Marlton Golf Club

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
2.9
215
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
84
3 Stars
46
2 Stars
35
1 Stars
27
Conditions
2.4
Value
3.5
Layout
3.8
Friendliness
3.8
Pace
4.4
Amenities
2.8
65.3%
Recommend this course
154 out of 215 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.2
22
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
5
Conditions
2.6
Value
4.0
Layout
4.0
Pace
4.8
Amenities
3.2
StaffFriendliness
4.1
77.3%
Recommend this course
17 out of 22 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.0
31
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
8
Conditions
2.5
Value
3.7
Layout
3.8
Pace
4.5
Amenities
2.9
StaffFriendliness
3.8
71.0%
Recommend this course
22 out of 31 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 6181
Slope 123
Rating 69.8
Type Public
Book a Tee Time at
Marlton Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6181 yards 69.8 123
White 72 5751 yards 67.6 116
Red (W) 72 4677 yards 69.2 113
Scorecard for Marlton
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Black M: 69.8/123 W: 72.7/120 551 128 307 153 421 375 527 314 369 3145 382 410 153 324 390 341 366 169 501 3036 6181
Regular M: 67.6/116 W: 70.5/117 512 118 282 138 404 355 492 290 347 2938 353 371 136 295 370 313 343 157 475 2813 5751
Forward M: 65.2/114 W: 68.2/113 434 93 233 108 287 318 408 216 262 2359 279 326 104 251 330 244 295 103 386 2318 4677
Handicap 5 15 13 7 1 11 3 17 9 12 2 18 16 14 10 8 6 4
Par 5 3 4 3 4 4 5 4 4 36 4 4 3 4 4 4 4 3 5 35 71

Course Details

Year Built 1998
Fairways Bent Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Recommended shirts are collared, shorts are of "Bermuda" length and shoes are required.

Reviews

2.9
215

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 11
Patio Dining 7
Course Challenges Include:
Narrow Fairways 24
Bunkers 21
Water Hazards 21
This course/club is great for:
Locals 32
Seniors 17
Advanced Golfers 15
This Course's Location is:
In the 'Burbs 29
Worth the Drive 12
Convenient to the City 11

Reviewer Photos

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Course Needs a Lot of Work

The course was in terrible conditions -- there was mowed grass clippings clumped and laying all over almost every rough, the fairways were completely burnt out and patchy, and the greens had significant damage. The layout is interesting with a lot of turns that make it difficult to ever hit a driver. The only redeeming qualities were that I had the course almost to myself and I paid next to nothing to place. This place has potential but it needs some pretty serious tender loving care.

Conditions Poor
Value Average
Layout Fair
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Response from Marlton Golf Club on 08/22/2018:
Thank you for coming out to Marlton Golf Club and for leaving us your feedback. We are sorry to hear about your disappointment with the conditions. We will keep working to make improvements in the future, and we hope that you will be able to have a better experience the next time you are here.
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Wet weather
Used cart

Fun Course with Great Elevation Changes

The staff couldn't have been more friendly and it's a fun course. The course has lots of elevation changes and soft dog-legs left that match my hook.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Response from Marlton Golf Club on 07/23/2018:
Thank you for leaving us a review. We are sorry to see that it looks like you were disappointed with the conditions. We are always looking to improve, and we would welcome any feedback that you are willing to share with us.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Work in progress

Playable course conditions with opportunities on greens, tees and fairways. Good news grounds staff all over the course working on these issues. Looking forward to the improvements as they happen.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Response from Marlton Golf Club on 07/16/2018:
Thank you for taking the time to leave us with a review. Our staff will keep working hard to keep the course in shape for the summer months, and we too hope to see improvements as they happen. Thank you again for the review, and we hope you are able to come out here again sometime soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

I am from out of town

The golf course is reasonable, it still some tender care, which they are really working on. I would certainly play the course again while I am in town.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Marlton Golf Club on 07/12/2018:
Hello, on behalf of Marlton Golf Club staff we appreciate you taking the time to address your concerns as we are always looking to improve. We are disappointed to hear that you were not happy with the conditions of the course but still hope you enjoyed your round. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Good value, will play again

A nice layout to practice on. Short and fair with good opportunities to score well. I like the short par 4's and reachable par 5's.

Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

From decent track to dogtrack

I have played Marlton a handful of times each year over the past 6-7 years. This past year the course has taken a noticeable nose dive and is in about as bad of shape as any golf course I have ever seen/played. I don't know if it is under relatively new ownership or if the owners who have had it for a while have given up, but the course condition is reflective of a group of folks who don't care about the playing conditions. Starting from tee to green: The tee boxes are dirt pits, looking more like something you'd play horseshoes in than golf. My Dad joked that you need to "dig in" like you're in a fairway bunker. It's a struggle to find a decent patch of grass in the fairway to hit an approach shot from and weeds are the majority of what is growing. There were 6 or 7 greens that weren't too bad but even those have considerable ball marks/chewed up and bare spots (those are on the player, mostly). Other greens (like #10) are almost totally lost and un-puttable. The bunkers haven't been raked in quite some time and the one I took the time to rake actually turned out to play nicely (took me 2 minutes to rake). There's also noticeable graffiti on number 3 and 6 - yes, graffiti. Additionally, it took me 15 minutes to have someone come into the clubhouse so I could pay at 7:30am for an 8:00am tee time... I walked around the clubhouse and outside and I couldn't find a Marlton employee for a while - are there really only a handful of employees at the course now? Just another tell tale sign of a course and operation that is circling the drain. The D.C. area had prime grass growing conditions in the late spring with all the rain we had (other courses are in great shape), so you would expect Marlton to be in as good of shape as it could be in... it was far from it and I definitely won't be returning, even if the greens fee is extremely cheap. You've been warned!

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Fair
Pace Good
Amenities Poor
Response from Marlton Golf Club on 07/06/2018:
Hello Hollister3121, Thank you for leaving us a review. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with the condition of the course, and we appreciate all of the concerns you have shared. We will keep working to keep the course in shape.
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great time!

Because of the heat 95 degrees I had the course almost to my self so I could stop and hydrate at will. Conditions were good

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Hollister3121
Commented On 07/05/2018

Conditions were good? I played on the same day and the course was a complete disaster. I whole-heartedly disagree. Hydrate at will? That's your bar for rating a golf course? Just bring a big bottle of water and you can hydrate at will anywhere.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Needs work

Played here years ago and was not in good shape then. Decided to give it a try again. Fairways and tee boxes are mostly mowed weeds. In pretty bad shape all around.

Good news is I only paid $18 on a hot deal. That’s all the course is worth. Very few golfers so I got to play by myself and had a good practice round.

Conditions Poor
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Response from Marlton Golf Club on 07/05/2018:
Hello, on behalf of Marlton Golf Club staff we appreciate you taking the time to address your concerns as we are always looking to improve. We are disappointed to hear that you were not happy with the conditions of the course but still hope you enjoyed your round. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Used cart

good layout - needs some work. Excellent value

This is a nice layout in need of some maintenance work. The cart path does wind through some subdivision homes, but rarely are there houses near the actual course. My 2nd time playing and I do like the course. Given the price, I can put up with some marginal tee boxes and several patchy fairways. Not everyone can.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Response from Marlton Golf Club on 06/25/2018:
Hello and thank you for coming out here again to Marlton Golf Club and for leaving us a review. We are sorry to hear that you are not happy with the condition of the course, but we are appreciative that you like the course layout. We will keep working to keep the course in shape. Thank you again for the review, and we look forward to seeing you out here again.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Bargain course - needs work

The layout is pretty good. The course conditions are not, especially the tee boxes. I always tee my ball up, so that wasn't much of a big deal for me. It appears they are trying to improve the conditioning, but it still needs some work. For the low fees I paid, it was overall worth it. Not worth the full rate, though.

My main complaint was their approach to customer service. Upon arrival one hour before my tee time, I noticed the sign indicating GolfNow customers could not tee more than 15 minutes before their scheduled time. OK. So I order a large bucket for warm-ups (that was the plan anyway). But the lady checking me in at the snack bar (no pro shop) says they have no cart for me, so I have to hoof it to the range (can't offer me a ride?)... Then, ~10 minutes later, the starter comes up to me to indicate it's time to play - 35 minutes before my tee time. I'm 1/3 through the large bucket. No offer to discount that cost; just, "you'll be playing with that gentlemen over there". Jeez. Nope, sorry, I'm not done with my warm-ups. Ten minutes later, the starter sends over another gentlemen to inform me I'll be playing with him instead, and it's time to tee off. This is now 25 minutes before my scheduled tee time. Okay, so I'm leaving a bunch of balls in the bucket, but let's go. Luckily, my cart mate was a fine partner, and I wound up enjoying his company throughout the round.

I recommend this course only if you, like me, are a bargain hunter. It was worth $15, but not sure whether I'll be back or not. The course has the potential to be pretty darn good. I don't know whether the management has the stuff to make it happen.

Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Poor
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Response from Marlton Golf Club on 06/22/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review your experience with us, we truly appreciate your feedback and will certainly pass it along to our team. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our layout at Marlton Golf Club. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the golf experience that you deserve.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Good value

Course was in good shap, considering the amount of radin recently. Greens were firm, fairways in good shape.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Good layout....poorly maintained

Marlton is located out in the middle of nowhere...it’s easy for someone to get turned around trying to find the course. Upon arriving @ 7:00am, clubhouse and facilities were still closed. Jimmy, the manager didn’t arrive until about 7:45am. Clubhouse looked more like a gathering room for bingo that had a couple of slot machines rather than a golf course club house. Since clubhouse opened late, I couldn’t warm up at the driving range which looked ok. They use mats rather than hitting off the grass. The putting greens looked well kept. We teed of at 8:06 am behind a foursome, we were the cons group to go out so the pace of play was quite quick. The layout of the course was nice, challenging, with a mixture of doglegs left and right, narrow fairways, and well placed bunkers. Fairways weren’t in good condition, drainage was poor, water had pooled on several fairways. Some greens were smooth, others were bumpy and showed signs of damage caused by poor mowing and fungus growth. Sand in bunkers were caked and hard while several bunkers were under water. Overall, this course needs a lot of maintenance and attention. Given the low number of golfers that play here, I’m not sure it’ll receive the proper care and maintenance required.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Response from Marlton Golf Club on 06/15/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Marlton Golf Club, in the Prince George's County area. We are sorry to see that you may have had a poor customer experience with us and that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played. Any additional feedback is greatly appreciated so that we can improve your experience with us in the future. Thank you for choosing to golf with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Ok course

It was great to get out and play. The course could use some work. Cart path wasn’t in good shape. The sands weren’t in good shape either. The greens were in good shape though. Overall, nice course.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Marlton Golf Club on 06/13/2018:
Hello and thank you again for coming out to Marlton Golf Club and taking time to leave us with your feedback. We hope that you enjoyed playing our golf course and that you will see improvements in the course conditions the next time you are with us, especially with the bunkers. It looks like you had a smooth round and a friendly experience with our staff, so we are glad to see that. Thank you again for leaving us a review, and we hope to see you again sometime soon.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Slowly getting better

Have played a fair amount of times at Marlton due to proximity to home area. Only play though when I can get a Hot Deal. Conditions getting better but fairways are still a bit rough. Wish more folks would treat the greens properly ( my group and I must have fixed 10 ball marks per hole in addition to our own....am NOT kidding!). Hoping the improvement trend continues

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Nearby Courses
Andrews AFB, Maryland
3.5619333333
12
Andrews AFB, Maryland
3.5619333333
12
Andrews AFB, Maryland
3.0
1
Dunkirk, Maryland
1.0
1
Lothian, Maryland
5.0
1
Fort Washington, Maryland
0.0
0
Fort Washington, Maryland
5.0
1
Alexandria, Virginia
0.0
0

Stay & Play Offers

$89 Starting price
Valid dates: Oct 11, 2018 - Aug 31, 2019
Stay and Play Golf in Scottsdale, Arizona from $89 per golfer/night (including golf & lodging!)
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE