Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
3.6
121 Reviews (121)
5 Stars
50
4 Stars
54
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
7
1 Stars
5
Conditions
3.5
Value
3.6
Layout
4.4
Friendliness
3.6
Pace
4.2
Amenities
4.2
69.9%
Recommend this course
109 out of 121 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.7
3 Reviews (3)
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.7
Value
4.7
Layout
4.7
Pace
4.7
Amenities
5.0
StaffFriendliness
4.7
100.0%
Recommend this course
3 out of 3 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.7
3 Reviews (3)
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.7
Value
4.7
Layout
4.7
Pace
4.7
Amenities
5.0
StaffFriendliness
4.7
100.0%
Recommend this course
3 out of 3 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Par 72
Length 6919 yards
Slope 128
Rating 71.9

Course Details

Year Built 1998
Golf Season Open: 3/20 Closed: 10/15

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Caddies No
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No

Food & Beverage

Snacks

Available Facilities

Clubhouse, Meeting Facilities, Banquet Facilities

Reviews

3.6
121 Reviews (121)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 6
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 13
Undulating Greens 10
Thick Rough 9
This course/club is great for:
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 13
Advanced Golfers 10
Locals 8
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 11
In the 'Burbs 6

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 9
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Timber Trace Review -Ryan Kracht

Beautiful course! I love the layout of the course. Beautifully designed holes as well as a nice pace of play. Didn’t catch the name, but the GM inside of the clubhouse was very friendly and seemed like a well put together man. I’m excited for the next time I get to get out and play this course again. And not only is the course beautiful, but the driving range is excellent as well! Can’t wait to get back out at Timber Trace Golf Club!

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0

Timber trace

Course layout is fantastic, very playable for the average golfer but also challenging. The greens were running around a 10.5. Newer carts, and a good grill for food at the turn. Can’t ask for much more

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Do not want your money

Course was in the worst shape I have ever seen. Dried up greens, fairways and tee blocks. Thought I was playing on a dried up field.The most deplorable conditions for a $50 round. Wouldn't pay $10 to play this course and would highly recommend avoiding at all cost.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Fair
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Gone badly downhill

We used to play this course a lot because it was in great shape and fun with reasonable prices. Today we played and payed 55.00,was not a 25.00 course,fairways were burned,greens were like cement,the 10th tee you could not put a tee in the ground it was so hard,waste of time and money unless you like hitting off dirt,told the counterperson about it and he said"just pretend you are playing in Scotland",never again,no wonder it was almost empty!

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Fair
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Previously Played

Golf Course Bad Shape! Don't Play There, Not Worth The Money!

DON'T GOLF THERE! The course is in terrible shape! Most of the fairways are burned out! We paid $52.00 to golf at less than farm quality course! And the man behind the counter was a smart aleck! When we complained about the condition of the course, at the turn, he said "Pretend you're playing in Scotland "! No apology for the condition of the course and it cost $10.00 more than the last time I played here! I won't recommend this course or be back again! At a minimum, they should have given us a discount or a coupon for 50% off the next time we played there, that would have been good business. They could have even offered a free hot dog and pop for our troubles, but no. They didn't mention the condition of the course when we called or even have a sign up in the clubhouse to apologize about it when we got there! They told us the pumps for the sprinkler system failed and that is why the course is in bad condition. I sell pumps for a living and know if you really want to find a pump, there is always someone that will have one that works. As burned out as this course was, it has been a while since they last watered, so they haven't been looking too hard for replacement pumps! I guess they're like the Lions, why spend the money when the people will still come out!

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Poor
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Previously Played

COURSE IN BAD SHAPE DON'T PLAY THERE! NOT WORTH THE MONEY!

DON'T GOLF THERE! The course is in terrible shape! Most of the fairways are burned out! We paid $52.00 to golf at less than farm quality course! And the man behind the counter was a smart aleck! When we complained about the condition of the course, at the turn, he said "Pretend you're playing in Scotland "! No apology for the condition of the course and it cost $10.00 more than the last time I played here! I won't recommend this course or be back again! At a minimum, they should have given us a discount or a coupon for 50% off the next time we played there, that would have been good business. They could have even offered a free hot dog and pop for our troubles, but no. They didn't mention the condition of the course when we called or even have a sign up in the clubhouse to apologize about it when we got there! They told us the pumps for the sprinkler system failed and that is why the course is in bad condition. I sell pumps for a living and know if you really want to find a pump, there is always someone that will have one that works. As burned out as this course was, it has been a while since they last watered, so they haven't been looking too hard for replacement pumps! I guess they're like the Lions, why spend the money when the people will still come out!

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Poor
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
Played On
Reviews 7
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Previously Played

What happened?!

I’ve play over 100 rounds at this course. The past 2 years the price has gone up and quality of this course has gone drastically down hill. Tee boxes were half dead, fairways were half dead and had weeds, the rough hadn’t been cut in over a week, they re did some bunkers and it went horibly wrong, the greens were in very very bad shape. I love this course and it’s design but until this is fixed I will not return. Fall rates after 4pm and still paid 40$. Very sad.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Poor
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 27
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart

smooth but slow greens

Nice layout. Greens could use some speeding up. Pin placements were not the best. If i was a scratch golfer they would have been fine.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 5
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Cold weather
Used cart

Timber Trace fall golf

Went out on a late fall day. Course in very good shape. One person in the club house. He was very friendly. The temperature was 40-50 degrees while we played. The course is somewhat rolling. Some holes are mostly flat while others will give you side-down-up lies for your approach shots to the green. Holes 10 and 18 have the most elevation change. Greens are a fair challenge. Good sand in the traps.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 4
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 38
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Top 1000 Contributor
Previously Played

Still a gem

Played this course since it opened. Never tire of it. Variety and challenging but not ridiculous.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 24
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Cold weather
Used cart

Highly recommended

Great day of golf...beautiful day!
Timber Trace Golf Course - Pinckney, Michigan
Beautiful golf course and supremely scenic views like none other that I have seen...
I'm looking forward to playing here again!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 28
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 2
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Great track!

You won't be disappointed... I've enjoyed every round played at Timber Trace!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 6
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser

Excellent course for the money. Great fairway conditions with beautifully managed woods arounds the course.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Not so good

Course condition is substandard, hole design is adequate, course layout is awful.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Response from on 08/16/2017:
Hello John, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Timber Trace Golf Club, in the Detroit area. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the course layout. Though, it looks like you had a smooth round and you had a friendly experience with our staff, so we are glad to see that. Thank you for playing with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Reviews 4
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Highly recommend!!

This is a beautiful course and the staff are the friendliest group. They are happy to take care of your needs.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Timber Course conditions

The fairways and tee boxes were in terrible shape. They have also let all areas in and around the bunkers go, tons of rocks in bunkers and surrounded by tall weeds.
I would not recommend this course for the price they are charging. $50 on weekend
Greens were ok but rest of the course was less than average condition

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Response from on 08/02/2017:
Hi Andy, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Timber Trace Golf Club. We appreciate the 3 star rating and all of your feedback. We are glad to see that you enjoyed the pace of play, staff, and layout. We hope you'll give us the chance to earn your business again soon, as we continue to improve.
Played On
Reviews 8
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Nearby Courses
Pinckney, Michigan
Public
3.8546
139
Pinckney, Michigan
Public
4.0220294118
70
Chelsea, Michigan
Private
0.0
0
Brighton, Michigan
Semi-Private
5.0
2
Brighton, Michigan
Private
0.0
0
Brighton, Michigan
Semi-Private
5.0
2
Dexter, Michigan
Public
4.3099352941
92
Howell, Michigan
Public
4.1416117647
208
Brighton, Michigan
Public
4.0259235294
128
Howell, Michigan
Semi-Private
3.6718705882
107
Brighton, Michigan
Public
4.3803294118
159
Chelsea, Michigan
Public
4.5208235294
198

Stay & Play Offers

From $155
Valid dates: Dec 26, 2019 - Oct 18, 2020
The Unlimited Golf Getaway package is perfect for the serious golfer that wants to pack in the rounds! The unlimited package provides you unlimited golfing access to five of BOYNE's outstanding golf courses and a night's stay. Courses included in the package are The Moor and Donald Ross Memorial at Boyne Highlands, The Alpine and The Monument at Boyne Mountain, and Crooked Tree Golf Club*.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE