Stow South at Stow Acres Country Club

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.7
107
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
44
3 Stars
25
2 Stars
12
1 Stars
3
Conditions
3.3
Value
3.7
Layout
4.1
Friendliness
4.2
Pace
3.9
Amenities
3.6
72.7%
Recommend this course
79 out of 107 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.7
47
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
8
1 Stars
0
Conditions
3.1
Value
3.7
Layout
4.3
Pace
3.9
Amenities
3.7
StaffFriendliness
4.3
68.1%
Recommend this course
32 out of 47 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.7
51
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
8
1 Stars
1
Conditions
3.2
Value
3.7
Layout
4.2
Pace
3.9
Amenities
3.7
StaffFriendliness
4.2
66.7%
Recommend this course
34 out of 51 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 6820
Slope 128
Rating 71.7
Type Public
Book a Tee Time at
Stow Acres Country Club - South Course
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6820 yards 71.7 128
White 72 6105 yards 68.5 124
Red (W) 72 5572 yards 71.6 123
Scorecard for South
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Blue M: 71.7/128 385 440 159 327 494 520 228 369 391 3313 565 166 382 312 456 179 438 186 523 3207 6520
White M: 69.5/124 375 416 135 301 476 487 212 346 368 3116 543 142 366 292 441 151 407 167 507 3016 6132
Gold W: 71.6/123 342 313 101 277 446 473 148 305 344 2749 503 119 310 272 425 123 305 133 473 2663 5412
Silver W: 70.0/120 230 313 101 200 320 350 85 240 250 2089 345 119 310 175 220 123 305 133 300 2030 4119
Handicap 13 1 17 9 5 7 3 15 11 4 18 10 14 16 12 2 8 6
Par 4 4 3 4 5 5 3 4 4 36 5 3 4 4 5 3 4 3 5 36 72

Course Details

Year Built 1921
Fairways Bent Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Open: 4/01 Closed: 11/01
Architect Geoffrey Cornish (1964)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes

Reviews

3.7
107

What Golfers Are Saying

This Course's Location is:
In the 'Burbs 6
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Response from Stow Acres Country Club on 10/15/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review us, Stow Acres Country Club, in the Middlesex County area. We're very sorry to hear you may not have had the best recent customer experience with us due to the pace of play, and we greatly appreciate your feedback. We hope you will notice some of these improvements during your next round with us. Thank you for choosing our course, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Gave pace of play a 3 only due to a very slow 4some on front nine. Flew through the back once they were done. Very fair women s tees.Some washed out areas due to heavy rains but in great shape. One temporary green.Maintenance ongoing and staff respectful to p!Ayers on course.. Only issue is cart paths need work. An overall great day.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

nice fairway grass,greens were being worked on,they needed it

I would golf here anytime. Just the greens were spotty and patchy

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Disappointing

The course has suffered from hot and rainy months..new ownership still working hard to make it a better course to play..keep at it!

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Poor
Friendliness Fair
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
Response from Stow Acres Country Club on 10/09/2018:
Hello, on behalf of Stow Acres Country Club staff we appreciate you taking the time to address your concerns as we are always looking to improve. We are disappointed to hear that you were not happy with the conditions of the course but still hope you enjoyed your round. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Technical course

Enjoyable moderately difficult tract, but conditions on the South are below par now. Greens in particular have bald spots and a temporary on 5. Lots of rollovers, especially off the fairways unless you can play off dirt. Still a great Golfnow value. Will be back.

Conditions Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Beginner
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

stow acres south course

The course was in average condition.. most of the greens were in good shape. There was one temp green, as the real green was in bad shape. the course plays tough, it was kinda crowded on a monday morning

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Greens

Played the North course. Course in generally good condition. A number of the greens were in very poor condition. Looks like summer heat took its toll on the greens.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
2.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Not worth what they charge! Horrible conditions

Played this Sunday and the course is in some dire shape. The holes near the clubhouse looked ok, but once you got away from the clubhouse 2-8, etc the Fairways were in bad shape and the greens were horrendous. Would be good to play if you can play it for less than 40 including a cart but not anything more than that. Better off going into NH than driving 40 minutes to get here.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from Stow Acres Country Club on 09/11/2018:
Hello, thank you for reviewing our course, Stow Acres Country Club. We strive to provide the best possible customer experience to our golfers, and we apologize if we missed the mark. Your loyalty to our course is valued and we hope you will see improvements the next time you are with us. Thank you for choosing to play our course, in the Middlesex County area, and we hope to earn your business again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Fairway was not good like 3 years ago

We could not finish 18 holes due to storm, what is green fee and rain check policy ? Please be advised

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

punched greens north

staff was awesome. greens were punched on the north course. course was in tough shape. may have been from recent rain. called the pro shop after 4 holes and they let us play the south course. things worked out well.

Conditions Poor
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Response from Stow Acres Country Club on 09/05/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Stow Acres Country Club, in the Middlesex County area. We are sorry to see that you may have had a poor customer experience with us and that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played. Any additional feedback is greatly appreciated so that we can improve your experience with us in the future. Thank you for choosing to golf with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Nice place

Booked the south course on Golfnow but there was a tourney going on so the guy let us go out the north, hooked up with a single on the first tee to make a threesome. Course is above average condition, new sugar in all the traps, fairways and “grabby” rough are good, greens have some bare spots due to recent heatwave.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Stow north

Always a spectacular stadium ! But there were rocks in the Bunker on 14 and beyond! Still loved it!

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Staff Friendliness

Booked a tee time on Golf Now and thought my Visa was charged on line.......IT WAS NOT and was to be charged at the course. My son and his friend payed the fee charged by Golf Now at the course and my friend and I payed the Senior rate. At the end of the round I thought I was double charged for the rounds through Golf Now and paying at the course. Went into the clubhouse and was somewhat upset! The staff person remained calm and professional and showed me that my credit card was not charged because it was not a hot deal and therefore payment was due at the course! Even though I was WRONG the staff person apologized for the inconvenience and offered two free rounds of golf for nine holes!! Again, I have found staff members that work at Stow Acres treat guest professionally and are always accommodating and friendly!!

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Good course; sometimes slow pace

I played the North course and it was in fairly good shape. The rough was actually little daunting specially just off the fairway and around the greens. I guess it was little sticky because we had some healthy dose of showers night before. The course definitely has some tight holes where you'll have to hit the ball in exact location with long irons or hybrids off the tee. It is a fair layout and rewards good ball striking. Some of the par 5s are quite short and scoreable if you hit some decent shots. It's a good value course; only pet peeve is pace of play can be little challenging at times.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser

Stow Acres South

Got there a little early......got straight out.......foursome in front of us(2) let us play thru......game progressed quickly.

Greens were especially nice.Will definitely play again.

Minor issue tried to use on GolfNow my promo code....would recognize it.....and yes Imentered it properly.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Amazing layout, tight course.

We played the south course and it was tough. Very tight, but rewarding if you hit well. I hear the north course is even harder. One possible opportunity...the greens are in good shape but the tee boxes and fairways could use a little TLC. Play this a course to see what narrow means. Nice and private play in every hole.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Too much money for too little

This place just hasn't been the same since the prior owner started to let it go and the superintendent was replaced. Bright white bunkers (far too thick anyway) and good greens do not make up for all of the other issues on the course beginning with the $79 price. This course (both sides) get plenty of play to keep their conditions strong despite dry weather just as other nice courses in the area do. The tee boxes were rock solid, the fairways are inconsistent and the rough was burnt out grass which just vanished as your swung through it. I get variations to make a course harder (rough thickness etc) but that's simply not the case.

Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Fair
Amenities Average
Nearby Courses
Stow, Massachusetts
3.6900588235
107
Stow, Massachusetts
4.3333
3
Hudson, Massachusetts
3.8571428571
2
Stow, Massachusetts
0.0
0
Stow, Massachusetts
0.0
0
Marlborough, Massachusetts
4.5
2
Maynard, Massachusetts
4.1110833333
4
Berlin, Massachusetts
4.0
1
Bolton, Massachusetts
4.0078588235
47
Bolton, Massachusetts
4.3867
75
Concord, Massachusetts
0.0
0

Stay & Play Offers

$89 Starting price
Valid dates: Oct 11, 2018 - Aug 31, 2019
Stay and Play Golf in Scottsdale, Arizona from $89 per golfer/night (including golf & lodging!)
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE