A view of the 7th green from The East at Forest Akers Golf Course
Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.3
141 Reviews (141)
5 Stars
55
4 Stars
60
3 Stars
17
2 Stars
3
1 Stars
6
Conditions
4.2
Value
4.4
Layout
4.3
Friendliness
4.5
Pace
3.9
Amenities
3.9
94.7%
Recommend this course
128 out of 141 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.4
26 Reviews (26)
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.5
Value
4.5
Layout
4.3
Pace
4.0
Amenities
4.0
StaffFriendliness
4.6
92.3%
Recommend this course
24 out of 26 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.4
30 Reviews (30)
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.5
Value
4.6
Layout
4.3
Pace
4.0
Amenities
3.9
StaffFriendliness
4.5
93.3%
Recommend this course
28 out of 30 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Par 72
Length 6452 yards
Slope 127
Rating 70.5
Book a Tee Time at
Forest Akers East Golf Course
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1968
Fairways Bent Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Open: 3/15 Closed: 12/01
Architect Bruce Matthews Arthur Hills (1997) Chris Wilczynski (2010) Arthur Hills (2010)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Golf School Academy Yes - "Spartan Golf Academy"
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes
Practice Hole Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Proper golf attire required.

Food & Beverage

Snacks, Restaurant

Reviews

4.3
141 Reviews (141)

What Golfers Are Saying

Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 8
This course/club is great for:
Locals 10
Advanced Golfers 9
Beginners 7
This Course's Location is:
On a College Campus 11
Convenient to the City 10

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 2
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Wet weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Great course

I've been here multiple times and have never played well, BUT it is a great course. It's very well maintained. They always have a great pace on this course. It's deceptive fairways for those of us who don't consistently hit straight. But it's a fun course.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Windy weather
Walked

Very nice

I play in a league at this course and took the kids out for 9 holes on Saturday afternoon. Reasonable prices, not crowded despite the weekend and course was in good shape for end of summer and a heavy rain last night. The East Course is more relaxed and has a more forgiving layout in comparison to the west. Practice facility is excellent as well.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

AVID GOLFER

The course is in great condition. Staff was very friendly. Had a great time.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Good value.

Can’t Beat the price. Course was pretty easy but the greens were true. Would recommend for a fun round of golf.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

Always a pleasure!

Try to play this course couple of times a year. Always enjoyable, especially for Spartan fan guests from out of town. Multiple tees make it playable for any level golfer. Greens putt true & quick. Crew working out on the course always friendly. First rate range & practice green. Thanks for being so kind to Seniors, price wise, on weekdays. Come on golfers, young & otherwise, fix your ballmarks & one other, ok?

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing

Fun, Relatively Challenging, Way Too Busy

The course was a good mix of fun and challenging through all 18 holes; however, I played on a Saturday evening and within the first two holes we noticed players stacked up waiting in front and behind us. It was mostly annoying having to play at such a disrupted pace and I would suggest separating tee times by more time even if they had to charge a few dollars more.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 5
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Following tournament, made pace of play slow

Other than the pace of play, everything was up to par or better. Staff were very friendly and accommodating (gave us range balls while waiting for late tee time). Always enjoy playing this course. Take advantage of the excellent practice facilities. Go early, chip, drive, and putt, makes the round more enjoyable.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 6
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 3
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Good golf at a decent rate

Forest Akers east is a beautiful course that is very playable and can be fun for both beginners or experienced golfers. The attitude is casual, but save your muscle shirts for other courses. Put on a decent polo shirt and you’ll fit in just fine.

My biggest complaint was the snack bar sucks. It was God-awful hot and I tried to buy a decent craft beer and there were none. I tried to buy a diet Dew too, and they couldn’t provide that either. I gave up and drank my own water from home.

The course is frequented a lot, so some of the fairways looked like they needed a decent drink too. Are you listening Forest Akers?

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 2
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Forest Ackers East

Course was in the best shape in years. No flooding, greens were true.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Excellent

Course is well taken care of, sand is well manicured, just an excellent place to golf.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 4
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Good day on the course.

there was a nice buzz in the air. There was a junior golf tournament just finishing up. Got right out. No delay. Fun day.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Horrible experience

I was kicked out of a bay at driving range because I was not using the software. The next time, I bought balls because it was raining and they never told me the indoor bays were closed.

I played twillight there last night and they had 3 minutes between tee times. There 4 groups lined up on a hole. My cart died on hole 6 because it was not charged.

This place is beautiful and one of the best practice areas in the area. But it is horribly run.

Conditions Good
Value Poor
Layout Fair
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Image
Commented on 06/23/2020

Hello, thank you for reviewing the course. Let us first start by apologizing for your experience during your round. This is by no means the standard we strive to achieve. We are going to escalate your feedback to our team so we can make improvements before your next game. We are glad to know you consider the course one of your favorites, and will continue to work towards an excellent experience by using your comment for guidance. Thank you for playing The East at Forest Akers Golf Course. We hope to see you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Pleasant Surprise!

Course and greens were in very good condition. Great range and practice facility. Excellent value.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Nice course!

Course was great - in real good shape. It was busy and had to wait for some holes. Lots of singles and pairs. Greens roll good but tough - lots of tricky putts. Will be back for sure!

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 6
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Previously Played

Unwilling Golf

I booked Golf for two cart included,when i checked in employee made it clear that GolfNow could not sell and include carts-I showed the employee a screenshot of my confirmation and stated 18 holes cart included
Paid extra 10.00 each for cart that was to be included as cart included no fees paid at course,GolfNow and Forest Akers has it screwed up, he said he couldn’t do anything about it, and threatened to call mgt in ,but said there wouldn’t be anything changed.Akers did nothing to begin to make it right,I head up a group of 12 golfers I will never book again,and I have yet to speak to anyone from GolfNow,only answering machine
Very disappointed with lack of customer service by both the course and golf now, for taking golfers money when they need to manage their site

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Poor
Pace Fair
Amenities Fair
Default User Image
Commented on 06/04/2020

Hello, we appreciate you reviewing the course. We would like to apologize for the experience you had when booking your round with us. Your feedback about your recent booking with GolfNow is important to us. We always want to make sure our golfers are clear about their purchase before checking out. We ask that you contact GolfNow customer service at 1 (800) 767-3574 for clarity. Please have your confirmation number handy. Thank you for playing The East at Forest Akers Golf Course. We hope to see you again soon.

Nearby Courses
East Lansing, Michigan
Public
4.5302058824
183
Okemos, Michigan
Public
3.8333294118
22
Okemos, Michigan
Public
4.0833333333
3
Lansing, Michigan
Public/Municipal
3.9565166667
24
Haslett, Michigan
Public
5.0
1
Lansing, Michigan
Private
5.0
3
East Lansing, Michigan
Public
3.8045142857
21
East Lansing, Michigan
Public
4.6586470588
51
Bath, Michigan
Public
4.7111764706
196
Lansing, Michigan
Public
1.97225
5
Haslett, Michigan
Semi-Private
3.5175352941
49

Stay & Play Offers

From $155
Valid dates: Dec 26, 2019 - Oct 18, 2020
The Unlimited Golf Getaway package is perfect for the serious golfer that wants to pack in the rounds! The unlimited package provides you unlimited golfing access to five of BOYNE's outstanding golf courses and a night's stay. Courses included in the package are The Moor and Donald Ross Memorial at Boyne Highlands, The Alpine and The Monument at Boyne Mountain, and Crooked Tree Golf Club*.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE