Sylvan Glen Municipal Golf Course
|Blue M: 72.7/123||409||321||434||488||481||391||209||239||445||3417||179||434||530||444||408||195||176||409||494||3269||6686|
|White M: 69.6/119||374||301||404||466||471||356||174||181||422||3149||158||401||525||398||392||182||163||369||471||3059||6208|
|Gold M: 66.0/116 W: 72.5/128||314||271||333||425||420||304||160||156||373||2756||128||387||466||367||381||155||143||353||418||2798||5554|
|Red M: 63.8/112 W: 68.5/120||297||231||309||405||413||283||134||123||359||2554||94||351||441||332||334||129||143||308||408||2540||5094|
Waste of a day
If you want to waste time from your day and barely play golf this is the place. 2 hours after six holes with two groups in front waiting to tee off on hole number 7 is the most ridiculously slow pace of play I have ever been a part of. I don’t recommend this course because there is no ranger to try and speed the pace up and they stack tee times every 8 minutes so they don’t care if pace is slow they just want your money.
Great course for the price...has some unique hole layouts...it’s fun to play
Thanks for leaving us a great review!
The course pace of play was aweful...
It took 6 1/2 hours to play 18 holes... This was the longest time I have ever take to play a round of golf. Would not recommend.
Hello. We apologize for the POP. We are doing what we can to help disperse the traffic at the bottle necked areas of the course. Aside from that, we hope you had a great round. We appreciate your honest review and hope you come back and visit us again soon!
Thanks for your review. We hope to see you again soon!
Arrived for golf early and there was a sign: no golf carts
I am a senior and am handicapped
I signed up for 9 holes walking
It was very difficult
Should have been noted on GolfNow hot deal
Thanks for your review. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Sylvan Glen is a great Value, large in part because they are always open. Today was good because the fairways were virtually cleared of the goose dropping’s..
The people work8ng the club house are really nice.
Thanks for your review. We hope to see you again soon!
I am so thankful to have Sylvan Glen, one of the few golf courses that remain open during the winter and allows golf enthusiast such as myself a place to play. It's also a great walking course which allows you to get some exercise. While the clubhouse is very modest the workers are very friendly and accommodating.
Given the winter season and the amount of play the course gets, the conditions are very playable. The only complaint I have is the amount of Canadian Geese waste on the playing surfaces of the course. It seems to be more prominent on the fairways that are closest to water throughout the course. If the grounds keepers could tend to those holes closest to the water by removing the waste off the fairways ad greens that would help.
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoy our course and appreciate your feedback. Hope to see you again soon!
Great for the Price
Great course, well kept. Only issue is every time I play it is very slow. But hey that’s weekend golf. Would definitely recommend
Nice layout good conditions, great bang for your buck
Starters need training
The course is great. The restaurant was even better. My only complaint is that the starter (Leo) really needs some training. There was only 2 of us and the tee times were delayed because of rain. Our tee time was delayed about 30 minutes which is fine except that of the 4 groups in front of us two were twosomes. To my surprise the starter never thought to ask twosomes to combine. I did ask if we could pair up to which the starter replied "sure that would be a good idea". I agree except it should have been his.
It was also disappointing that even though they had a full tee sheet on a Friday evening they had no beer cart on duty.
Staff was fantastic
What could have been a very bad experience- being first one to tee off but held back by a 2 hour frost delay-was made much easier to get through because the staff was awesome.
Knowing the delay would be lengthy, the staff took my cell # and recommended breakfast spots to go and wait it out. They promised to call with a 15 minute heads-up. They did.
The starter was tremendous in keeping order and everyone in the know. He also forewarned us prior to teeing off of current course conditions. Excellent.
The course itself was good. The greens were much faster than I expected they would be, in April in Michigan and immediately after a frost delay.
I’m not a fan of Hole 2, and you better know the layout of the #1 handicap (#9) or else the creek may grab your approach. It’s very difficult to see from even 150 yards out.
Very good overall experience. Will repeat.
Well worth it !!
Conditions were very good for public course and even better considering its a Muni. Some difficult holes, some gimmies, some go for it holes. Great course, great price.
Nice city owned course
This is probably one of the best city owned courses I have ever played. Very good course condition with fast greens. I think the personnel could be a little more friendly both at the course and at the attached restaurant. I will play it again.
Absolute Grueling Pace of Play
Played here with a buddy - it took us over five and a half hours to play 18 holes. Two people - over five and a half hours. The Pace of play was absolutely grueling and was immediate from the second hole all the way to the 18th.
At one point in time, we were stacked up four groups deep on one hole waiting. I never once saw a ranger the entire 5 and a half hours. Not even once. (isn't that their job to move people along?)
All in all, I didn't find the course that fun to play either. The holes are long, average over 400 yards. There are some challenges, such as a creek you need to go over - but all in all, it wasn't that challenging of a course. Nor was it breathtakingly beautiful.
For the price I paid to play here - there's better, faster, more fun courses in metro Detroit. I won't be back.