West at Oakmont Golf Club

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.0
202
5 Stars
42
4 Stars
99
3 Stars
37
2 Stars
11
1 Stars
13
Conditions
3.7
Value
4.3
Layout
4.2
Friendliness
4.2
Pace
4.1
Amenities
3.9
90.3%
Recommend this course
170 out of 199 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
4.2
26
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.1
Value
4.4
Layout
4.3
Pace
4.3
Amenities
4.0
StaffFriendliness
4.3
92.3%
Recommend this course
24 out of 26 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
4.2
44
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
24
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.1
Value
4.5
Layout
4.2
Pace
4.3
Amenities
3.9
StaffFriendliness
4.3
93.2%
Recommend this course
41 out of 44 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 6379
Slope 126
Rating 70.4
Type Semi-Private
Book a Tee Time at
Oakmont Golf Club - West Course
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6379 yards 70.4 126
White 72 6059 yards 69.2 122
White (W) 72 6059 yards 74.3 129
Yellow 72 5573 yards 67.1 118
Yellow (W) 72 5573 yards 71.7 124
Forward 72 3719 yards
Scorecard for Oakmont West
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Blue M: 70.8/130 352 403 477 360 213 343 463 145 365 3121 481 352 384 173 384 537 145 399 403 3258 6379
White M: 69.7/124 W: 75.0/134 330 387 456 342 198 330 453 136 327 2959 469 335 375 147 371 521 127 381 374 3100 6059
Yellow M: 67.0/121 W: 72.0/127 298 321 424 326 170 302 443 122 296 2702 436 319 361 113 340 487 107 356 352 2871 5573
Red W: 61.5/105 214 182 273 233 110 222 286 90 200 1810 309 221 201 97 202 337 67 237 238 1909 3719
Handicap 8 2 14 6 4 10 16 18 12 11 13 7 15 5 9 17 1 3
Par 4 4 5 4 3 4 5 3 4 36 5 4 4 3 4 5 3 4 4 36 72
Handicap (W) 12 14 4 6 16 10 2 18 8 3 11 13 15 9 1 17 5 7

Course Details

Year Built 1964
Fairways Rye Grass
Greens Rye Grass
Golf Season Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
GPS Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Collared Shirt, No Cutoffs, Denim OK

Reviews

4.0
202

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 23
Dinner 13
Brunch 12
Course Challenges Include:
Water Hazards 17
Bunkers 15
Undulating Greens 14
This course/club is great for:
Locals 24
Seniors 24
Walkers 24
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 17
In the 'Burbs 14
Worth the Drive 13

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Reviewer Photos

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Great Day

weather was perfect...about 70 with no wind and plenty of sunshine. Tee'd off at 1145...done by 315. Played with a twosome who were retired and good sports. Layout was neither too challenging nor too easy. Used all the clubs in the bag. We drove up from Contra Costa County to play and enjoyed ourselves. Greens were recently punched and a little bumpy but playable. Fairways were mostly good condiditon with a few over watered spots. If I ht a good shot, I was rewarded and if I hit a poor one I had to scramble...but was never out of the hole. All in all, nice day, good course, had fun.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Great Day of Golf

The course was in great shape and the staff was friendly.

Response from Oakmont Golf Club on 11/09/2018:
Thank you for playing Oakmont Golf Club! We appreciate your positive feedback regarding our great course conditions and friendly staff. Come back soon!
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Ok course to play considering!

This course is normally a fun course to play. However, we were never informed that the greens were sanded and punched. So a few stars were taken off because of that. The pace of play was also slow. Not sure I would come back on a weekend to play it in the future.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Response from Oakmont Golf Club on 11/07/2018:
Thank you for playing Oakmont Golf Club. We sincerely apologize for the miscommunication regarding the recently aerated greens. We hope you'll consider giving us another try soon!
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

NOVEMBER 2018

For November time, it was a perfect day. A little windy, but it is always a little windy at Oakmont.

Finally shot me an 80 on the west. Overall good day, good course with some pretty good food.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Response from Oakmont Golf Club on 11/06/2018:
Thank you for playing Oakmont Golf Club, Wilson. We appreciate your positive feedback and congratulations on finally shooting an 80 on the West course. Time to start working towards 70. Come back soon!
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 1000 Contributor
Previously Played
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Oakmont Golf Club on 10/30/2018:
Thanks for the 5-star rating and review, John! Come back soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

SLOW

The round was one of the slowest I can remember. We followed a women’s league that we were told was slowed by 3 men’s foursomes, who were 80+ years old. I would not play it again.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Fair
Pace Poor
Amenities Fair
Response from Oakmont Golf Club on 11/06/2018:
Thank you for playing Oakmont Golf Club. We apologize if the pace of play was slower than normal during your round. Please call 707-539-9215 x228 and ask for Heather to discuss your experience further. We hope you'll consider giving us another try in the near future.
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 1000 Contributor
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Nice course

I've played this course about 5 times this month. I really like the course.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Oakmont Golf Club on 10/25/2018:
Wow! Thanks for playing 5 times this month. We appreciate you taking the time to share your review and give us a 4-star rating. There's still time to play 6 rounds this month at Oakmont. See you again soon!
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

The course has great features

Always a good test. Green’s were great. Fairways not bad.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Oakmont Golf Club on 10/02/2018:
Thank you for playing Oakmont Golf Club, Bob! We appreciate you taking the time to share this 4-star review and kind words regarding our greens. Come back soon!
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 1000 Contributor
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Nice course great price

Very pleasant, good staff, great deal, course in good condition.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Amenities Average
Response from Oakmont Golf Club on 09/26/2018:
Awesome! Thank you for playing Oakmont Golf Club, John. We appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words about your round with us. Be sure to Like us on Facebook for the latest course news and specials.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Tough greens

This is a well maintained course with tricky greens. Beware of several of the greens have false fronts. # 9 has a tricky drop off on the left that you cannot see from the fairway. Most of the greens look like there is more break in the putts than there actually is. Some of the downhill putts are really fast. I started alone at 11:30 and finished at 2:30. And that is only because it backed up a bit on the back 9. Good value for the money.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Oakmont Golf Club on 08/23/2018:
Thank you for playing Oakmont Golf Club! We appreciate you taking the time to share some helpful tips for any golfers who haven't played our course yet. We're glad to hear you were able to play a full round in about 3 hours, that's always great! Book another tee time with us soon.
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Top 100 Contributor
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Good local course

The course is basically flat, with water on a few holes. Greens are in good shape and roll true. All greens have slope built in them to add a little more challenge to the course.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Response from Oakmont Golf Club on 08/21/2018:
Thank you for playing Oakmont Golf Club! We appreciate your kind words regarding the condition of the greens and how the undulations made the course a little more challenging. Come back again soon!
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Nice old course

Nice older course, relatively short, not too much trouble to get into.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from Oakmont Golf Club on 08/08/2018:
Thank you for playing Oakmont Golf Club. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts about our golf course as well as give us a 4-star rating. Be sure to book another tee time with us soon.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Great conditions @ Oakmont West

Got a great deal ($34 w/cart) from GolfNow. Course is in great condition from tees to greens. Our foursome played in less than four hours (on a Sunday afternoon). There was no on-course beverage cart, but the restaurant/bar is top notch. Staff is always friendly and appreciative of your business.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Oakmont Golf Club on 08/08/2018:
Thank you for playing Oakmont Golf Club! We appreciate your kind words regarding our course conditions, restaurant, and friendly staff. Be sure to Like us on Facebook for the latest course news and specials. Come back soon.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Good value

We had a 12:24 start and we got started right on time. The course was in very good condition. They have a grass driving range and a nice green to practice short pitch and chip shots. Greens were in excellent shape and were fairly quick. Bunkers were in good shape, Unfortunately I was in too many but I did manage a sandy par on 18. It was a warm day (mid 80's) and not very busy at all. Finished the round in 3 1/2 hours. Great!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Oakmont Golf Club on 08/07/2018:
Thanks for playing Oakmont Golf Club! Sounds like you had a great day out here on the course. We appreciate your kind words regarding the course conditions and we're glad to hear the pace of play moved along smoothly. Come back again soon! Hopefully you'll stay out of the bunkers next time.
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Challenging greens

The fairways could stand mowing in some spots but the greens are another issue--good condition and challenging. There are no flat greens. Your ability to read greens is called into question on every hole. This was a very enjoyable experience.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Oakmont Golf Club on 07/26/2018:
Thank you for playing Oakmont Golf Club! We appreciate your kind words regarding our challenging and well-maintained greens. We're glad to hear you had a very enjoyable experience and we hope to see you out here again soon!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Oakmont Golf Club on 07/25/2018:
Thanks for the 5 stars! Come back to Oakmont Golf Club again soon.
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Oakmont Golf Club on 07/19/2018:
Thanks for playing Oakmont Golf Club! We appreciate you considering us to be a good value. Come back soon!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Response from Oakmont Golf Club on 07/19/2018:
Thanks for playing Oakmont Golf Club. We're glad you had a nice day on the course. Let's hope for 5 stars next time.
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from Oakmont Golf Club on 07/19/2018:
Thank you for playing Oakmont Golf Club! We appreciate your kind words. Come back soon.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Soft greens

Nice plush soft greens. Not real fast but ball lands nice and soft.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Oakmont Golf Club on 07/19/2018:
Thank you for playing Oakmont Golf Club! We're glad you enjoyed the greens. Book another tee time with us soon.
Nearby Courses
Santa Rosa, California
4.1742117647
126
Santa Rosa, California
4.01235
136
Santa Rosa, California
5.0
1
Rohnert Park, California
3.8770235294
328
Rohnert Park, California
3.8770235294
328
Saint Helena, California
0.0
0
Santa Rosa, California
0.0
0
Santa Rosa, California
5.0
1
Sonoma, California
5.0
1
Calistoga, California
2.7495
32

Stay & Play Offers

$339 Starting price
Valid dates: Nov 08, 2018 - Dec 20, 2018
Enjoy four rounds of golf at either of Ka’anapali’s championship courses and a beautiful Ocean View room with a five (5) or more night stay at the Royal Lahaina Resort.
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE