Bowie Golf & Country Club

3.7883000000 3.8 stars from 5 (172)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 70
  • Length: 6142 yards
  • Slope: 122
  • Rating: 69.0
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 70 6142 yards 69.0 122
White 70 5838 yards 67.7 118
Gold 70 4928 yards 63.3 102
Gold (W) 70 4928 yards 67.2 116
Red (W) 70 4722 yards 66.7 115

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.8 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.3 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.0 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.5 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 172 Reviews
5 stars:
19
4 stars:
72
3 stars:
59
2 stars:
16
1 stars:
6

recommend this course

150 out of 171 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is in the 'burbs convenient to the city worth the drive   Great for locals beginners seniors   Challenges include bunkers elevation changes water hazards   Great for drinks  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

2ritsreyes's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a year
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/10/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



Suzanne7916727's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/09/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



PBHIII's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/05/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Average course"


ice3js's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/04/2018
Previously played Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Conditions were extremely wet but not too much standing water. Ball did not travel after hitting the ground.

Otherwise a good value round of golf.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Best Staff and Value"


Sam7321751's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/31/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Full disclosure, I am a member. I'm a member because the staff is easily the best I've seen, and the quality of the course for the price is exceptional. I always recommend this course for those reasons.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great value"


PBHIII's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/30/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First time playing Bowie. Pleasant surprise. Very nice layout that presents a challenge without being punishing. The course was in great condition. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. Great course for the money and I plan on going back.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



Suzanne7916727's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/26/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Not a bad day"


Stephen7120874's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/24/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Mostly positive. Sand traps need attention. Overall a pretty good day.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Bowie Golf & Country Club on 05/30/2018:

Hello, thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review your experience with us, we truly appreciate your feedback and will certainly pass it along to our team. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the 5-star experience that you deserve.


H2512177's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/24/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course in good shape. My complaint which has been the same for years is they keep the tee boxes grass too high. Great course for the price!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"Good Round"


jfjpcman1256's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/20/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

my only complaint is there were too many walkers for a weekend when most golfers come out, most seemed to have a problem keeping up with the people in carts that were with, which caused a backup and turned a 4 hour round to 5 hours


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Beat The Storms"


BigRichard's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/15/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Moved around the course nicely. Need map of course layout on the scorecard! Signage not good on a couple holes directing you to proper path!

Greens in nice shape! Not cart path only even though it had rained the two or three days before. A couple temporary gold/red tees. Beer reasonably priced at the bar.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great Price, OK for what I paid"


u814016052's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/04/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Have played the course before, always liked that you get a cart and am allowed to play at your own pace. Several fairways needed some work , greens were ok for the price. Bunkers need more sand, divots need repair, would help if repair patch was on carts. I like to to play here because of pace, and the fact that I am not paired with stranger without choice.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Bowie Golf & Country Club on 05/11/2018:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review us, Bowie Golf & Country Club in the Maryland area, and for the 3 stars. We're sorry to hear the course may not have been in the best shape on the day of your round, and we appreciate your feedback regarding the fairways so may work on any necessary improvements. However, we're glad you received a good value for your round and had a fun time on the course. Thank you for choosing to golf with us, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

"Typical day at Bowie"


JoelMagram's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/04/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens were in decent shape. The fairways are still waiting for the zosia to come fully in. The rebuilt water stations are nice and the cosmetics such as filling in the standing water by the 5th tee is a nice improvement. The removal of many extraneous trees enhances the play ability.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



Suzanne7916727's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/04/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

See great progress on improving the grounds and equipment, needed to play from several temporary tees. Overall an enjoyable round of golf. We will be back!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"changes happening"


u000004587207's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/01/2018
Previously played Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

lot of clean up, trees and brush.

new concrete pads for coolers looking good.

new cart paths on 10 and 15 very nice.

overall course condition improved from earlier this year--it was a beautiful day and our threesome played in a little over 3 hours!!!!!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Good Value"


Denis9136570's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/01/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Second time we played this course in a week. Nice variety. Course improvements underway. Three hours 18 holes (3 ppl) Midweek as opposed to 4.5 weekend. Challenging and varied. Greens good.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"My go to"


u7866911's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/18/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This place is the best value in the area, most bang for the buck.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great course"


Anthony488's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/18/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I booked this course at last minute because of an issue at another course.I love the lay out and greens were in great shape.We will be going back again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



bsteve1215's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/28/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



drewbie02's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/15/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed