Cape Neddick Country Club

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.0
169
5 Stars
55
4 Stars
88
3 Stars
17
2 Stars
8
1 Stars
1
Conditions
3.6
Value
4.2
Layout
4.2
Friendliness
4.4
Pace
4.3
Amenities
3.9
86.5%
Recommend this course
154 out of 168 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.6
26
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
3
1 Stars
1
Conditions
3.2
Value
3.8
Layout
4.0
Pace
4.1
Amenities
3.7
StaffFriendliness
4.2
73.1%
Recommend this course
19 out of 26 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.8
31
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
3
1 Stars
1
Conditions
3.3
Value
3.9
Layout
4.1
Pace
4.2
Amenities
3.9
StaffFriendliness
4.4
77.4%
Recommend this course
24 out of 31 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 70
Length 6257
Slope 125
Rating 70.1
Type Semi-Private
Cape Neddick Country Club occupies a scenic stretch of rugged Maine coastline, just 45 minutes south of Portland and just over an hour north of Boston. The gentle start offered by the front nine is nicely balanced with the more challenging back nine. Be sure to build up your score on the player-friendly first half because greater accuracy will be required for the final stretch of the golf course. With plenty of variety among all of the holes, the layout will test your skill with different types of shots. There are a variety of elevation changes ranging from subtle to dramatic, providing tricky uphill and downhill lies. The contours are complemented by strategically placed bunkers that lurk along the challenging greens. Water hazards also come into play on several holes at Cape Neddick Country Club.
Book a Tee Time at
Cape Neddick Country Club
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 70 6257 yards 70.1 125
Black (W) 70 6257 yards 76.1 136
White 70 5987 yards 68.8 122
White (W) 70 5987 yards 74.4 132
Blue 70 5287 yards 65.4 114
Blue (W) 70 5287 yards 70.8 127
Gold (W) 70 4904 yards 67.7 119
Gold 70 4904 yards 63.3 106
Scorecard for Cape Neddick
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Gold M: 70.1/125 W: 76.1/136 340 202 594 340 375 136 322 168 346 2823 450 205 547 409 216 562 334 345 366 3434 6257
White M: 68.8/122 W: 74.4/132 340 181 577 327 355 131 316 155 326 2708 444 165 529 409 192 547 324 333 356 3299 6007
Blue M: 65.4/114 W: 70.8/127 326 171 465 302 305 128 300 145 268 2410 405 153 415 391 170 425 324 268 326 2877 5287
Green M: 63.3/106 W: 67.7/119 301 117 379 300 240 102 275 96 240 2050 403 113 410 343 143 420 320 231 301 2684 4734
Handicap 3 13 1 11 7 17 9 15 5 6 16 2 10 14 4 12 18 8
Par 4 3 5 4 4 3 4 3 4 34 4 3 5 4 3 5 4 4 4 36 70

Course Details

Year Built 1919
Fairways Bent Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Open: 4/01 Closed: 11/01
Architect Donald Ross (1925) Brian Silva (1990)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs No

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No

Reviews

4.0
169

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 13
Patio Dining 12
19th Hole Scenic Views 6
Course Challenges Include:
Elevation Changes 17
Water Hazards 14
Forced Carries 13
This course/club is great for:
A Weekend Splurge 16
Locals 16
Advanced Golfers 12
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 24
Near Local Attractions 16

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Previously Played

High price considering conditions

Paid a deposit on the web site to golf now. Price was suppose to include range balls and a cart. Course was covered with standing water multiple greens had dead patches. I was still charged the golf now deposit and was charged 60.00 to walk 18 at the course and the range was closed. The assistant in the pro shop was less than helpful with the exception that he told us to go whenever we were ready. I hadn't played the course for a couple of years but have played the course many times in previous years, always enjoyed the course layout the conditions were never like this and the cost was never as high. Not sure if I will be back any time soon.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Poor
Pace Good
Default User Image
Cape Neddick Country Club
Commented On 11/07/2018

We have had an unprecedented amount of rain that has caused lots of standing water and course issues and we are sorry about that. We are offering a discount on all times remaining for the season. We hope you give us another shot soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Disappointed about the Back Nine Closure

I drove a little more than an hour to get to this course. When I arrived I found out then that the backside was closed for maintenance. So we played the front side twice (which had just been aerated and sanded recently). I think this should have been revealed somewhere in the reservation process before I made the reservation.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Response from Cape Neddick Country Club on 10/12/2018:
We appreciate you driving a little longer than usual to play at our golf course. We apologize for the miscommunication and hope you'll give us another shot in the near future. We'd be happy to discuss your experience further with you, so please do not hesitate to call our pro shop directly.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Typical Ross course

Got a hot buy, so decided to try it as it was only a minute from The Cliff House where we were staying. Attendant notified us that they had aerated and the back was closed, and that was why we had such a rate. Some of the greens were awfull and they all had been crossed cut. Condition were fairly good fo this time of the year, but it did need some cutting as your ball was difficult to find in long grass. Typical Ross layout that was fun to pay. Club house was good size and the beer cold, with a friendly attendant . Kitchen was pretty much closed for this time of the year. Overall. I would not pay the summer rate to play here and $45 would be a fair price.

Conditions Average
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Response from Cape Neddick Country Club on 10/12/2018:
Thank you for your review. We're glad you decided to try out our golf course. We expect a smooth and swift recovery of the greens, so we hope you visit us again soon!
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

You did not know they were aerating until you arrived at the course. You played the front nine twice. Otherwise it was wonderful.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Cape Neddick Country Club on 10/12/2018:
We're glad you had a wonderful round of golf with us. Come play again soon!
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather

Nice Course

Very nice course with pretty views, granite rock outcroppings. Interesting layout, some hills. Was very wet, so if it rained recently, you might look for a course which drains better.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from Cape Neddick Country Club on 10/01/2018:
Thank you for the great review! We're glad you enjoyed the course layout. We hope you book your next tee time with us soon.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Cape Neddick Review

Cape Neddick was just an ok place to play for $63 fee. Fairways were pretty beat up however the greens were in great shape and putted true. Layout was ok but for a first timer it was a little

tough navigating around.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Response from Cape Neddick Country Club on 09/26/2018:
We're glad you decided to give Cape Neddick a shot for the first time. We do hope you come to visit us again soon!
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser

Burn'in Deal rate should be regular rate!

We got a great burnin deal rate at $42, this is about what course should normally charge as the fairways are in rough shape, and many areas not mowed. The rough was overgrown and few of the greens had up to ~20% damaged. We had a decent day overall but can't image paying the rack rate at over $100!

Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Amenities Average
Response from Cape Neddick Country Club on 09/26/2018:
We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. For the best daily deals, be sure to book your next tee time here https://cape-neddick-country-club.play.teeitup.com/
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Cape Neddick Country Club on 09/26/2018:
Thank you for the 5 stars! Be sure to book your next tee time with us soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from Cape Neddick Country Club on 09/26/2018:
We are sorry to learn you did not enjoy your round with us. Please, do not hesitate to give us more detailed feedback we can build on.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Poor Conditions

The course was extremely wet from previous day's rain but it was in bad condition anyway. We paid $49 and it was way overpriced. Nothing special about this course, not pretty either. Bare areas, dead spots on greens and they were aerating and had not told us. Usual price was around $90 which is outrageous. Go to Old Marsh in Wells for $75 excellent condition, friendly staff and nice layout

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Fair
Amenities Poor
Response from Cape Neddick Country Club on 09/26/2018:
We are sorry you did not enjoy your round with us. We hope you'll give us another shot soon
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

1st Time Visitor

The Mrs. and I hoped for a nice afternoon round while visiting Kennebunkport. The fog finally burned off and it turned out to be a sunny afternoon. The Starter was great and we were fortunate to have a member of the club join us for the front nine. Without his help it would have been difficult to navigate the course. The course was in good shape and the greens rolled true. We played the front nine in just over two hours, which is their posted pace of play. Unfortunately the back nine bogged down and after two hours we had only played six holes, so we called it a day. Overall it was a great day and would definitely go back and play during the week. Had a delicious lunch in the clubhouse before we started also.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Excellent
Response from Cape Neddick Country Club on 09/17/2018:
We're glad you and your wife stopped by Cape Neddick Country Club during your visit! We're sorry you didn't get to finish your round. We hope you get to see us again on your next visit!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing

Pretty Course

This is a really pretty place to play. A challenge for experienced golfers, but playable for less expert golfers, like me.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Cape Neddick Country Club on 09/04/2018:
Thank you for the great review! We are glad you found Cape Neddick to be a great test for players of all levels. Come play again soon.
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart
Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Response from Cape Neddick Country Club on 09/04/2018:
We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback regarding the back 9. We're glad you enjoyed your round overall. We hope you'll join us for another round soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from Cape Neddick Country Club on 07/18/2018:
Thank you for the 4-star rating! We are glad you enjoyed your first experience of Cape Neddick Country Club.
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
3.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather

Muni track that’s a country club

Donald Ross design, which I love. Course layout was good. Condition was dissapointing. Greens were ok. Lot of brown everywhere else. I did find out that it’s essentially a local’s country club. Think it’s somewhere around $2K for the season, so quite worth it for those who spend their summers / weekends in the area. Not sure what the other options are. I chose simply because of the convenience to where I was staying. Overall, could be much nicer than it is.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Cape Neddick Country Club on 07/23/2018:
We appreciate your honest feedback. We will look into your concerns and hope you give us another shot in the near future.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Old time course

Terrific blend of Donald Ross and Brian Silve.

Many challenging holes

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Response from Cape Neddick Country Club on 07/16/2018:
Thank you for the 4-star rating and review!
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Windy weather
Used cart

Pleasant Experience

A challenging course on a windy day with signature back to front sloping greens in the tradition of Donald Ross. The starter was quite helpful offering his suggestion for the appropriate tees and overall course strategy. Greens almost all healed following their being punched and they rolled quite true. Tee boxes and fairways in good shape, bunkers being worked on currently. Will definitely return to play again.

For a great dinner with exquisite ocean views try The Tiller at the Cliff House which is diagonally accross the street from Cape Neddick Country Club.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from Cape Neddick Country Club on 06/15/2018:
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you had a great round! We look forward to your next round with us.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Nice course

Green said we’re recent aerated, so they weren’t in the most playable condition. Rest of the course is in great shape. Tough course to play for the first time; there were plenty of times where I thought “I’d play that very differently had I known...”. There are a few holes that I’d probably need to play several times before figuring out where I need to be with each shot. Overall, a very nicely run course, friendly staff, decent pace.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Cape Neddick Country Club on 06/04/2018:
Thank you for your feedback! Now that you have more of a feel for the course, we hope to see you out there again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Cape neddick

The fairway is ok shape. The rough on the side is way overgrown. The greens are slow and lumpy. We were paired with a great guy who was a caddy in his younger life and could find our balls. Otherwise, we would have lost . 6 balls at least. We love playing cape neddick as it is 5 minutes from our home. We were put on the back nine which has three par 5s...we prefer the front nine to start off with....

Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Response from Cape Neddick Country Club on 06/01/2018:
We appreciate you taking the time to share your concerns with us. We will look into these and hope you come to play again soon.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Nice course, enjoyed it

I had high expectations and they were met. Absolutely would play her again.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Cape Neddick Country Club on 06/01/2018:
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are happy to have met your expectations and then some. We look forward to your next round with us!
Nearby Courses
Wells, Maine
4.0342857143
60
York, Maine
4.2156764706
6
South Berwick, Maine
3.1176470588
4
Dover, New Hampshire
0.0
0
Somersworth, New Hampshire
0.0
0

Stay & Play Offers

$339 Starting price
Valid dates: Nov 08, 2018 - Dec 20, 2018
Enjoy four rounds of golf at either of Ka’anapali’s championship courses and a beautiful Ocean View room with a five (5) or more night stay at the Royal Lahaina Resort.
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE