Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.3
314
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
99
3 Stars
75
2 Stars
57
1 Stars
53
Staff Friendliness
4.2
Pace
3.8
Amenities
2.8
Conditions
3.0
Value
3.7
Layout
4.1
70.6%
Recommend this course
192 out of 314 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.3
314
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
3
1 Stars
4
Staff Friendliness
4.2
Pace
4.1
Amenities
2.9
Conditions
3.2
Value
3.9
Layout
4.1
74.3%
Recommend this course
26 out of 35 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.3
314
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
31
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
7
1 Stars
7
Staff Friendliness
4.4
Pace
4.2
Amenities
2.9
Conditions
3.2
Value
3.9
Layout
4.2
74.6%
Recommend this course
47 out of 63 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 6815
Slope 133
Rating 74.2
Type Public
Maplegate Country Club sprawls across 150 acres of gently rolling hills that are blanketed with forests of stately maple, oak, beech, and white pine trees. The golf course is situated just off of I-495 along the border between Rhode Island and Massachusetts. Although the location is seemingly isolated, it’s conveniently only 45 minutes from Boston. The course plays harder than it looks with a diverse layout that will test you with a variety of different shots. Maplegate Country Club's front nine features more target-style golf but you'll get to pull out your driver on the back nine. There are some tough holes, but it's not overly punishing for the high handicapper. The variety that the golf course offers made it the natural choice to host U.S. Open Qualifiers in both in 1998 and 2001.
Book a Tee Time at
Maplegate Country Club
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 72 6815 yards 74.2 133
Blue 72 6432 yards 72.2 128
White 72 5837 yards 69.5 122
Red (W) 72 4852 yards 70.2 124
Scorecard for Maplegate Country Club
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Gold M: 74.2/133 515 335 173 522 431 435 417 145 434 3407 376 382 191 388 510 227 530 357 447 3408 6815
Blue M: 72.2/128 480 326 151 510 413 397 402 132 421 3232 353 356 170 352 490 210 510 344 415 3200 6432
White M: 69.5/122 468 287 114 492 372 390 349 116 332 2920 335 331 150 333 465 160 468 304 371 2917 5837
Red W: 70.2/124 408 241 81 425 296 227 292 91 278 2339 235 300 114 313 400 125 420 281 325 2513 4852
Handicap 7 13 15 1 5 9 3 17 11 14 10 18 8 4 16 2 12 6
Par 5 4 3 5 4 4 4 3 4 36 4 4 3 4 5 3 5 4 4 36 72

Course Details

Year Built 1988
Greens Bent
Golf Season Open: 4/01 Closed: 11/01

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes

Reviews

3.3
314

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 8
Watching the Game 4
Patio Dining 3
Course Challenges Include:
Forced Carries 38
Bunkers 28
Water Hazards 26
This course/club is great for:
Locals 28
Advanced Golfers 17
Seniors 7
This Course's Location is:
In the 'Burbs 32
Worth the Drive 16
Convenient to the City 13
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

not good

They treat golfnow people like second rate humans never play this course. they will are terrible people
Staff Friendliness Poor
Pace of Play Poor
Off-course amenities Poor
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Poor
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Maplegate

Great layout......good test for all levels of player.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Response from Maplegate Country Club on 08/08/2018:
Hello. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review, and we hope you join us for another round soon.
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Nice Course

Overall course continues to improve which is a direct result of the new Superintendent and will only get better.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Response from Maplegate Country Club on 08/13/2018:
Hello, James. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review, and we hope you join us for another round soon.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Boston Advisor
Top 25 Contributor
Previously Played

In the words of Charles Barkley “Turrible just turrible”

What a shame that this course is what it is now. The fairways were completely gone and the tee boxes were pretty bad as well. At least the greens were in pretty good shape. It was also a 5 1/2 round which is just unacceptable. I will say that the cart girl was great, she got to us about 6 times which was nice on a warm day. I hope they can get Maplegate back in shape but for now I wouldn’t play it again.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Poor
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Good
Response from Maplegate Country Club on 08/03/2018:
Hello. We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. We hope you'll give us another try in the near future.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great greens.

Been playing here about 3 seasons now and it’s getting better and better. Greens are AWESOME right now. Fairways weren’t great but most courses had some trouble with the heat so understandable. Played at 5:47 am in 3 hours. Worth playing just for the greens.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Excellent
Response from Maplegate Country Club on 08/03/2018:
Hello, Mike. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We're so glad you enjoy the course, and we hope you join us for another round soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
First Time Playing

This is one to skip!

I’d like to start by saying the staff was incredible from the moment we arrived, they were friendly and extremely accommodating. The course itself was a mess! Fairways had hardly any grass on them and the majority of the greens had seen better days. If you’re a long hitter (man or woman) leave the driver at home. Overall this course was a mess; it may have a chance with some updating but it’s is serious need of an overhaul. On the plus side they have new electric carts...which are great! Management should have invested the cart money into the course. Skip this one no matter what the rate is!!!
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Poor
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Fair
Course Layout Poor
Response from Maplegate Country Club on 08/03/2018:
Hello. We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. We hope you'll give us another try in the near future.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great day

Absolutely one of the best courses around. The staff are amazing the course is coming along very well and I absolutely love it. Thanks for a wonderful day.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Response from Maplegate Country Club on 07/27/2018:
Hello. Thank you so much for your 5-star rating! We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your tee time, and we hope you will book another round with us soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
The greens were in excellent shape and the tee boxes were fine too the problem was the fairways... there's not a lot of green grass to play off of. The grass is either burnt or there's no grass at all. The cart paths are the worst I've ever been on. There are lots of hidden waste areas also. Pay close attention to the pictures on the score card. I played well but I would not play it again
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Average
Off-course amenities Fair
Course Conditions Fair
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Average
Response from Maplegate Country Club on 07/27/2018:
Hello. We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. We hope you'll give us another try in the near future.
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a month
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Maple Gate

Greens in very good shape, Fairways hard ball would roll. Good for me a short hitter. Traps where very hard sand, not really a trap of sand. Solid sand.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Good
Response from Maplegate Country Club on 07/17/2018:
Hi Shawn3675744, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're sorry to hear your round with us was anything short of 5-stars. We hope this doesn't deter you from returning for another round soon. Thanks for playing Maplegate Country Club.
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Overpriced

For close to $60 for a weekday, afternoon round this was far too much for the condition of the course. Fairways were in rough shape especially around the edges where it was more dirt and rock than grass. The actual greens were in fine shape but even the fringe of at least half of the greens was torn up, under repair and sandy and dirty. The course itself is fine, some nice holes and challenging with the amount of woods. My biggest issue was there weren't a lot of holes to hit dirver- many of the par 4s and 5s were doglegs with it like 175 yards or less to the bend. Not as much fun as I hopes and not worth the cost. Friendly staff but during registration and at the turn there was just 1 person working who was also answering phones and took us 10 minutes to pay for a drink.
Staff Friendliness Fair
Pace of Play Average
Off-course amenities Poor
Course Conditions Fair
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Average
Response from Maplegate Country Club on 07/09/2018:
Hello, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We're sorry to hear the course conditions and layout weren't up to expectations during your round. We hope you reconsider returning for another round soon for the 5-star experience you deserve. Thanks for playing Maplegate Country Club.

Stay & Play Offers

$110 Starting price
Valid dates: Aug 13, 2018 - Dec 31, 2019
The Penn Ohio Golf Trail consists of courses mainly in Western PA and Northeast Ohio. What sets us apart is that we offer 29 different courses; including 4 private, members-only country clubs, 2 former LPGA courses, and many of the top courses in Ohio and Pennsylvania (including Pennsylvania’s #1 public course – Olde Stonewall). We offer 4 Mansions (for groups of 2 to 36), 10 hotels and customer service beyond any major resort. Our Mansions feature large common areas, pool tables, poker tables, big screen TV’s with the luxury of the entire group together in a large home setting.
Nearby Courses
Hopedale, Massachusetts
3.7428571429
15
Franklin, Massachusetts
4.0
1
Milford, Massachusetts
0.0
0
Bellingham, Massachusetts
4.1666666667
3
Millis, Massachusetts
3.8333428571
13
Bellingham, Massachusetts
4.0373941176
119
Norfolk, Massachusetts
0.0
0
Northbridge, Massachusetts
4.9117647059
9
Whitinsville, Massachusetts
4.9732
33
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE