Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
3.8
219 Reviews (219)
5 Stars
73
4 Stars
92
3 Stars
29
2 Stars
15
1 Stars
10
Conditions
3.6
Value
3.9
Layout
4.5
Friendliness
3.9
Pace
3.7
Amenities
3.1
73.9%
Recommend this course
187 out of 219 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.5
41 Reviews (41)
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
9
1 Stars
3
Conditions
3.5
Value
3.5
Layout
4.5
Pace
3.8
Amenities
2.5
StaffFriendliness
3.6
58.5%
Recommend this course
24 out of 41 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.6
43 Reviews (43)
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
9
1 Stars
3
Conditions
3.5
Value
3.5
Layout
4.5
Pace
3.8
Amenities
2.6
StaffFriendliness
3.7
60.5%
Recommend this course
26 out of 43 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Semi-Private
Style Woodland
Par 72
Length 7050 yards
Slope 134
Rating 73.6
Book a Tee Time at
Ocean Pines Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1972
Fairways Bent Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Robert Trent Jones, Sr. (1972)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No

Reviews

3.8
219 Reviews (219)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 11
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 23
Water Hazards 23
Undulating Greens 14
This course/club is great for:
Locals 19
Advanced Golfers 18
Seniors 11
This Course's Location is:
Near Local Attractions 14
At a Resort 13
Convenient to the City 11

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Save your money

Course in less than fair condition. Fairways and greens have not recovered from the hot summer. Not worth the money paid. Will not play again till possibly next spring.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
First Time Playing

Lots of Potential, But

Club House\Pro Shop is a trailer. It says, “Coming Soon: New Cluhouse,” but there is NO construction activity going on at all. (They have razed the old one.). Driving Range Closed. Cart Path Only.

Had to prompt the starter to give us a cart. He loaded my bag.....my wife loaded her own. (I was on the practice green.) I agree that there should be consequences for missing the fairway, but the roughe has been allowed to grow so high that searching for balls just a little off line really slowed down play. LOTS of dead spots in the fairways and on the greens, but the crabgrass was healthy and prolific. I like the layout and there are many beautiful holes, but I think if Robert Trent Jones saw the condition it is in, he would be horrified . (GRHS)

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Good
Amenities Poor
2d1ee407-df95-5ce1-b2df-b1df72451f60
OceanPinesGolf
Commented On 09/11/2019

Thank you so much for sharing your review and for your comments. The demolition of our old clubhouse happened ahead of schedule, so although construction is still set to begin this month, there wasn't much action at the site over the summer. We're still anticipating a completion date of spring 2020. The driving range is generally open, although we do close it one morning a week for mowing, which might be when you played. We faced some extremely hot and dry weather this summer, but are looking forward to getting back to our regular course conditions. What you experienced during your visit is definitely not typical for us, so we hope you'll give us another try sometime soon. Thanks again.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
2d1ee407-df95-5ce1-b2df-b1df72451f60
OceanPinesGolf
Commented On 09/04/2019

Thank you for sharing your review. We're sorry to hear that you didn't have a better experience at Ocean Pines Golf Club. We are currently in the process of building a new clubhouse and cart barn and are recovering from some heat stress on some some of the holes, but are looking forward to a great fall season on the Eastern Shore!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing

My Review

I am an inexperienced golfer, but it was a decent and challenging course. The only complaint I would have is that the grass in the rough was long making it difficult to find my ball. Shame on me for not keeping it on the fairway, right? Lol. Still good experience regardless.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
2d1ee407-df95-5ce1-b2df-b1df72451f60
OceanPinesGolf
Commented On 08/27/2019

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We're so glad you decided to give Ocean Pines Golf Club's Robert Trent Jones-designed course a try. Although it is a challenging layout, it really is suitable for all ages and abilities. We're glad you enjoyed your round and hope you'll visit us again soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

Great day

Beautiful day. Done In 4 hours. Fairways in pretty good shape. Greens need some work, numerous dead spots. All in all, good value for the price

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
2d1ee407-df95-5ce1-b2df-b1df72451f60
OceanPinesGolf
Commented On 08/27/2019

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We're glad you had a good round, despite some of the rough patches. We, along with many courses in the area, took a bit of a hit during a spell of particularly hot and dry weather, but are working hard to get things back to normal. We appreciate your business and hope you'll visit again soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Not on good condition

This course has gone way down hill since I last played it a month ago. Fairways were burnout greens were burnt out. I would not recommend this course for anyone

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
2d1ee407-df95-5ce1-b2df-b1df72451f60
OceanPinesGolf
Commented On 08/27/2019

Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. We're so sorry that you had a disappointing experience. We, as well as other courses in the area, suffered during an extremely hot and dry period earlier this summer. Please know that we're working hard to return to excellent course conditions that we normally offer. We hope you'll reconsider and decide to give us another try. In the meantime, please don't hesitate to reach out if there's anything else we could do to improve upon your experience.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Fair
2d1ee407-df95-5ce1-b2df-b1df72451f60
OceanPinesGolf
Commented On 09/04/2019

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're so sorry that you had a disappointing round at our Robert Trent Jones-designed course, which suffered in some places after a spell of particularly hot and dry weather this summer. We're recovering nicely and are looking forward to a beautiful fall and the complete of our new clubhouse in the spring.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great layout but not much more than that

This course has a great layout through some very big old lines that line most fairways. Unfortunately that is the only good thing about the course. The staff was not too friendly or helpful. The clubhouse is currently a trailer as they are building a new one. And course conditions....a lot of bare fairways, and the greens were a mess. Almost as much brown and bare spots as there was green. Very disappointing. The heads groundskeeper should be pretty embarrassed with his/her efforts on this course. Not worth the money unless you get a tee time for about $15-20 for the round.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
2d1ee407-df95-5ce1-b2df-b1df72451f60
OceanPinesGolf
Commented On 08/27/2019

Thank you so much for sharing your comments. We're so sorry you had a disappointing experience at Ocean Pines Golf Club. Unfortunately, our course suffered during a particularly hot and dry period this summer and is not up to our normal playing conditions. Please know that what you experienced is not what we typically offer. Our new clubhouse cart should also be finished late next spring. We hope you'll decide to give us another try and that you'll reach out to our Director of Golf John Malinowski at golf@oceanpinesgolf.org to share any additional concerns. Thanks so much for playing.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
2d1ee407-df95-5ce1-b2df-b1df72451f60
OceanPinesGolf
Commented On 09/04/2019

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're definitely sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience at Ocean Pines Golf Club. We are in the process of building a new clubhouse and cart barn, which should be completed by next spring. While the course experienced some stress from a period of extremely hot and dry weather, our Robert Trent Jones design is definitely primed for the beautiful Eastern Shore fall. We hope you get a chance to give us another chance sometime soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
2.0
First Time Playing

Poor value, even a “Hot Deal” price

The course is completely lost due to lack of watering. Fairways and greens completely burned out. The course layout is good and would present a challenge if management would have taken care of the course. I usually play two to three courses while on vacation at Ocean City but I don’t think can ever come back to this course.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Poor
2d1ee407-df95-5ce1-b2df-b1df72451f60
OceanPinesGolf
Commented On 09/04/2019

Thank you for sharing your feedback, Dave. We, along with many other courses in the area, were hit with an unusually hot and dry spell this summer. Our maintenance staff has been working hard to bring the affected areas back to their normal condition. We're sorry to hear that you won't be back and hope you'll reconsider. Many, many golfers tell us that our Robert Trent Jones-designed course is one of the best golf values in the area, which is a reputation we definitely take pride in. We're excited about our new clubhouse and cart barn, which should be completed by next spring, and are looking forward to a great fall on the Eastern Shore!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Disappointed

Disappointed from last time I played Ocean Pines. Fairways and greens were in bad shape. Amenities understandably poop given new clubhouse to be built (old one torn down).

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
2d1ee407-df95-5ce1-b2df-b1df72451f60
OceanPinesGolf
Commented On 09/04/2019

Thanks for sharing your feedback. We, along with other courses in the area, were hit with a period of extremely hot and dry weather, which we are in the process of recovering from.We're looking forward to the completion of our new clubhouse and cart barn this spring, as well as to some fabulous Eastern Shore fall weather. We look forward to offering the superb playing experience golfers in the area expect from Ocean Pines and hope you'll come back and visit again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
2.0
Previously Played

Bad shape slow play

Played today and it was very slow. Marshall on the course was grumpy and did not push the players in front of us.
Course was also in bad shape. They are building a new clubhouse but not taking care of the course.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Fair
Amenities Poor
2d1ee407-df95-5ce1-b2df-b1df72451f60
OceanPinesGolf
Commented On 09/04/2019

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. We're sorry you experienced slow play during your visit. Our marshals work to keep play moving at a steady pace, so we understand your frustration if that didn't appear to be the case. We were hit with an unusually hot and dry period of weather this summer, which did affect some areas on the course, and are looking forward to our new clubhouse being completed in the spring. Our maintenance crew is working hard and we are excited about having a great fall season. We hope you'll give us another try and play Ocean Pines again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a month
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Nice course, but better available in OC

We played on a Saturday morning, so you couldn't expect a quick round. But we were waiting on nearly every shot. I had seen other reviews about the rangers being hard on slow play, and the first time we were approached, I assumed we would all be yelled at for not going fast enough. I was pleasantly surprised, the ranger was understanding that it was a slow day, and there wasn't much any of us could do about it. We were very disappointed, and it certainly led to the slow play, that it was cart paths only. there were one or two very wet areas, that probably could have been marked off, or kept on the paths for those holes, but it didn't seem at all necessary to be path only the entire way around. The starter was very friendly, and helpful before we got started. There is no clubhouse as they have leveled it and are rebuilding. Only port-o-johns near the start, but actually facilities on the course. New clubhouse is still a year away, according to one staff member. Food was not available for purchase on this Saturday, which was disappointing. The design is nice, using the water to make for some exciting approach shots. A few blind shots and tricky dog legs. There is no GPS or pictures on the scorecard, which makes it tricky, though they do have an app for your phone to download and use GPS for free. Green complexes are relatively flat. Living 40 minutes away, I'm not going to drive to Ocean Pines just to play there, but it was a decent course.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Difficulty Moderate
2d1ee407-df95-5ce1-b2df-b1df72451f60
OceanPinesGolf
Commented On 09/04/2019

Thank you so much for sharing your honest feedback, Tim. We're sorry to hear you experienced slow play, which is frustration for every golfer. Our marshals definitely work hard to keep play moving along, especially when we're cart-path only, which unfortunately is sometimes unavoidable. Our new clubhouse is slated to be completed sometime in the spring - we're very much looking forward to moving out of our temporary accommodations! We hope make the drive over from Salisbury and play us again.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Nice place, friendly people and great service!

Guys that loaded/unloaded our bags couldn't have been more friendly/attentive and so were the marshal and cart girl. Really great customer service. Course was in pretty good shape but a couple greens had some problem areas

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
2d1ee407-df95-5ce1-b2df-b1df72451f60
OceanPinesGolf
Commented On 08/28/2019

Thank you so much for the five-star review and for your feedback. We're glad you were given great customer service, which is our goal with every guest. Our area was hit with some extremely hot and dry weather this summer, but we're working on getting a few problem spots back to their normal condition. Thanks for playing Ocean Pines - please come back and visit again soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
First Time Playing

Poor condition poor value

Very poor condition. Save your money. Plenty of better options. Dont be fooled by the fact it used to be private and is a Robert trent Jones sr design. It was cart paths only which was fine due to the storm several days ago however we teed off at 740 and had a marshal warn us about slow play twice on the front nine. We were not behind. He didn't check with the starter when we teed off. We played our round in 4 hours and 10 minutes. 2 hours 10 on the front. He stopped us on 7 and 9. 7 is an extremely tough par 3 he told us we fell a group behind. The group ahead was a 3some. We were a 4some . Again it was cart paths only and an extremely tight golf course. If you wand poor value for your money and to have a marshal up your butt when its cart path only and your playing a 4 hour round ( they think it should be 3 hours) they by all means play away.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Poor
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
2d1ee407-df95-5ce1-b2df-b1df72451f60
OceanPinesGolf
Commented On 08/28/2019

Thank you for sharing your feedback and your comments. We're so sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience at Ocean Pines. What you described is definitely not our typical marshaling procedure, since we expect rounds to take 4- 4 1/2 hours. It sounds like you were in the right range for that. People often tell us that we offer one of the best golf values in the area, so we're sorry to hear that you didn't find that to be the case. We encourage you to reach out to our Director of Golf John Malinowski at golf@oceanpinesgolf.org so we can learn more about what you encountered during your round and hope you'll give us another try sometime soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
First Time Playing

Poor conditions

Arrived and paid. Starter says cart path only due to lack of water for the course. Temp in 90's. Not a great day for path only. Brown areas on alot of fairways and greens. Greens very slow. Bev cart gal not a hreat spoksperson for the ccourse. Should

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Good
Amenities Poor
2d1ee407-df95-5ce1-b2df-b1df72451f60
OceanPinesGolf
Commented On 08/28/2019

Thank you for sharing your feedback - we're sorry to hear that you had an unsatisfactory experience at Ocean Pines Golf Club. Like many courses in the area, we had to deal with an extremely hot and dry period this summer, which caused us to be cart-path only to help protect the turf. We normally enjoy excellent course conditions, so please know that what you experienced is not typical for us. We appreciate your playing Ocean Pines and hope you'll come back and give us another try sometime soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Don't be a twosome

We were a twosome behind and in front of a foursome. We waited on every shot, however, no one was to blame because we finished in four hours. It would have been better if we played as a foursome.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Difficulty Moderate
2d1ee407-df95-5ce1-b2df-b1df72451f60
OceanPinesGolf
Commented On 08/27/2019

Thank you for sharing your review and comments. We're sorry you had to wait on every hole, but as you pointed out unfortunately that can happen when you're playing as a twosome. We're glad to hear that you still finished in a decent amount of time and hope you'll come back and play a round with us again soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
2d1ee407-df95-5ce1-b2df-b1df72451f60
OceanPinesGolf
Commented On 07/17/2019

Thank you so much for the five-star review and for the recommendation. We're so glad you enjoyed our Robert Trent Jones-designed course and look forward to having you play a round with us again soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Spectacular experience on a stellar course

This course is truly amazing. It was designed by Robert Trent Jones, so what more can you say. The course is very challenging with some very long par fours and somewhat narrow fairways.

The fairways are so well-maintained that it is difficult to make a bad shot. Seriously, it is like taking a shot off a carpet. This is the easiest course to hit down on the ball with your irons.

I had a lot of bad holes because I was not familiar with the course. Now that I have a better understanding of the layout, I can’t wait to get back here and play again to see if I could knock a few strokes off my round

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
2d1ee407-df95-5ce1-b2df-b1df72451f60
OceanPinesGolf
Commented On 07/17/2019

Thank you so much for your kind comments and for your five-star review! We're always excited to hear from a golfer who loves our Robert Trent Jones layout as much as we do. It does offer a challenging golf experience, but one that is fair as well. We're glad to hear that you'll be back and look forward to seeing you then. Thanks so much for playing golf in Ocean Pines!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing

Great course

One of the best great greens tough dog legs but good for all to play

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Average
2d1ee407-df95-5ce1-b2df-b1df72451f60
OceanPinesGolf
Commented On 07/17/2019

Thank you for the kind comments and for sharing your review. We're glad you enjoyed our Robert Trent Jones-designed course and agree it's a challenging yet fair layout. Thanks so much for playing!

Was this comment useful to you?
Nearby Courses

Stay & Play Offers

From $530
Valid dates: Sep 16, 2019 - Mar 31, 2020
Located between Charlotte, NC and Columbia, SC along I-77, the Olde English District includes seven counties in the Piedmont (upstate) area of South Carolina.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE