Crumpin-Fox Club

4.6836764706 4.7 stars from 5 (108)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7007 yards
  • Slope: 141
  • Rating: 73.8
  • Layout

  • Parmenter Rd, Bernardston, Massachusetts 01337, Franklin County
  • (800) 943-1901, (413) 648-9685
  • (413) 648-9749
  • golfthefox.com

Year built: 1977
Architect(s): Roger Rulewich (1990), Robert Trent Jones, Sr. (1977), Robert Trent Jones, Sr. (1989)
Type: Semi-Private
Greens: Bent Grass
Fairways: Bent Grass
Golf Season: Open: 4/01 Closed: 11/15

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper attire is required.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7007 yards 73.8 141
Blue 72 6508 yards 71.3 136
Gold 72 6095 yards 70.1 133
Red (W) 72 5432 yards 71.5 131

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.7 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.4 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.9 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.6 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 108 Reviews
5 stars:
85
4 stars:
17
3 stars:
3
2 stars:
3
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

104 out of 108 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive in the 'burbs   Great for advanced golfers a bucket list/top 100 pick entertaining clients   Challenges include elevation changes bunkers forced carries   Great for drinks patio dining amazing food  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"A real New England gem"


MikeBaileyGA's avatar
Golf Advisor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/22/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather

Reviewed on

Two of the most important factors in rating a course is how memorable is it and was it interesting? On both accounts, Crumpin-Fox comes through with flying colors. Having just played it, I could remember every hole, and no two holes were alike. Elevated tees, water hazards, interesting greens complex and a variety of doglegs make Crumpin-Fox one of the most interesting courses in New England. Well worth the drive.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course



"An All-Around All-Star Golf Course"


MizunoBen's avatar
Top 50 Contributor
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/21/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Whatever your priorities are in a golf course and golfing experience, Crumpin-Fox GC has got you covered. From immaculate conditions to fast play, great food and a friendly and attentive staff, there’s very little this club doesn’t excel at.

You wouldn’t know this area hasn’t had much rain the past several months as the course was green and lush with exceptional playing conditions. Fairways were smooth and trim, putts rolled pure and fast on the small-but-forgiving greens. Bunkers were well looked after and the tee boxes were as good as any I’ve tee’d up from.

The Robert Trent Jones Sr layout is very good, with mostly medium-to-long holes but some risk-reward strategy can be employed on a few of the doglegs. I’m not a golf design nerd but many who are seem to like it here. Watchout for bunkers and some small creeks/hazards in front of greens. Number 8 is among the more beautiful, true par-5s I’ve played and I was very satisfied to birdie it!

The GPS-enabled carts come in handy but (and I’ll say this to every course that has them) I really could do without the GPS-powered/governed cart function that cuts power if it thinks you’re doing something wrong. Those things are never 100% accurate and can really take away from an otherwise pleasant experience. Despite having GPS and comfy seats, I’ll pass on the power carts and walk when I play here again.

I had a early morning tee time but there were already a few walkers ahead of me. Even in a powered cart I didn’t have to wait long on the folks in front of me. This course seems pretty walkable, especially for a place that otherwise has a resort-feel to it.

I got a GolfNow deal for a whopping $40 which is a total steal. I can’t overstate what a fantastic value this course can be with even a modest discount. I wish I had stayed to eat lunch because the smells coming from the grill were pretty epic.

This course is highly rated for a reason, it’s why I chose to make it my first course played in Mass and it did not disappoint in the least!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



"Perfection"


Neal1502796's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/19/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course, from the drive in you just know it’s going to be a fun day.

Challenging but very fair. You have to get off the tee well if you plan to score well.

Greens firm and fast. Bunkers a little wet but that’s only due to down pour the night before. Eveyrbing else is pure. I believe it’s worth what they charge but try to find a hot deal it makes the round even better for the 50$ rather than the 75$. Either way i would pay up to 120$ on a weekend for it. Great course, great shape and a great time.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Put on you "bucket list""


darkstar195368's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/07/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great experience -- polite, friendly staff; excellent pace of play. Every single hole is etched in my memory bank. I have played every course in Berkshire County and many more in Mass./Conn. area [ including The Ranch] and this is the I want to play again! A shout-out to Mike for his help in making our day one of the best golf days ever. Hope to play again soon. Thanks.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course



u000008053144's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/03/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Safari Adventure"


u5905089's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/16/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

This is one of the premier courses in Western Massachusetts....a 45 minute drive from the Springfield area, a pleasant drive up Route 91..

Don’t expect to take this course for granted... it is a tough ,demanding course that plays long...the rough is long and punishes those who cannot find the fairway...and the greens are sloped and quick...

We played with the Safari Club and give an award for the most lost balls in the water...that should tell you how tough it can be..

Don’t pass up an opportunity to play here... but don’t expect to beat this course either...


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great Course!"


Steve182T's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/16/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Played here on May 16 with the Safari Club. Very enjoyable day. Everything from tee box to fairways to greens (although hard) was in excellent condition. Staff couldn't have been more accommodating. Highly recommend this course!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Week 2 for the Safari group"


Golfmanputt1946's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/16/2018
Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

A little travel North was well worth it...I have played this course many times in the past and today's conditions were the best that i remember...Staff and Pro shop was top notched and the new carts with GPS are the best around


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Must Play Course"


RickM298's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/16/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Played the course with the Safari Club and had a great time as usual. The course was in excellent condition for early in the season with the greens being fast and true. Always seemed to play more break than was needed. Course was only matched by the friendly and helpful staff. A must play if you are in the area.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Safari Club Outing"


elykC's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/16/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

This is one of the best courses to play. The Safari Club knows how to pick the courses. It's a 136 slope from the senior T's so it isn't that easy, but fun to play. New carts were like driving in a lomo. Staff was very nice.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"worth the ride"


doc7's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/16/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Played in a Safari outing and wow what a track!!!

Great conditions they have been doing a lot of work on this track and it shows it's perfect.

The pro and his staff were very nice and made you feel very welcome.

This course is well worth the ride .


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Enjoyable round"


Don2060053's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/16/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

This is a must play course. Conditions were very good for this time of year. Hole layouts are challenging but fair. A number of risk reward holes. Staff at the course was very friendly and accommodating.

Safari golf club plays here every year and I can't wait until next year - so I'll be back very soon.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



Sandra2288177's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/14/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Fantastic course and staff"


ADAM2863248's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/10/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is the best course in Western Mass. It is up there with the Ranch. Every hole is beautiful. Staff are very friendly and professional. If you are looking for a treat this is it.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"One of the Best in New England"


u000007635743's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/27/2018
Previously played Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It's a day trip if you're in the Boston area but it's well worth it. Impeccably kept, nice pro shop, good practice facility and all the challenge you'll ever want. Careful as you drive in, the par-3 9th goes OVER the road you're driving in on. From the tips, you better be a single digit golfer. Plenty of other tees to match your skill level. Pricey at regular price, great value at Golf Now price!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Bucket List Course"


u000007635743's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/23/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is pricey if you're not getting a deal, but is one of those type of courses that you don't mind paying the coin.

Excellent layout and all the challenge you'll ever want. Fast, perfect rolling greens. Fairways very nice, traps groomed and the best, AND I MEAN THE BEST, golf carts you'll find anywhere. Like sitting in a lazy boy with GPS and USB ports on the carts.

Pace can be a tad slow but that's because high handicappers will be looking for balls a lot in the rough or edge of the woods.

I always go back here a couple times a year.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Poor experience except for the food."


David5637688's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/15/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Except for the food and the perfect weather, a very poor experience.

First, they didn't have my tee time I made with GolfNow. Then, they charged me full price when I had paid GolfNow towards the fees. I was told I needed to address that with GolfNow. Tee times were 5 minutes apart and we waited on every single shot on our way to a 5+ hour round.

Course is difficult for sure, and the conditions were very good. Except the rough was quite long and the leaves were everywhere. Most courses in this area of the country do a fairly good job picking up leaves.

Beverage cart came around once and there was no ranger anywhere. Pro shop closed an hour before they said it would.

I've played here before, but don't remember such a negative experience.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


"Pace of play"



4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/13/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Over five hours for a weekday round. No rangers on course, when we spoke to clubhouse at turn he said “I’m only employee on today”?


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Special course"


braddockpark's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/12/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Crumpin Fox has always been a great golf course ,but with the new up grades ,it has gone to an elite level..

Course layout and greens are challenging even for the advanced golfer..

Highly recommended..


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Good to play here again"


ball82's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/12/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It had been several years since playing here but the great deal from Golf Now was too much to turn down. Always enjoy playing here, only complaint was pace of play. We were a threesome that had a threesome in front of us on the front nine & they somehow became a foursome on the back adding at least a 1/2 to our round as we waited on just about every shot. Probably wouldn't play here at regular rates as it's quite expensive but Golf Now had the great deal, hope to play here again! Love the power carts as well.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



u000007732711's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/29/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed