Ocean Pines Golf Club

3.9611058824 4.0 stars from 5 (146)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7050 yards
  • Slope: 134
  • Rating: 73.6
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Championship 72 7050 yards 73.6 134
Back 72 6335 yards 70.5 129
Middle 72 5977 yards 68.7 125
Forward (W) 74 5572 yards 71.8 126

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.0 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.6 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.8 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.1 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.8 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 146 Reviews
5 stars:
47
4 stars:
64
3 stars:
23
2 stars:
6
1 stars:
6

recommend this course

132 out of 146 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is at a resort near local attractions convenient to the city   Great for locals advanced golfers seniors   Challenges include bunkers water hazards undulating greens   Great for drinks  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

andyk1117's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/16/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/18/2018

Thank you so much for your five-star review - your rating lets us know that we "got it right" during your visit! We're glad you enjoyed your round at Ocean Pines Golf Club and hope that you'll come back and play us again soon - we've got a great golf season still ahead of us!



jmat59's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/28/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/01/2018

Thank you for sharing your feedback! We're glad you enjoyed your round at Ocean Pines Golf Club and hope you'll let us know if there's anything we could do to enhance your experience in the future. Now is a wonderful time for golf on the Eastern Shore, so please come back and visit us again soon!



Mickey4149914's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/23/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/01/2018

Thank you so much for sharing your review of Ocean Pines Golf Club! We're glad to know you'd recommend our Robert Trent Jones-designed course to others and hope you'll let us know if there's anything we could have done to improve your experience. We have several months of great golf weather ahead of us, so please come back and visit us again soon!



u000005900938's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2018
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

No marshall on course. Backed up with 3 groups waiting on the tee at the fifth hole. Took 3 hrs for 9 holes. Did not stay till dark to finish round. Left after 9


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/01/2018

Thank you for sharing your feedback! We're truly sorry that your round at Ocean Pines wasn't exceptional and that you experienced particularly slow play. This is our busiest time of the year, and even with the best efforts of our marshalls, play does sometimes get backed up. Our usual pace of play is 4 1/2 hours, and on a very busy day when we have back-to-back tee times the pace can be greater than that. Please know that we take comments such as yours seriously and are constantly evaluating how we can improve our day-to-day performance. The golf season is just beginning, so we hope you'll come back soon and give us another try!


"Ocean Pines - Best course in Ocean City, Md for the price!"


SteveD24's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/21/2018
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Ocean Pines is great layout, greens are coming in nicely after aeration. Best value for the money in OC.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/24/2018

Thank you so much for sharing your review and comments, Steve! We agree that our Robert Trent Jones-designed course offers the best golfing value in the area and look forward to having you back for another round sometime soon!


"Should think twice before playing this course"


StBernard's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/13/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We were forced to play with two women even if the course was not busy.

The ladies did their best but had to find balls in the wood what slowed down our pace, when asked if we could go ahead and play on our own the answer was NO.

Multiple T Boxes had black flies infestation and we had to abandon and start playing from the faiway.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 04/17/2018

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us - we’re so sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your round at Ocean Pines. The Friday you played was a beautiful, warm, sunny day – the first in a long time - which meant that our tee sheet was especially packed. Because you had only booked a twosome, we received another reservation for the remaining two slots at that time. Additionally, our policy dictates that rounds booked with third-party agencies must be played at the time reserved, so we weren’t able to send you out earlier. Of course, when tee times are booked we have no way of knowing the players’ abilities, but we generally find that most golfers still have an enjoyable time regardless of whom they’re paired with. We do hope you’ll consider giving Ocean Pines another try despite your experience with the particular twosome you played with and that you’ll reach out to us if there’s anything else we could do to meet your expectations. Thanks again.


"Nice place to spend a afternoon"


bucklewbob's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/13/2018
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Early season conditions were pretty good.Hope to able to play it when the grass is growing and the greens are completely healed from aeration marks. Lots of huge sand traps and every one i put my ball in was filled with lovely deep sand.. Course layout not exceptionally hard.but interesting. Well named as Ocean pines as many holes had tall pines from tee to green. They protect houses which seem to encircle the course. You yank or slice one you hope it hits a tree. Overall real nice course and worth a visit when in the Ocean city area.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/16/2018

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback! We're glad you were able to play a round with us and that you enjoyed our Robert Trent Jones layout. Some nice warm days should help the course get in shape for the spring season, so we hope you'll come back and visit us again - we're just a short drive from Ocean View!


"Great time! Very nice staff and fun course!"


janetbarkergolfer's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/06/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My husband and I came south from Pittsburgh to play a little golf in warmer weather. We were matched up with a twosome that live at Ocean pines. What a great time we had! The greens were recently aerated so they weren’t all that fast but the course was otherwise in pretty good shape for this time of year. We enjoyed the layout and challenging holes. 18 was a great finishing hole indeed. We look forward to coming back later this Spring.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/10/2018

Thank you so much for sharing your round at Ocean Pines Golf Club! We are so glad you enjoyed our Robert Trent Jones layout and agree that it offers a challenging but fair experience. The course is greening up nicely now that spring is well underway, so conditions should be even better the next time you join us. We always love hosting folks from the Pittsburgh area and look forward to having you play with us again soon!


"RTJ Jr Course on the Eastern Shore"


Sam4220301's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/31/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fun layout. Takes you out and around he canals in Ocean Pines. They had punched the greens recently, but it’s that time of year. Very fun layout.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/03/2018

Thank you so much for your five-star review! We're glad you enjoyed our Robert Trent Jones layout and agree that it's a treat to play. It feels good to have the golf season underway on the Eastern Shore and hope you'll find time to make the short trip from southern Delaware to visit us again soon!


"The staff was awful"


mison's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/11/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The staff was really rude. I do not want to see him working there.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 11/15/2017

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're very disappointed to hear that our staff was rude to you during your visit to our course. We would very much like to know more about your experience and encourage you to contact our PGA Director of Golf John Malinowski directly at 410-641-6057 or golf@oceanpinesgolf.org. We take comments such as yours to heart and hope you'll give us a chance to address the issue. Thank you!


"Great Day"


bdevaney13's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/04/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fun course played in about 4 1/2 hours on a unseasonably warm day in November. Range located next to first tee, balls reasonably priced but not included in cost. Challenging course that plays fair to all players. Course was in good conditions when we played though rough was a little long making it very hard to locate your ball amongst the leaves. The course does retain water so it can be soft making for some extra challenges on some fairway approaches. The course is one of the best values in the area.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/07/2017

Thank you so much for your feedback! We've had beautiful fall weather and are glad you were able to take advantage of it by playing Ocean Pines. We agree that our Robert Trent Jones-designed course offers a challenging but fair layout at a great price. We're open year-round, so we hope you'll come back and play a round with us again soon!


"Extremely fair an enjoyable course."


bdevaney13's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/23/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played course on a gorgeous late autumn day through Golfnow for under $20, an unbelievable price for such an enjoyable round. Course had taken on a lot of water recently according to the starter. A couple of holes had aerated portions of the greens but that was the only negative and really it wasn't more than a couple of feet on maybe 2-3 holes. The course is challenging and rewards shotmaking ability over length. We played the round in just over 4 hours and thoroughly enjoyed our day. Look forward to playing the course again soon.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 10/27/2017

Thank you so much for your review and for sharing your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your round at our Robert Trent Jones-designed course. We agree that it's a challenging but fair layout! Fall is a wonderful time to play golf on the Eastern Shore, but we are open year-round and look forward to having you visit us again soon!


"RTJ design"


u00000473964's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/04/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Overall, the course was in good shape,three greens were having issues but the grounds crew were addressing this by dressing them with sand which did not affect putting at all. It is a great layout from R T J, that has been recently restored to its original specs. They cart guys are a couple of tools, and no marshals could be found to move the group in front if us along, which made for a five hour round. For a weds afternoon this is totally unreasonable, not that five hour rounds are ever.at $30 golf now hot deal was a great price, will play it again at that price for sure. Also the 9th and 18th holes are two of the best closing holes you can play!


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 10/13/2017

Thank you for the additional feedback. If you used a third-party agency to book your round, then it is true that our policy – per our user agreement – is to hold discounted rounds to their scheduled tee times, which could explain why our starters didn’t send you out early. This is especially the case when teeing off earlier would result in a higher price point. You are correct that we don’t generally allow carts in the parking lot before a round. Unfortunately, we have had a lot of experience with people trying to load alcohol onto the carts, which puts our liquor license in jeopardy. We know that this can be an inconvenience for other players, and apologize for any difficulty this might have caused you. We are also truly sorry for any unpleasantness caused by our staff – please know that we will work to make sure that they get players out in a friendly, efficient manner. Thanks again for sharing your thoughts with us and for helping us to be a better course!


Commented on 10/10/2017

First off, our group arrived a good twenty minutes early, there was know one on the first tee and we could have been sent off early. Your cart guys were just talking away with each other not even noticing that fact.then I realized I had forgotten something in my car and went to drive out to the parking lot to retrieve it and got dressed down that I was not allowed to do this,because twenty year olds use this"tactic" to conceal beer in their bag. I'm not a twenty something and I don't bring beer to the golf course.then when it was our time to go they were still jabbering with each other and we had to say can we go now! I think they need some retraining.as for the five hour round it could have been avoided by a marshal moving the group in front if us along, just goes to show you how one foursome can back up the whole golf course!


Commented on 10/10/2017

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed our Robert Trent Jones layout and agree that it's a great golf value! We are sorry to hear that our cart staff didn't treat you well. We generally receive positive comments about our staff, so we're definitely disappointed to learn that you didn't receive good service from them. If there was a specific problem, we hope you'll let us know so we can address it with them. You are correct that there wasn't a marshal on the course the afternoon you played. The course was slow that afternoon, so we sent our marshal home early. That's why we're surprised that it took you five hours to complete your round. As far as we were aware, rounds that day were playing at a typical 4-4 1/2 hours. We are sorry that the pace diminished your enjoyment of your round, but are glad to hear that you'll be back for another visit. We look forward to having you play with us again soon!


"Recommend"


Denniskominos's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I recommend this course very challenging , but the pace of play was beyond horrible , waiting 10min or longer in a tee box with not a would withing 4 holes behind us is unacceptable. Need marshalls out there speeding players ahead up.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/29/2017

Thank you so much for your review and for sharing your comments. We're glad you enjoyed our Robert Trent Jones-designed course, which we agree is a challenging but fair layout. We're sorry, though, that you experienced slow pace of play. On the day you played, we did have a group that was struggling on the course. They fell behind, so we had them skip some holes so that the pace of play would speed up. We did send marshals around the course to let everyone know what was happening, and the pace did pick up. Please know that we want all of our golfers to have a positive experience and hope that you'll come back and give us another try soon!


"Ocean Pines Beauty"


StanZabytko's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/22/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The golf course is very beautiful! It winds through the pines and hardwoods on a routing that makes every hole unique, a real Robert Trent Jones Sr. masterpiece. The condition was very playable and the greens were true and a medium speed. Every one that greeted us was very nice and very friendly. The facilities are being upgraded and in time the clubhouse will also be nice. Wow, I can not wait to play this beautiful course again!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/29/2017

Thank you so much for your five-star review and for your kind comments! We are proud of our Robert Trent Jones heritage and are glad you appreciate it, too. We're especially glad to know that our staff treated you well - excellent customer service is a priority for us. We are, as you pointed out, still undergoing renovations to the upper floor of our clubhouse, but the lower level, including the bar and grill and locker rooms, has been completed. We look forward to having you back again soon - thanks for visiting!



Dubmom's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/18/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/29/2017

Thank you so much for your five-star review! We work hard to offer an excellent golf experience at an excellent price, and your rating lets us know we're doing our job. We appreciate your sharing your opinion with other golfers and hope you'll come back and play a round with us again soon!


"Great price"


sethdubrino's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/16/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Came from out of state and was surpirsed how nice this course was for the price. A lot cheaper then most of the Long Island courses at a prime time rate and the course layout was really nice. Greens were in good condition.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/29/2017

Thank you so much for your five-star review! We're glad you found our Robert Trent Jones layout to be a great value and couldn't agree with you more! Thanks for making the trek down from New York. We truly appreciate your business and hope you'll play a round with us again soon!


"Not What was Expected"


u000004901014's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/15/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Not bad ! The Greens do need some attention & the rough was thick! Hopefully they will tend to in the future!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/29/2017

Thanks so much for sharing your review. We experienced extreme amounts of rainfall at the end of the summer, which made course maintenance challenging. Things are definitely bouncing back, and we're looking forward to continuing the great course conditions we've had in the past. We hope you'll come back and give our Robert Trent Jones layout another try soon. Thanks for visiting!


"Great value"


Tpeles23's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/13/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Played this course today with my family and got a great deal. Far exceeded my expectations considering the price. Course was a little wet due to over night rain but nothing major and was dried out by the end of our round. We were a 3 some and got around fast at our own pace, no waiting. The rough is ROUGH! crucial to hit the fairways. Greens were a little bit slower than i like and a few have some barespots that need some work. The best part was being greeted by great staff that were very welcoming, respectful, helpful, knowledgeable, and profesional. Over all a great course and would not hesitate to play again. Thank you OCEAN PINES


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/14/2017

Thank you so much for sharing your review! We have been struggling with a very wet few weeks, which has made work challenging for our maintenance crew. They're working hard to get the course back up to our regular standards. We can't tell you how much it means to know that our staff treated your well. We think we have a great team and are glad that you agree. We hope this won't be your last visit - please come back and play Ocean Pines again soon!



Lynn6665592's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/11/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course layout is excellent. However, it was not well maintained on the day I played.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 09/13/2017

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed our Robert Trent Jones layout, the only one on the Eastern Shore. We're sorry, however, that the course conditions you experienced did not meet your expectations. Weeks of wet weather have made course maintenance a challenge, and our staff is working hard to bring conditions up to our regular standards. We do hope you'll visit again when everything is back in shape.



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed