Crystal Lake Golf Club

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.7
69
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
38
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
7
1 Stars
4
Conditions
3.7
Value
4.2
Layout
3.9
Friendliness
4.1
Pace
3.8
Amenities
2.5
81.9%
Recommend this course
56 out of 69 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.9
17
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
1
Conditions
3.9
Value
4.3
Layout
4.0
Pace
3.9
Amenities
2.3
StaffFriendliness
4.1
88.2%
Recommend this course
15 out of 17 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.7
21
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
2
Conditions
3.9
Value
4.3
Layout
4.0
Pace
3.8
Amenities
2.2
StaffFriendliness
3.9
81.0%
Recommend this course
17 out of 21 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 6504
Slope 129
Rating 72.4
Type Semi-Private
Book a Tee Time at
Crystal Lake Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6504 yards 72.4 129
White 72 6280 yards 71.0 126
Yellow 72 5544 yards 66.8 121
Yellow (W) 73 5544 yards 71.7 122
Red (W) 73 5399 yards 70.9 120
Scorecard for Crystal Lake Golf Club
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Blue M: 72.4/129 377 228 385 380 498 224 361 495 429 3377 410 500 372 142 350 321 135 442 455 3127 6504
White M: 71.0/126 368 214 367 374 478 204 352 480 420 3257 390 490 362 138 334 308 129 429 443 3023 6280
Yellow M: 66.8/121 W: 71.7/122 358 198 339 300 430 186 290 398 406 2905 382 420 311 134 320 248 125 319 380 2639 5544
Red W: 70.9/120 350 197 335 290 400 181 287 373 401 2814 380 413 300 130 318 235 122 315 372 2585 5399
Handicap 7 5 9 11 3 15 17 13 1 4 6 14 16 12 10 18 2 8
Par 4 3 4 4 5 3 4 5 4 36 4 5 4 3 4 4 3 4 5 36 72
Handicap (W) 9 7 1 11 5 15 13 17 3 10 6 4 16 14 12 18 2 8

Course Details

Year Built 1960
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Open: 4/01 Closed: 10/30
Architect Geoffrey Cornish (1960)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - $18
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes

Reviews

3.7
69
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Cold weather
Used cart

new home

good enough to keep going back

better than more expensive courses

not to challenging for average golfers

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Way better

Compared to golfing there 10 years ago it’s like night and day.

after getting heavy rain from hurricane Florence it was cart path only but the fairways were fairly dry drainage was good we couldn’t believe how green the course was when we first pulled in. Great Value for this course spent more money at other courses that were not in good shape.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

The Course is in good shape

Enjoyed the course it was fairly easy, the greens were in good shape, the negative comment is there is no amenities. No water coolers were set up on the course, no alcohol license, which was not a huge deal, but would be for some. No ranger monitoring the golfers, it got backed up and was just a bit frustrating, however it was so hot it was nice to rest in the shade. I understand it's under new management so I think there will be changes in the next year or two.

Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Gets a little better every round

Play Crystal Lake once or twice/month and it keeps getting better, as good as any public course in the area. Greens were a little slow but good. Fairways on 4, 7 and 9 still have a few bald spots but much improved. Nice to see an old established course get renewed. Needs a clubhouse and liquor license still, bring your own water and crackers. Twosome, got around in 3.5, very nice day.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

New owners are working hard to make a great course

Tees and greens in great shape. The staff was super friendly and all

Narrow fairways make for a challenging course but over all good for a weekend golfer. I scored several pars and a couple of birdies with a chance for eagle.

I'll go back and play again

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Decent course

Haven't played this course in over 20 years - Decent layout - good for less skilled golfers

course was wet from recent rain, but overall in decent condition.

Golf Golf Now promo deal for about $30 for 18 holes with cart which is why I gave it a try after all these years.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Poor
Response from Crystal Lake Golf Club on 08/21/2018:
Thank you for coming back to Crystal Lake! We are happy to see that you recommend the course, and we hope that you will be back again sometime soon. We always look to improve, and we would welcome to hear any of your feedback of the course.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Much improved

Tthis was my first time playing here this year. I was impressed with the improved conditions over previous visits.

The course has a bit of a strange layout, but the conditions were very good. Even after a night of heavy rain. Tee boxes and fairways were in good shape, and the greens were perfect. Even at mid day there were a few employees out on the course with blowers and rakes working to make sure conditions were at the best possible.

Staff is friendly, and nobody is trying bother you with a lot of rules. My only negative is the lack of any beverage or food service both on and off the course. Beyond a small fridge in the dismal pro shop, to buy a soda, there was nothing available. Be sure to bring anything you might want to consume on the course.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Still Shoot 87

I've played here 7 times now. Shot 90 the first time, bogey for the par 72. 87 six times in a row !!!!!!! Nice course with great potential. Enjoyable course that doesn't punish you into submission. No rain lately so it's dry out there but the greens are being taken care of. Talked to a young grounds crew member and he told me how they are diligent about the greens especially. Hosing the greens during the day so as not to lose them. Plenty of course for any regular golfer. Fun and easy to get to. Good place to play. How do I break 87 ?????

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Very good value

Course is in very good shape and a nice challenge first time in years I have played there much improved great value

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Reunion Golf Outing

What an awesome day at Crystal Lake, 24 of the members and 12 past members who are coming back gave the NEW Crystal Lake a trial run and the comments were "fantastic course conditions, thank God - Sterling Golf bought the course, greens, fairways and rough drastically improved", The Saturday game is taking off now and we are having a blast.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once every three months
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0

j. curtin

this is a follow up to yesterday's billing issue. with proof of the advertised rate they refunded the $9.00 difference in the charged rate. the course is in transition of ownership and there are no amenities - water-ice-food or drink. we'll wait until next month to see how things pan out.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Fair
Friendliness Average
Pace Fair
Amenities Poor
Response from Crystal Lake Golf Club on 07/05/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review your experience with us, we truly appreciate your feedback and will certainly pass it along to our team. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the 5-star experience that you deserve.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

jim curtin

90 degree hot day in new England -- no water, no cups, no ice... was charged $50.00 when the website said seniors $32.00 + $9.00 for the cart. going back tomorrow for refund w/ evidence of rate advertised. no liquor license. keep checking reviews - we've been playing here for the past 5 years when in town from fla. this was painful.

will advise if they correct the rate error tomorrow!!

Conditions Average
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Poor
Pace Fair
Amenities Poor
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

It was hot

Of course was in fine condition but I was very disappointed that they had no water on the course anywhere it was a very hot day and we struggled to make it through 18 without no water

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Response from Crystal Lake Golf Club on 06/29/2018:
Hello, thank you for sharing your review, We truly appreciate both your positive and constructive feedback regarding the course conditions and will be sure to pass it along to our team. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our staff and sceneries at Crystal Lake Golf Club, and also appreciate your input on our maintenance. We hope to welcome you back for an enjoyable experience on the course in the near future.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Used cart

Challenging course in very decent condition for November.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Fair
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Response from Crystal Lake Golf Club on 10/24/2017:
Hello Alex, thank you for taking the time to review our golf course, Crystal Lake Golf Club. We're sorry to hear that you may not have fully enjoyed your experience with us, and we would greatly appreciate any feedback you have on how we can improve your next round. It looks like you did enjoy the conditions of the course, so we hope this was able to improve your overall experience. Thank you for golfing with us in the New England area, and we hope to see you soon.
Played On
1.0
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart

Not worth it!!

The price was right but overall the experience is not!!

No clubhouse and facility available is dirty and old!!

Golf carts are gas.. if they run! They are filthy! Golf course back 9 in touch shape. No rangers so many 2somes and play very slow.

Management doesn't seem to care about this golf course... stay away!!

Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Fair
Friendliness Fair
Pace Fair
Amenities Poor
Response from Crystal Lake Golf Club on 10/24/2017:
Hello Rosie, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Crystal Lake Golf Club, in the New England area. We are sorry to hear that you may have had a poor customer experience with us. Your feedback is appreciated, and we hope to improve these aspects, including the pace of play and the conditions on the back 9 holes. Thank you for choosing to golf with us and we hope to earn your business again soon.
Nearby Courses
Haverhill, Massachusetts
0.0
0
Haverhill, Massachusetts
0.0
0
Atkinson, New Hampshire
4.6117647059
29
Haverhill, Massachusetts
5.0
1
Methuen, Massachusetts
4.0
1
Kingston, New Hampshire
4.11
65
Derry, New Hampshire
4.6667
3
Bradford, Massachusetts
4.0661
39
Boxford, Massachusetts
4.8823529412
5
Haverhill, Massachusetts
5.0
1
Boxford, Massachusetts
4.8823529412
5

Stay & Play Offers

$89 Starting price
Valid dates: Oct 11, 2018 - Aug 31, 2019
Stay and Play Golf in Scottsdale, Arizona from $89 per golfer/night (including golf & lodging!)
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE