender


5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/10/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from The Fort Golf Resort on 07/12/2018:

Thank you so much for the 5-star review as we appreciate you taking the time. We love to see you had a great time on the course and we hope you will book another round with us soon.

"Ball Marks Everywhere"


DrOldSchool's avatar
Top 25 Contributor
Indy Advisor
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/28/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Went around The Fort again today, and continue to hold the same opinion of it - it's a 5-star layout, with 4-star conditions at best. Today I spent half my time on the greens fixing ball marks, as it was almost like putting on the moon. Not sure how anyone in front of me putted with all the unfixed or poorly fixed marks. Lots of the fairways and some fringes were a little ugly and spotty too after the recent rain.

As for the course, the elevation change makes it pretty unique for the area, and it's very challenging, so it's well worth a go. But full freight would feel like a bit of a rip with the present conditions.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from The Fort Golf Resort on 07/03/2018:

Thank you DrOldSchool so much for the 4-star review as we appreciate you taking the time. We love to see you had a great time on the course and we hope you will book another round with us soon here at The Fort Golf Resort.

"Great layout TERRIBLE GREENS"


u267030593's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/24/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Paid $71 to play Sunday morning 6/24/18. Greens were worse than the $15 American Legion course in my central Indiana hometown! I wouldn't pay $45 to play the fort, with the greens beat to crap like they are now. Beautiful layout with plenty of challenge. For the price, play Bear Slide, Prairie View, or Fox Prarie nearby. Fix the pace of play problem (5 hr round) and the horrendously beat up greens and it's as good of a course as can be found.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from The Fort Golf Resort on 06/25/2018:

We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. We hope you'll give us another try in the near future.

"Saturday at the Fort"


Critterkc17's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/23/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Even though they had rain of 5 inches in the last 48 hours and it was cart path only, the Fort was an excellent round. The greens were in great shape. The round moved along well for being cart path only. As expected the rough was pretty high in some places without being cu for a couple of days. The staff was friendly and helpful as usual.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from The Fort Golf Resort on 06/26/2018:

Thank you Critterkc17 so much for taking the time and for your 5-star rating! Book another round with us soon here at The Fort Golf Resort as we would love to have you back.

"The Fort is great!"


PuttWithaWedge's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/23/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

Wow what an amazing course. Beautiful layout. I didn't know there was such elevation near the city, reminded me of courses in Pennsylvania. Pete Dye is a golf design guru and this course is typical Dye. Awesome greens. This is our first stop on the Pete Dye Golf Trail. We aim to get in all 7. But now that we have played here we will be back. A must play course in Indianapolis!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from The Fort Golf Resort on 06/25/2018:

Thank you PuttWithaWedge so much for taking the time and for your 5-star rating! Book another round with us soon here at The Fort Golf Resort.


sennis01's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/09/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The Fort Golf Resort on 06/13/2018:

Thank you sennis01 as we appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon here at The Fort Golf Resort.


u000007433036's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/08/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The Fort Golf Resort on 06/11/2018:

We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon.

"Pace of Play"


dhiner's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/02/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

5 hr round? Pathetic...at one time there were 4 groups on a hole. I would rather have played a muni.. Too bad. I now know why they had a golfnow price.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor


I recommend this course


Response from The Fort Golf Resort on 06/05/2018:

Thank you dhiner as we are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. We hope you'll give us another try in the near future.

"Slowest pace of play"


u602077859's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/02/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It took over 2 hours to finish the first 6 holes... I kid you not. The course was extremely overbooked. I called the ranger and he said he was going to speed it up but no difference was made until it finally sped up after the front 9 because there was a group of 8 guys that left because the course was so backed up. It took 5 hours to play.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course



Brewgolfer's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/18/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The Fort Golf Resort on 05/22/2018:

Thank you so much for taking the time and for your 5-star rating! Book another round with us soon.

"Easily a top 10 course in the state of Indiana"


JupiterIslandGolf's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/08/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I've been playing this course for over 20 years. I moved away to Florida five years ago and came back and played it yesterday. better condition than I've ever seen it. staff is very helpful and friendly. tee times are on time. Unlike most Indiana Public courses there isn't a house on the course. Fairways tees and greens are in excellent condition. the Fort is always been a top 10 course in my opinion... you'd be stupid to play anywhere else for the money.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from The Fort Golf Resort on 05/22/2018:

Thank you so much for taking the time and for your 5-star rating! Book another round with us soon.

"Empty course still slow"


Tyler1725434's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/03/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

There were not many groups on the course, yet we still got stacked behind 2 groups of elderly gentlemen that were in no hurry. In the process of playing it would typically be us waiting at the tee box on every hole and waiting to hit approaches on longer holes. The course ranger even stopped and mentioned how slow the group in front of us was playing, then turns and drives away. I have no problem with people wanting to take their time playing but if that’s your plan let the faster groups play through.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course


Response from The Fort Golf Resort on 05/07/2018:

We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. We hope you'll give us another try in the near future.

"The Fort"



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/30/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I took several of my friends that had expressed a desire to play this course. They were not disappointed. We had a great time on a fantastic course. The staff was great. We ate lunch at the snack bar and the food was fresh.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from The Fort Golf Resort on 06/01/2018:

Thank you Poncho927 so much for taking the time and for your 5-star rating! Book another round with us soon here at The Fort Golf Resort.



4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The Fort Golf Resort on 04/25/2018:

We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon.

"Great course with lots of twists and turns"


chuckfrary's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/18/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

As early in the season as it is we were thrilled to see how the course is in such great condition. The Fort is one of my favorite courses in the Indy area.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from The Fort Golf Resort on 04/23/2018:

Thank you chuckfrary so much for taking the time and for your 5-star rating! Book another round with us soon here at The Fort Golf Resort.

"Cart path only"


jeremy5040's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/04/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Just prepare yourself before to even book it. They love their cart path only....

It’s an incredible course. Just wish they would easy up on the carts path stuff.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The Fort Golf Resort on 04/16/2018:

Thank you Jeremy5040 so much for taking the time and for your 5-star rating! Book another round with us soon here at The Fort Golf Resort.

"Great fall golf experience"


Brookscm72's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Indiana Advisor
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/16/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Had a nice day of near freezing with some golf spliced in! We got a great deal on GolfNow, so it was nice to get out.

This is a great fall golf course, with plenty of elevation to offer admirable views of the foliage. They do a good job clearing leaves, so it wasn't really an issue. Tees were just ok; fairways & rough were in good shape. Bunkers were ok (not all had been raked). We'd had rain earlier in week, but in my experience the course always drains well. Greens are top notch, even this late in season, even with them punched. Fast.

Conditions are almost always great and today was solid for Nov. This is one of Pete Dye's less-obvious designs in my opinion. Not a lot of rr ties, not a lot of intimidating tee shots. There is trouble right on a lot of holes, but that's expected. Greens are fair, not overly undulating. The course starts pretty friendly, then gets going on #4 (kinda tight! par = good here). The tee shot on 6 should be from one of the upper tees, it's too nice to drive down to the lower boxes; same with #11. Both nines finish strong, getting par on each is good news. There's a few tee shots that offer risk-reward bunkers to go for...but not today, too cold & windy to really get the ball out there.

We zipped around pretty fast & drove the whole way home with the heater on high. One of Indy's best, this place is a good idea every time.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from The Fort Golf Resort on 11/27/2017:

Thanks Brookscm72 for your review and feedback on our golf course. We love seeing you had a good time on the course and we hope to see you back again very soon here at The Fort Golf Resort.

"Great course"


tubecutboss's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/11/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Want to return in warmer weather and dryer course. Course was in great shape for this time of year leaves were not a problem . Didn't use the off course amenities so I was not able to rate them .


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from The Fort Golf Resort on 11/21/2017:

Thanks tubecutboss for your 5-star review and feedback on our golf course. We love seeing you had a good time on the course and we hope to see you back again very soon!


u000007751591's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/10/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from The Fort Golf Resort on 11/13/2017:

Thanks for the great review. We love that think you we are "the best course around Indianapolis." Please come back and see us again very soon!

"very pleasntly surprized"


kanick's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/08/2017
First time playing Used cart Cold weather

Reviewed on

Make this course a must play greens were great, fairways were super, love the layout of this golf course, next visit will have some course knowledge, on the best positions to play from, was a nice fall day with nice colors and even though had just arrfied was very nice will be back again for sure


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from The Fort Golf Resort on 11/13/2017:

Thanks kanick for your review and feedback on our golf course. We love seeing you had a good time on the course and we hope to have you back again very soon!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed