Stow North at Stow Acres Country Club

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.7
96
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
40
3 Stars
23
2 Stars
9
1 Stars
3
Staff Friendliness
4.2
Pace
3.9
Amenities
3.6
Conditions
3.3
Value
3.7
Layout
4.1
72.2%
Recommend this course
72 out of 96 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.7
96
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
5
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
4.4
Pace
4.0
Amenities
3.7
Conditions
3.3
Value
3.7
Layout
4.4
69.4%
Recommend this course
25 out of 36 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.7
96
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
5
1 Stars
2
Staff Friendliness
4.3
Pace
3.9
Amenities
3.6
Conditions
3.3
Value
3.6
Layout
4.1
65.2%
Recommend this course
30 out of 46 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 7035
Slope 131
Rating 74.2
Type Public
Book a Tee Time at
Stow Acres Country Club - North Course
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7035 yards 74.2 131
Blue 72 6797 yards 73.7 130
White 72 6330 yards 70.7 127
Red (W) 72 5926 yards 74.4 132
Scorecard for North
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Black M: 74.2/131 557 437 372 421 503 222 377 192 478 3559 422 444 468 190 373 407 191 415 566 3476 7035
Blue M: 72.0/130 520 405 375 405 510 380 360 180 450 3585 380 420 490 180 370 400 190 405 560 3395 6980
White M: 70.7/127 503 374 354 387 472 180 318 165 426 3179 359 392 424 169 340 369 166 376 536 3131 6310
Red W: 73.6/130 474 357 346 368 455 169 303 148 402 3022 335 376 406 159 323 355 154 361 520 2989 6011
Handicap 5 11 13 3 7 9 15 17 1 4 6 18 16 14 8 12 10 2
Par 5 4 4 4 5 3 4 3 4 36 4 4 5 3 4 4 3 4 5 36 72

Course Details

Year Built 1965
Fairways Bent Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Open: 4/01 Closed: 11/01
Architect Geoffrey Cornish (1965) Bill Robinson (1965)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No

Reviews

3.7
96

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 3
Watching the Game 3
Amazing Food 2
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 4
Elevation Changes 3
Plays Long 3
This course/club is great for:
Advanced Golfers 4
Locals 4
Entertaining Clients 2
This Course's Location is:
In the 'Burbs 5
Convenient to the City 1
Worth the Drive 1
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Nice place

Booked the south course on Golfnow but there was a tourney going on so the guy let us go out the north, hooked up with a single on the first tee to make a threesome. Course is above average condition, new sugar in all the traps, fairways and “grabby” rough are good, greens have some bare spots due to recent heatwave.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Good
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Stow north

Always a spectacular stadium ! But there were rocks in the Bunker on 14 and beyond! Still loved it!
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Staff Friendliness

Booked a tee time on Golf Now and thought my Visa was charged on line.......IT WAS NOT and was to be charged at the course. My son and his friend payed the fee charged by Golf Now at the course and my friend and I payed the Senior rate. At the end of the round I thought I was double charged for the rounds through Golf Now and paying at the course. Went into the clubhouse and was somewhat upset! The staff person remained calm and professional and showed me that my credit card was not charged because it was not a hot deal and therefore payment was due at the course! Even though I was WRONG the staff person apologized for the inconvenience and offered two free rounds of golf for nine holes!! Again, I have found staff members that work at Stow Acres treat guest professionally and are always accommodating and friendly!!
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Good
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Good course; sometimes slow pace

I played the North course and it was in fairly good shape. The rough was actually little daunting specially just off the fairway and around the greens. I guess it was little sticky because we had some healthy dose of showers night before. The course definitely has some tight holes where you'll have to hit the ball in exact location with long irons or hybrids off the tee. It is a fair layout and rewards good ball striking. Some of the par 5s are quite short and scoreable if you hit some decent shots. It's a good value course; only pet peeve is pace of play can be little challenging at times.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Average
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Good
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Average
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser

Stow Acres South

Got there a little early......got straight out.......foursome in front of us(2) let us play thru......game progressed quickly. Greens were especially nice.Will definitely play again. Minor issue tried to use on GolfNow my promo code....would recognize it.....and yes Imentered it properly.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Fair
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Amazing layout, tight course.

We played the south course and it was tough. Very tight, but rewarding if you hit well. I hear the north course is even harder. One possible opportunity...the greens are in good shape but the tee boxes and fairways could use a little TLC. Play this a course to see what narrow means. Nice and private play in every hole.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Too much money for too little

This place just hasn't been the same since the prior owner started to let it go and the superintendent was replaced. Bright white bunkers (far too thick anyway) and good greens do not make up for all of the other issues on the course beginning with the $79 price. This course (both sides) get plenty of play to keep their conditions strong despite dry weather just as other nice courses in the area do. The tee boxes were rock solid, the fairways are inconsistent and the rough was burnt out grass which just vanished as your swung through it. I get variations to make a course harder (rough thickness etc) but that's simply not the case.
Staff Friendliness Average
Pace of Play Fair
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Fair
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Average
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Expensive for Conditions

$79 for the courses conditions is simply a rip off. While the greens were in good shape the tee boxes were rock solid, the fairways were inconsistent and the rough in many spots were like hitting from dirt. This place hasn't been the same since the prior owner sold and they got rid of his superintendent. Don't let the shiny bunkers and green, greens fool you the course isn't up to par.
Staff Friendliness Average
Pace of Play Average
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Fair
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Average
Response from Stow Acres Country Club on 07/18/2018:
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are sorry to hear about your disappointment with the conditions of the course. Our staff is working to keep the course in shape for the summer months, and we hope you are able to see improvements the next time you are with us.

Stay & Play Offers

$110 Starting price
Valid dates: Aug 13, 2018 - Dec 31, 2019
The Penn Ohio Golf Trail consists of courses mainly in Western PA and Northeast Ohio. What sets us apart is that we offer 29 different courses; including 4 private, members-only country clubs, 2 former LPGA courses, and many of the top courses in Ohio and Pennsylvania (including Pennsylvania’s #1 public course – Olde Stonewall). We offer 4 Mansions (for groups of 2 to 36), 10 hotels and customer service beyond any major resort. Our Mansions feature large common areas, pool tables, poker tables, big screen TV’s with the luxury of the entire group together in a large home setting.
Nearby Courses
Stow, Massachusetts
3.6903823529
96
Stow, Massachusetts
4.1428571429
3
Stow, Massachusetts
0.0
0
Stow, Massachusetts
0.0
0
Hudson, Massachusetts
3.8571428571
2
Maynard, Massachusetts
4.1110833333
4
Marlborough, Massachusetts
4.5
2
Berlin, Massachusetts
4.0
1
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE