Crystal Lake Golf Club

3.5308823529 3.5 stars from 5 (52)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6504 yards
  • Slope: 129
  • Rating: 72.4
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6504 yards 72.4 129
White 72 6280 yards 71.0 126
Yellow 72 5544 yards 66.8 121
Yellow (W) 73 5544 yards 71.7 122
Red (W) 73 5399 yards 70.9 120

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.5 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 2.7 stars from 5
Value: 4.0 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.9 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.1 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.4 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 52 Reviews
5 stars:
6
4 stars:
29
3 stars:
7
2 stars:
7
1 stars:
3

recommend this course

41 out of 52 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

uWBBF8558WB's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/06/2017
Previously played Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Challenging course in very decent condition for November.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



Alex1445276's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/17/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Crystal Lake Golf Club on 10/24/2017:

Hello Alex, thank you for taking the time to review our golf course, Crystal Lake Golf Club. We're sorry to hear that you may not have fully enjoyed your experience with us, and we would greatly appreciate any feedback you have on how we can improve your next round. It looks like you did enjoy the conditions of the course, so we hope this was able to improve your overall experience. Thank you for golfing with us in the New England area, and we hope to see you soon.

"Not worth it!!"


rosiedavid's avatar
Age:  65+

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/15/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

The price was right but overall the experience is not!!

No clubhouse and facility available is dirty and old!!

Golf carts are gas.. if they run! They are filthy! Golf course back 9 in touch shape. No rangers so many 2somes and play very slow.

Management doesn't seem to care about this golf course... stay away!!


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Crystal Lake Golf Club on 10/24/2017:

Hello Rosie, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Crystal Lake Golf Club, in the New England area. We are sorry to hear that you may have had a poor customer experience with us. Your feedback is appreciated, and we hope to improve these aspects, including the pace of play and the conditions on the back 9 holes. Thank you for choosing to golf with us and we hope to earn your business again soon.

"Very Good Course"


05071955's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/13/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I really liked the course. The Par 3's are over 200 on the front nine. The back nine is a little more open and somewhat easier. The lady at the front desk was very friendly and kind.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



u706670135's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/10/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



mikeque's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/08/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



Kevin6367369's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/28/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/25/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The greens and tee boxes are the best in the Merrimac Valley area.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Challenging course"


tpvarley456's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is in very good shape, the greens especially good compared to many courses at this time of year. The ranger did his best to speed up slow play ahead of us, but sometimes it's just slow. 5 hour round.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great Value"


MonteK's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/18/2017
Previously played Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It's a nice layout, and the fairways and greens were in very good shape. The greens are surprisingly fast and true. Threre is nothing fancy about the landscaping, and there is no clubhouse.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Fine course"


Kevin6367369's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/17/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I enjoyed myself every time I play this course and I'm a member at a nearby course I find this course as enjoyable as my home course but it's not as much money as my own course


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"First time play"


Les9410483's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/16/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice course to play. Greens very well taken care of only one comment is that the people should fix their divots in the greens. Would definitely play this course again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Interesting layout, playable course for all levels."


waitejak's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/05/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice layout, well maintained greens. A few holes on the from side could use a better card diagram. Excellent value for the price.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"WHO IS THIS GUY???"


JjimboS's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/24/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

I/we play crystal pretty often going back to the days Ed Tomkins ran the place for George.course is much improved in the past 5/7 years.Playing this week in a threesome we spent an excessive amount of time looking for ball.-group behind caught up quickly. I agonize about slow play but the players with me don"t get it.In the group that caught us was a course ranger playing/not working.I called them to hit on a short hole and then let his group play through on the very next tee. His reaction or lack of wasn't very gentlemanly as his group went on their way.It's too bad his lack of polish tarnished an otherwise georgeous new england golf day.Who is this guy??? it wasn't bob the ranger;i know who he is.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course


"Good experience"


u000005131447's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Twice a year

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/20/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is a mixture of straightforward holes along with a few that require some "local knowledge" (holes # 4, 5, 13, 14 in particular). We found the course to be in fine shape. Tees, fairways and greens were all in very good shape. Green speed was reasonable and the greens have subtle breaks that make for a fun challenge. Pace of play was steady but not exceptionally quick. Our round took a shade over 4 1/2 hours with a tee off time of noontime. The pro shop and clubhouse are still located in trailers, so not much to write home about there, but the staff is very friendly, helpful and accomodating. They do have practice putting greens located conveniently adjacent to both the 1st And 10th tees, but there is no practice range on site. If you want to get loose before your round, I would suggest going to the Garrison Golf Center, about a five minute ride rom the course, to hit some balls ( a medium bucket cost us $7.00).


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"You get your money's worth"


u890946287's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/19/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is located in a nice quiet area. As you pull in you drive on crushed gravel which makes you think they'll be paving soon. It's been like this for over 3 years. As you walk out of the car you head to the clubhouse ,which is an old trailer. ( now you wonder why it's so cheap to play) .If you need to buy balls feel free to purchase what's there, which is typically used dollar grab balls consist of top flite and range balls...Once your on the course , you notice that there are more geese and geese droppings on the ground than there is good grass. The only good thing about this course is that it's open and a good place to bring beginners so that they don't get discouraged losing x amount of balls. Bunkers are never raked and greens usually in rough shape. But for $45 on a weekend for 18 and a cart it's a good deal. It's golf


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course


"54 Holes Shot 89 All Three Times"


PlayNoMore's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/10/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Crystal Lake has become my go to course. Takes 35 minutes from Burlington to get there, with no traffic problems. Today was my third loop through and it gets better every time. No burnout this summer so the course is in great shape and the greens were absolutely beautiful today!!!!! I did fix about 27 ball marks but that's not the courses fault. I started at about 8 AM and finished around 11:30. 3 1/2 hours is pretty fast in my experience. Now it was Thursday morning so there weren't too many people out there. Crystal Lake is plenty of course for the average recreational player. It's challenging enough without beating you up. When it's too tough it's no fun. If you use GolfNow you can't beat the value playing Crystal Lake. I'll be back to play the fourth round and I highly recommend this course to anyone. Great course, great price, great golf.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Good Challenge"


u941761990's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/06/2017
First time playing Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course really kicked my butt. I was having an off-day from the tees and this course really punished me for it. Pace of play was slow even for a Sunday. Would love to go back and play this course again


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Crystal Lake Golf Course Experience"


u1178030's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/04/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is in excellent shape on the tees, fairways and greens. A majority of holes present their individual challenges to make the golf experience noteworthy.


Course Layout: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Well maintained course"


guyfragala's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/03/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very well maintained course with a nice layout. Course was not crowded and pace of play moved along. Will play again if opportunity arises


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed