Glade Valley Golf Club

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.2
291
5 Stars
89
4 Stars
156
3 Stars
37
2 Stars
7
1 Stars
2
Conditions
4.2
Value
4.7
Layout
4.3
Friendliness
4.5
Pace
3.6
Amenities
3.5
96.0%
Recommend this course
275 out of 289 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
4.4
44
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.3
Value
4.6
Layout
4.5
Pace
3.8
Amenities
3.6
StaffFriendliness
4.7
100.0%
Recommend this course
44 out of 44 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
4.3
68
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
30
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.3
Value
4.7
Layout
4.3
Pace
3.6
Amenities
3.6
StaffFriendliness
4.7
97.1%
Recommend this course
66 out of 68 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 6787
Slope 123
Rating 72.5
Type Public
Nestled in the foothills of the Catoctin Mountains about 15 minutes from Fredricksburg, Glade Valley Golf Club has been selected as a top-100 golf course in the Mid-Atlantic region by Washington Golf Monthly. The Jim Reck design, which opened in 1990, has a nice mix of woods, water, natural habitat and sand traps that will test golfers, but the golf course isn't overly difficult.
Book a Tee Time at
Glade Valley Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6787 yards 72.5 123
White 72 6368 yards 70.3 120
Gold 72 6005 yards 67.9 116
Red (W) 72 4955 yards 67.4 110
Scorecard for Glade Valley
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Blue M: 72.1/126 392 400 184 411 404 528 363 168 490 3340 474 505 436 171 327 168 530 455 460 3526 6866
White M: 70.3/123 363 388 165 382 381 515 350 160 475 3179 405 495 389 155 312 149 514 410 395 3224 6403
Gold M: 68.5/120 340 315 153 360 362 490 335 145 465 2965 375 480 370 142 295 139 492 370 377 3040 6005
Red W: 67.4/110 274 268 104 314 293 378 254 124 407 2416 319 357 313 118 270 98 436 317 309 2537 4953
Handicap 14 2 16 10 4 8 6 18 12 1 9 7 15 13 17 11 5 3
Par 4 4 3 4 4 5 4 3 5 36 4 5 4 3 4 3 5 4 4 36 72

Course Details

Year Built 1991
Golf Season Year round
Architect J. L. R. Assoc.

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Proper golf attire required.

Best of Lists

  • Golf Advisor: Top Courses in Maryland (2016 #13)

Reviews

4.2
291

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 15
Course Challenges Include:
Water Hazards 34
Bunkers 26
Undulating Greens 15
This course/club is great for:
Locals 45
Walkers 39
Beginners 36
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 42
In the 'Burbs 23
Convenient to the City 10
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Average
Value Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Response from Glade Valley Golf Club on 09/17/2018:
Hello Walter, we are sorry to see that you did not have a good time at Glade Valley Golf Club the other day. We hope that with more detail we can address your issue.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great value overall but course was in bad shape

Can’t beat the price for the hot deal but the fairways and tee boxes hadn’t been cut in weeks. A standard tee barely put the ball above the grass line. Greens were in good shape considering the rest of the course.

Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from Glade Valley Golf Club on 09/07/2018:
Hello Greg, thank you for the four stars! We are sorry to hear that you found our course in bad shape, but we are glad that you found it good value. Thanks for the feedback, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Fair
Response from Glade Valley Golf Club on 09/05/2018:
Hello, thank you for the four stars! We are glad that you had a good time out there the other day. Thanks for stopping by, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Previously Played
Used cart

An "Old Standby" To Play

This is one of our usual courses to play, because it's easy to book a tee time, is reasonably priced, and typically in good shape. I haven't been here this year, though, and I was a little surprised by the conditions. The fairway was really long and "hairy," as were the tee boxes. It didn't look like it had been cut, although Jim (the Pro) was acting as Starter and told us he had aerated the fairways last week so I guess was letting them grow. The greens, though, were in good shape and rolling pretty true. My issue today was pace of play. We had played 3 hrs and 20 minutes and had just finished hole #12! This is entirely too slow for this course, because there's not a lot of trouble--just really poor players in front of us. And, there was no marshal. I called in to the Pro Shop while on the back and Jim came out, but prior to that we saw no one monitoring pace of play. Jim did speak with several groups and the pace picked up a tad, which we appreciate. However, the damage to my game (in waiting every shot) was already done.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Poor
Amenities Good
Response from Glade Valley Golf Club on 09/05/2018:
Hello, thank you for the three-star review. We are sorry to hear that pace of play impacted your round of golf. We do try our best to manage pace of play as we did here, but please understand that we can only do as much as humanly possible. We appreciate your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once every three months
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Glade Valley Golf Club on 09/05/2018:
Hello, thank you for the five stars! We are happy that you had a good time at Glade Valley Golf Club. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Response from Glade Valley Golf Club on 09/05/2018:
Hello, thank you for the five-star review! We are happy to see that you had a good time at Glade Valley Golf Club the other day. Thanks for stopping by, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great course for the value

Awesome staff and the course is in great shape. I would recommend this course to everyone.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Response from Glade Valley Golf Club on 08/16/2018:
Hello Brian, thank you for the five stars! We are thrilled that you had a great experience with our staff and found the course in great shape. Come back again soon!
Played On
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Hot weather
Used cart

Course was nice. Well laid out. Very wet though. We’ve had a lot of rain lately. I would play again for sure

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Glade Valley Golf Club on 08/07/2018:
Hello, thank you for the four stars! We are glad that you enjoyed the course layout and had a good time. We hope to see you again soon!
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from Glade Valley Golf Club on 07/30/2018:
Hello, thank you for the four stars! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our course the other day. Come back again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Response from Glade Valley Golf Club on 07/19/2018:
Hello Leon, thank you for the four stars! We are sorry to hear that you encountered slow pace of play, but we are happy that you enjoyed your round of golf. Come back again soon!
Nearby Courses
Middletown, Maryland
4.6251882353
243
Myersville, Maryland
4.5098
10

Stay & Play Offers

$174 Starting price
Valid dates: Sep 17, 2018 - Oct 31, 2018
Staying at Orange Lake Resort and teeing off on any of our four unique golf courses has never been easier.
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE