A view of fairway #6 at Waverly Woods Golf Course
Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.4
178 Reviews (178)
5 Stars
86
4 Stars
77
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
4
1 Stars
4
Conditions
4.3
Value
4.0
Layout
4.5
Friendliness
4.4
Pace
4.3
Amenities
4.0
92.0%
Recommend this course
162 out of 178 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.2
30 Reviews (30)
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.4
Value
3.9
Layout
4.5
Pace
4.1
Amenities
3.9
StaffFriendliness
4.1
90.0%
Recommend this course
27 out of 30 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.4
61 Reviews (61)
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
26
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.5
Value
4.0
Layout
4.6
Pace
4.3
Amenities
4.1
StaffFriendliness
4.4
91.8%
Recommend this course
56 out of 61 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Par 72
Length 7024 yards
Slope 135
Rating 74.0
Book a Tee Time at
Waverly Woods Golf Course
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1998
Fairways Bent Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Arthur Hills (1998)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Golf Simulator Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Indoor Practice Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No

Accolades

Reviews

4.4
178 Reviews (178)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 7
Course Challenges Include:
Elevation Changes 10
Forced Carries 8
Undulating Greens 7
This course/club is great for:
Advanced Golfers 12
A Weekend Splurge 7
Locals 6
This Course's Location is:
In the 'Burbs 10
Convenient to the City 9
Worth the Drive 8

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 2
Handicap 25+
Skill Beginner
Plays Once every three months
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Windy weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Wonderful Experience at Waverly Woods

Waverly Woods is a beautiful course with plush fairways, well maintained rough, large greens and challenging pin placements. Our foursome thoroughly enjoyed the round and each of us are looking forward to playing here again!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 07/04/2020

Thank you - we are glad you enjoyed it!

Played On
Reviews 4
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Twice a year
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

This design is one of the best Arthur Hills I have played but

This was a very interesting Arthur Hills design but a number of factors crossed:
My first round in over yr.
Course was wet and cart path only which was made the course play long. Combine this with the greens just being sanded and aqua hydrated made the greens a matrix of different challenges.
Having said this I like to give it another shot as the layout was a classic Arthur Hills designs. Bring you A game but a fun layout. Cheers,

Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Difficulty Extremely Challenging
Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Compassion

I booked a tee time through golf now for a single at 6:00 a.m. sharp assuming I’d be playing with a threesome. This was the first tee time slot for the day. I Was super excited to bring my son ( who is 7 ) golfing with me for his first round of golf as a ride along. He’s still too young to play. I’ve played golf frequently since courses have reopened due to COVID and all of them have allowed players to ride individually if that was their choice. However upon arrival I was informed by the pro shop gentleman that taking an individual cart for both my son and I to share was not an option and out of the question because of how busy they were. No questions asked. Ok I can understand that maybe I was at fault for not checking updated policies online for this particular course before I arrived. However another more accommodating gentlemen Inside the pro shop must have overheard my conversation and said that he would find a cart for my son and I to use. I’ve played Waverly Woods 30-40 times and this review has nothing to do with the course which I love and play often. The rest of the staff ( other than this particular gentleman at the pro desk ) were super supportive and even let my son and I out early to get ahead of everybody which I was super appreciative of. I guess the worst part is that when we came back in at 8:30 after completing a 2-1/2 hr round, there were 25 unused golf carts sitting in the lot waiting to be used. Remember that they weren’t going to let us out at all initially because of a lack of golf carts. Really upset me. Because of the compassion shown by some of the other staff my son and I were able to create a memory together that we will share for the rest of our lives. Thank you for allowing that to happen.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 06/17/2020

Your welcome! (Those 25 carts would be needed for the next two hours of play, before the rest of the 18 holers finished.) All the best,

Played On
Reviews 64
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Maryland Advisor
Top 250 Contributor
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart

Good Course Conditions...Some Issues

I play Waverly Woods several times a year, but mostly during the week. This was the first time playing this year, and the first time on a Saturday in a long time. For the good news...the course is in excellent condition. Fairways are green and lush, the greens are cut and fast (but not overly fast), and the bunkers had a nice amount of sand. The rough is thick and fully filled in (no bare spots), and pretty penal so take an extra club to get out. Now for the not so good news...slow, slow round, and that was due to the twosome with whom we were paired. At the end of #2, I mentioned we had to pick up the pace (we had already lost the group in front of us and the group behind us waiting in the fairway), and we received four more warnings for slow pace from the cart GPS. No marshals to assist, so it put the burden on us to keep nudging them along, and it really impacts the quality of our round. Additionally, there were bicyclists, walkers, joggers and dog walkers along the cart paths! I didn't think they were allowed, but this happened on several holes, mostly on the front. It's a distraction, not to mention a safety issue. And finally, I was a little taken aback when the round ended up costing $94! Waverly Woods is a nice course, but is not worth almost $100. I won't play again on the weekend--I'll look for more reasonable rates during the week. The skies opened up on #17, so we ended our round early...we could have been done before the rain if not for the twosome with us.

Conditions Excellent
Value Fair
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 06/22/2020

Hi, we are sorry you were not able to enjoy your round more. The pace that day was pretty good, apparently due to your efforts - we are sorry you got paired with a problematic twosome. We don't know when you played, so feel free to contact us at jqhills@waverlywoods.com so we can offer more assistance. Cheers!

Played On
Reviews 5
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Course was nice and the staff was very Friendly

First time our family was there to golf. Its close to our home and the course is really nice. We had a little mix up with our reservation which was our fault and the staff was so nice to figure out away the whole family could play. We will be back

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 4
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once every three months
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Excellent course

This is a really nice public course. It’’s well manicured and pretty. Pace of play was slow due to the fact the course was booked. About 25 minutes behind pace. But everyone was relaxed about it. The course is taking good Covid-19 precautions. Masks inside. Dividers in carts,, no amenities on course (water, ball washers), no rakes, and pins left in. Bit pricey but I think worth it. Will play there again and would recommend the course.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 05/31/2020

Thank you!

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 2
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Walked

Good to get out

The greens were very fast and were a little bare. I would have thought they would have been in better shape with not much play being on them. But, overall it was really good to get out and play.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Image
Commented on 05/15/2020

Thanks - the greens are still coming out of the Spring chill just a bit, but should be fully there after this weekend's heat wave. Cheers!

Played On
Reviews 11
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Safe & great pace of play.

Waverly Woods was as beautiful as I have ever seen it. However, I was worried that with all the precautions necessary to play in a safe setting, that the pace would be very slow. Or, the opposite, where nothing would be different, but exposure to COVID19 would put us in danger. Having played in both Virginia & Florida in the past month, in comparison, Waverly has the perfect blend of safety processes & enforcement personnel, for a foursome to have a great but safe experience in 4 hours and 6 minutes. Well done!!!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing

Solid

Made a trip down from Lancaster Pennsylvania due to all of our courses being closed because of the covid19 pandemic. Conditions were solid for this time of year. Had some fairly unique holes. Greens rolled fast and smooth. Was a tad pricey but I think that’s due to the area it is located in. Can’t say I’d be in a rush to go back but overall it was worth the experience!

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 03/22/2020

Thanks - glad you enjoyed it!

Played On
Reviews 5
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 6
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Waverly Woods

The course was in good condition and it's a great layout. Staff was friendly.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 03/10/2020

Thanks! Glad you had a good time!

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
First Time Playing
Cold weather
Used cart

Decent Layout - Overshadowed by Overbearing Staff

This was my first time playing Waverly, I heard good things prior to my round on Saturday and was looking forward to the round especially with the good weather in the middle of winter. I was pleasantly surprised the course was in pretty good condition and the greens were rolling well. I enjoyed the layout of the course as well. However...those were the only highlights of my day.

Given the good conditions the course was in, I was surprised to learn that it was CPO. The pace of play we were experiencing given the cart rules was pretty good, although the staff thought otherwise. Multiple times throughout the round we were badgered about our pace of play. I understand that it was a busy day given the good weather, but what do they expect when they have CPO rules all day? Even with it being CPO, we ended our round in 4 hours and 15 minutes. Also if you plan on playing the course this winter...their winter pricing is a bit misleading. You will be paying the projected high for the day, not the temp it is at your tee time.

This course seems like it would be a solid public course option in ideal conditions, but given the badgering I experienced in February, I cant imagine it would get better as the course gets more crowded throughout the year...I will not be back.

Conditions Good
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Poor
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 2
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Previously Played
Cold weather
Used cart

Pace of play overrules all

Waverly Woods is in a perfect spot for buddies meeting up between Frederick and Baltimore. Not my first time playing here as it used to be a 10 minute drive from where I used to live in Ellicott City. Have always had great experiences here. Fun holes, a lot of different shot opportunities. But this Saturday was one that will always leave a bad taste in my mouth. We had a 9:50 tee time where the temperature was about 38 when we teed off. Got charged the full 52 (high for the day). Also cart path only, when there hasn't been a drop of rain in several days and no frost that morning. Had a foursome in front of us and a threesome behind us (3 carts for each person in that group). They were never held up by us as we are ready golfers and did the best we could with the cart path only restrictions. Group in front of us was playing very fast, picking up around the greens and running across the fariways to their balls. After 5 holes, we were reamed by the marshall to pick up the pace because the group in front of us was a hole ahead of us. Yet the guys behind us were still teeing off as we finished at the green. At the turn we caught up to the group in front of us, they had just teed off. We went into the clubhouse for some libations since we knew we were back on track. As we were teeing off on 10, the starter came over to tell us we were 50 minutes behind and may have to skip a hole or 2 to catch up. I told him there is no way as the group in front of us was teeing off on 11. To his dismay, he argued back telling us we were holding groups up and are still 15 minutes behind pace. Meanwhile, the group behind us had picked up a 4th, and we never saw them again on the remaining holes on the front 9. This left a terrible taste in my mouth for the remaining 9. The group behind us was never held up once, yet we were told several times we needed to pick it up. We are paying customers, not holding anyone up, yet are getting ripped for not being up the backs of the group in front of us. Overall a bad experience that has left a bad taste in my mouth, will have a hard time coming back here.

Conditions Good
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 02/25/2020

The GM reached out to me personally and we have discussed the issue further. Glad my review was able to reach the right people. Pace of play is a very important part of the game of golf, especially when nobody out on the weekend is a professional and needs to be taking 3 practice swings and 5 minutes to line up 10 ft putts. I feel like the staff at Waverly will handle this properly. I look forward to getting back out there and playing this well designed, challenging course.

Default User Image
Commented on 02/24/2020

I'm very sorry we messed up that day - we have new cart gps coming in a few weeks which will help us do better.

Played On
Reviews 5
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

Solid track

Always a solid course. There are a couple of bad holes (#11 in particular), but it’s almost in good shape and generally one of the better options in the area. I was concerned about the pace of play, since it was cart path only, but we got around just fine even with a slower group in front of us.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 06/25/2020

Thanks PennState

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
5.0
First Time Playing

Rushed to play a round in 4 hours or less

They expect people to play under two hours 9 hole or they’ll make you skip a hole on the back. Not very understanding staff and lack people skills. They’ll rely solely on the gps on your pace of play. Finished the front nine under 2 hours 15 minutes and was demanded to skip 10th hole. Not worth the money for the headache if you’re going to be rushed to get in and get out to play there. Average golfers play a 4. 1/2 hour round.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Poor
Pace Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 06/10/2020

Hi - yes those playing between 6 am and 7 am are expected to play in four hours to help round pace for those later in the day. I believe you were the 6:20 group, as we asked you to skip hole ten, as your group played the front nine in two hours 20 minutes and the group ahead of you was two holes ahead. I'm sorry we were not able to handle the situation to your satisfaction. We are doing our best for the enjoyment of everyone on the golf course. Thank you and our apologies for any mistakes on our part.

Nearby Courses
Ellicott City, Maryland
Resort
3.7143
14
Ellicott City, Maryland
Resort
2.75
4
West Friendship, Maryland
Public
2.6363411765
45
Columbia, Maryland
Public
3.9799333333
230
Columbia, Maryland
Semi-Private
3.6373714286
54
Windsor Mill, Maryland
Public
4.0336117647
10
Windsor Mill, Maryland
Public
4.0336117647
10
Glenwood, Maryland
Private
0.0
0
Pikesville, Maryland
Private
4.8610833333
7
Catonsville, Maryland
Private
0.0
0
Elkridge, Maryland
Public
3.9403823529
246
Owings Mills, Maryland
Private
0.0
0

Stay & Play Offers

From $646
Valid dates: Jul 01, 2020 - Dec 31, 2020
The Residences at the World Golf Village offers a home style atmosphere for your stay near golf rich activities and history at the World Golf Hall of Fame, Slammer & Squire and King & Bear.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE