Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
3.7
72 Reviews (72)
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
34
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
4
1 Stars
9
Conditions
3.8
Value
4.0
Layout
3.7
Friendliness
4.2
Pace
3.4
Amenities
3.7
83.6%
Recommend this course
55 out of 72 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.5
10 Reviews (10)
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
1
Conditions
3.6
Value
3.8
Layout
3.3
Pace
3.2
Amenities
3.4
StaffFriendliness
4.2
80.0%
Recommend this course
8 out of 10 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.6
13 Reviews (13)
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
1
Conditions
3.8
Value
4.1
Layout
3.5
Pace
3.4
Amenities
3.6
StaffFriendliness
4.4
84.6%
Recommend this course
11 out of 13 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Style Traditional
Par 71
Length 6686 yards
Slope 123
Rating 73.4
Book a Tee Time at
Sylvan Glen Golf Course
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 71 6686 yards 73.4 123
White 71 6208 yards 69.3 119
Gold 71 5554 yards 66.3 116
Red 71 5094 yards 68.8 118
Scorecard for Sylvan Glen
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Blue M: 72.7/123 409 321 434 488 481 391 209 239 445 3417 179 434 530 444 408 195 176 409 494 3269 6686
White M: 69.6/119 374 301 404 466 471 356 174 181 422 3149 158 401 525 398 392 182 163 369 471 3059 6208
Gold M: 66.0/116 W: 72.5/128 314 271 333 425 420 304 160 156 373 2756 128 387 466 367 381 155 143 353 418 2798 5554
Red M: 63.8/112 W: 68.5/120 297 231 309 405 413 283 134 123 359 2554 94 351 441 332 334 129 143 308 408 2540 5094
Handicap 9 13 3 17 5 11 15 7 1 16 2 6 4 8 14 18 10 12
Par 4 4 4 5 5 4 3 3 4 36 3 4 5 4 4 3 3 4 5 35 71

Course Details

Year Built 1922
Golf Season Open: 4/01 Closed: 11/15

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range No
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Fivesomes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Proper attire is required.

Reviews

3.7
72 Reviews (72)
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Waste of a day

If you want to waste time from your day and barely play golf this is the place. 2 hours after six holes with two groups in front waiting to tee off on hole number 7 is the most ridiculously slow pace of play I have ever been a part of. I don’t recommend this course because there is no ranger to try and speed the pace up and they stack tee times every 8 minutes so they don’t care if pace is slow they just want your money.

Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Value

This is a great course for the price...Challenges you but is fair

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

Value

Great course for the price...has some unique hole layouts...it’s fun to play

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
GolfTroyMichigan
Commented On 07/23/2019

Thanks for leaving us a great review!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

The course pace of play was aweful...

It took 6 1/2 hours to play 18 holes... This was the longest time I have ever take to play a round of golf. Would not recommend.

Conditions Average
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Default User Image
GolfTroyMichigan
Commented On 07/23/2019

Hello. We apologize for the POP. We are doing what we can to help disperse the traffic at the bottle necked areas of the course. Aside from that, we hope you had a great round. We appreciate your honest review and hope you come back and visit us again soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Cold weather
Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
GolfTroyMichigan
Commented On 07/30/2019

Thanks for your review. We hope to see you again soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Course condition

Arrived for golf early and there was a sign: no golf carts
I am a senior and am handicapped
I signed up for 9 holes walking
It was very difficult
Should have been noted on GolfNow hot deal

Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Default User Image
GolfTroyMichigan
Commented On 07/30/2019

Thanks for your review. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Cold weather

Great Value

Sylvan Glen is a great Value, large in part because they are always open. Today was good because the fairways were virtually cleared of the goose dropping’s..

The people work8ng the club house are really nice.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
GolfTroyMichigan
Commented On 07/30/2019

Thanks for your review. We hope to see you again soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Golf-aholic's Savior

I am so thankful to have Sylvan Glen, one of the few golf courses that remain open during the winter and allows golf enthusiast such as myself a place to play. It's also a great walking course which allows you to get some exercise. While the clubhouse is very modest the workers are very friendly and accommodating.

Given the winter season and the amount of play the course gets, the conditions are very playable. The only complaint I have is the amount of Canadian Geese waste on the playing surfaces of the course. It seems to be more prominent on the fairways that are closest to water throughout the course. If the grounds keepers could tend to those holes closest to the water by removing the waste off the fairways ad greens that would help.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Image
GolfTroyMichigan
Commented On 07/30/2019

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoy our course and appreciate your feedback. Hope to see you again soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

Great for the Price

Great course, well kept. Only issue is every time I play it is very slow. But hey that’s weekend golf. Would definitely recommend

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Amenities Average
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great day

Nice layout good conditions, great bang for your buck

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart

Starters need training

The course is great. The restaurant was even better. My only complaint is that the starter (Leo) really needs some training. There was only 2 of us and the tee times were delayed because of rain. Our tee time was delayed about 30 minutes which is fine except that of the 4 groups in front of us two were twosomes. To my surprise the starter never thought to ask twosomes to combine. I did ask if we could pair up to which the starter replied "sure that would be a good idea". I agree except it should have been his.

It was also disappointing that even though they had a full tee sheet on a Friday evening they had no beer cart on duty.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Staff was fantastic

What could have been a very bad experience- being first one to tee off but held back by a 2 hour frost delay-was made much easier to get through because the staff was awesome.
Knowing the delay would be lengthy, the staff took my cell # and recommended breakfast spots to go and wait it out. They promised to call with a 15 minute heads-up. They did.
The starter was tremendous in keeping order and everyone in the know. He also forewarned us prior to teeing off of current course conditions. Excellent.
The course itself was good. The greens were much faster than I expected they would be, in April in Michigan and immediately after a frost delay.
I’m not a fan of Hole 2, and you better know the layout of the #1 handicap (#9) or else the creek may grab your approach. It’s very difficult to see from even 150 yards out.
Very good overall experience. Will repeat.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart

Well worth it !!

Conditions were very good for public course and even better considering its a Muni. Some difficult holes, some gimmies, some go for it holes. Great course, great price.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 250 Contributor
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Nice city owned course

This is probably one of the best city owned courses I have ever played. Very good course condition with fast greens. I think the personnel could be a little more friendly both at the course and at the attached restaurant. I will play it again.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Absolute Grueling Pace of Play

Played here with a buddy - it took us over five and a half hours to play 18 holes. Two people - over five and a half hours. The Pace of play was absolutely grueling and was immediate from the second hole all the way to the 18th.

At one point in time, we were stacked up four groups deep on one hole waiting. I never once saw a ranger the entire 5 and a half hours. Not even once. (isn't that their job to move people along?)

All in all, I didn't find the course that fun to play either. The holes are long, average over 400 yards. There are some challenges, such as a creek you need to go over - but all in all, it wasn't that challenging of a course. Nor was it breathtakingly beautiful.

For the price I paid to play here - there's better, faster, more fun courses in metro Detroit. I won't be back.

Conditions Good
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Fair
Nearby Courses
Rochester Hills, Michigan
3.2291411765
53
Rochester, Michigan
2.7058823529
5
Troy, Michigan
0.0
0
Birmingham, Michigan
4.3333
6
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
0.0
0
Rochester, Michigan
0.0
0
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
0.0
0
Rochester, Michigan
0.0
0
Rochester, Michigan
4.0
1
Royal Oak, Michigan
4.7142857143
2
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
0.0
0

Stay & Play Offers

From $84
Valid dates: Aug 15, 2019 - Aug 31, 2020
Stay and Play Golf in Scottsdale, Arizona from $84 per golfer/night (including golf & lodging!)
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE