Trophy Club, The

4.4228176471 4.4 stars from 5 (195)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7317 yards
  • Slope: 138
  • Rating: 75.3
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Indoor practice facilities: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire required.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7317 yards 75.3 138
Blue 72 6580 yards 72.1 130
White 72 6006 yards 69.6 124
Red 72 5050 yards 69.3 118

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.4 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.0 stars from 5
Value: 4.6 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.1 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.4 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 195 Reviews
5 stars:
121
4 stars:
65
3 stars:
5
2 stars:
3
1 stars:
1

recommend this course

187 out of 191 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city in the 'burbs   Great for advanced golfers locals wildlife/ scenic views   Challenges include undulating greens bunkers water hazards   Great for drinks  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Great Golf Course"


u146125246's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/25/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The Links style layout was fantastic - open, yet challenging with great views and elevation changes. Fairways and greens in great condition (bunkers were saturated/wet from recent heavy rains that week). Out and back design with a full service snack bar/sandwich shop mid course was perfect - fast and convenient. Pace of play was good and the yardage book in the golf cart was a big help for a first time visitor. Staff was friendly and helpful throughout. Will play here again for sure. Highly recommended.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



RUSTY46234's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/04/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Not your typical Indiana golf course"


aharo08's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/04/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First time in almost five years that I’ve played here, and it is just as amazing as I remember. Very creative hole routing, surprisingly hilly in area, plenty of bunkers and water hazards. There is a reason why this course is so highly rated. The staff treated me great, even playing as a single, which wasn’t an issue since the weather forecast scared many other golfers away. The course played incredibly long that day because of all the recent rain, but the green were in very good shape. Hope to play here again in the near future.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Not for walkers"


shipper50's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/03/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I played this course after it had rained the night before and it was cart paths only. Seeing I have had 4 surgeries and 2 left knee replacements it was very difficult for me to finish. To walk from 75-100 yards from the cart path to the ball was too much for me and my knee. It was a great course and for the time of year the overall course was good. Just too much for an older guy of 67 and my knee to finish.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Right place play golf"


David2775239's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Right place play golf Enjoy playing this course every time I play it I would say this is what mine is courses in the state of Indiana looking forward to play again


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



u000004348527's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/21/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Well maintained"


u6937739's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/20/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The fairways and greens were in excellent condition. The heather was cut down which was very nice when I hit a few in there.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Never again"


dcnolan03's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/17/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Overbooked with no Starter or time management. Could not even finish my round.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


"Pete Dye protege"


u267030593's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/14/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

One of my favorite courses in Indiana. Tim Liddy is a masterful architect. It's a fair course, but requires skill to shoot in the 80's. Turf is fantastic with rolling terrain and slick undulated putting surfaces. It's an incredible value for the price. This course ranks right along with Prarie View, Bearslide, Purgatory, Coyote Crossing, the Purdue courses, Plum Creek and all the top loops in Indiana. Driving range right next to clubhouse.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"One of the best courses in the state of Indiana"


David2775239's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/04/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

One of the best courses in the state of Indiana. I would recommend this course to anyone this course is in great great great shape it's fun to play it's challenging but fun to play so go play it.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u5835251's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/03/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great layout"


u000005902534's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/24/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Everything was great except the greens, they had recently been slit and were somewhat bumpy.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"A Real Surprise"


Tom6964842's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/08/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This was my first time playing a links course. It was so much fun. The fairways and greens were in wonderful shape. Challenging and easier holes are mixed together to keep you looking forward to the next surprise. I've never enjoyed playing a course for the first time as much as this.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"One of my favorites in Indy"


runningdog's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/25/2017
Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

I've been coming to Indy every summer for a few years and always make sure to make the drive out and play Trophy Club a few times during my trip. It's my favorite track in Indy--along with Purgatory--and I've played most of them.. It's hard to beat for $32 at 3pm on a weekend, too. Fescue is dire during the summer, so keep it in play. Better to play short, than go long and through the fairway on a lot of the holes. But risk reward play abounds. Greens are pretty good and run smoothly and quickly enough to give you pause, especially with some of the tough pin locations that are often there . A lot of interesting holes--shortish par fives that beg you to go for it in two, but are incredibly tough. Great selection of par 3s. When the wind is up--and apparently that's pretty often, club selection can be 2-3 either way. I'd go back and play every day if it wasn't 40 mins from my place. $13 six packs of beer, too, has to be the cheapest I've ever seen on a golf course.. Can't recommend it enough.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



u4300020's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/20/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u000002668218's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/12/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on


I recommend this course


"6 hour round"


troyperkins72's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/11/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

yes, you read that correctly, a 6 hour round at 3:30 on a Sunday afternoon. Tee times were pretty full but they were still letting walk ons on. No ranger to police the course. No pairing of twosomes. Just poor course/player/booking management all around. I have played probably over 100 rounds on this course over the and have never been so disappointed. I won't be making the 30 min drive again any time soon. I also sent two emails to ask what the heck went wrong and not one response. In my book, that warrants a negative review.


Pace of Play: Poor


I don't recommend this course



John9601757's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/09/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"This course is all about risk and reward"


u901963908's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/03/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

better to play this course tee to green the way it was designed to be played but there are many opportunities to make up a stroke or two if you get down. Reachable par 5's, a couple of drivable par 4's. all have a price you pay if you fail to pull it off. No two holes play remotely the same, well designed layout.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u761638830's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/29/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u000006439153's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/29/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed