Bluff Creek Golf Course

3.9384941176 3.9 stars from 5 (137)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6641 yards
  • Slope: 126
  • Rating: 72.0
  • Layout

  • 1025 Creekwood St, Chaska, Minnesota 55318, Carver County
  • (952) 445-5685
  • (952) 445-5750
  • www.bluffcreek.com

Year built: 1968
Type: Public
Golf Season: Open: 4/01 Closed: 11/01

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire required.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6641 yards 72.0 126
White 72 6412 yards 70.9 124
Gold 72 6065 yards 69.3 120
Red (W) 72 5366 yards 70.8 124

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.9 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.5 stars from 5
Value: 4.0 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.9 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.0 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.9 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 137 Reviews
5 stars:
20
4 stars:
80
3 stars:
23
2 stars:
8
1 stars:
6

recommend this course

115 out of 137 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city in the 'burbs worth the drive   Great for locals advanced golfers walkers   Challenges include elevation changes forced carries bunkers   Great for drinks  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

u3092782's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/13/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens best they have been. Good challenge. Corse doesn’t drain the best.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Very nice"


Jerry6640708's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/07/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

In for Twins game from Sioux Falls needed an early quick round before the 1:10 game time. Bluff Creek didn’t disappoint as we tees off at 6:15 and played in under 2 1/2 hours. Plenty of challenges for the first time player but we enjoyed despite the lack of birdies. Greens are tricky to read as the lay of the course is not flat. Next time will be better! No regrets!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Good course for the money"


joereiersgord's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/05/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

If you can get on GolfNow for under $50 it’s a good course for that money. Challenging holes for all skill levels.

Course is in decent shape. They are doing some repairs to a few tee boxes so some of the others had a lot of use.

Greens were in good shape.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Great off the beaten path gem."


clarkcomet's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/03/2018
First time playing Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My wife and I played during a steady drizzle to rain at 8:30 AM... and were surprised how many others were on the course with us. As the round progressed, we began to see why. What fun for both of us, she a recreational golfer (shot 114) and me a senior experienced player. The course is not exceptionally long, thank goodness as it has great elevation changes for this part of the country. The course features one of Minneapolis dream 18 holes... number 12, a shorter, but very difficult hole. Play it and you will know why it is on the list. We will definitely return to play in the future because of the course layout... and it didn't hurt that the fairways and greens were in fantastic condition... just stay out of the rough, specially when it is raining!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



u3092782's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/27/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Challenging - good length off white tees. Tough greens. Doesn’t drain the best when wet.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



Cal2143045's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/23/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Real nice course"


u000005019301's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/22/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We enjoyed playing the course. It was a little sloppy with all the rain we've had, but in great shape. The greens were in excellent condition.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"A nice.layout"


youngca's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/20/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Beautifully kept up. Fair to seniors. Tough for low handicappers. Good luck reading the greens! Not unfair, just challenging.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Excellent condition, but change tees"


Ajdoon's avatar
Age:  45-54

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/17/2018
Previously played Walked Hot weather

Reviewed on

I hadn't played the course in five years and the course was in the best shape I've ever seen it in. Rough was appropriately cut, greens were very good. Fairways were a bit slow but only due to recent rains.

Here's my recommendation that would benefit the course and players: make the Gold tees the White tees and make the current White tees another color like Green.

The reason being is that most golfers should not be playing the Whites which is 6,400 yards (and has six par 4s 380 yards or longer plus elevation) but most players unfortunately gravitate to the White tees because Gold tees are seen as the "senior" tees even though the Gold currently plays over 6,000 yards.

Making the Whites play from the Gold yardage of 6,065 will result in lower scores, more fun, and a faster pace of play. And I suspect most players won't even notice the change.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



u429348800's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/04/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Good value, great conditions, w/various hole layouts"


sbrose23's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/13/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

In addition to the pretty good price and great conditions, it was nice that Bluff Creek had various hole layouts (no cookie-cutter, straightaway par 4's). It made for a great day of golf.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Came here to play the "Dream 18" hole, and it did not disappoint"


Ienjoygolfing75's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Minnesota Advisor
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/11/2018
First time playing Used cart Cold weather

Reviewed on

Bluff Creek is a fun course, it is a nice length from the tips and pretty well taken care of. We are still pretty early in the season here in MN, yet they have the course in good shape. The bunkers were great, carts were nice, and some pretty challenging holes. We came to play the "Dream 18" 12th hole, pretty challenging hole that we really enjoyed. The clubhouse was pretty average but the staff was really nice to us. The layout is ok, a few holes are confusing to get to. We had to figure out where we were going a few times, but thats pretty petty. The greens were nice, really only 2 holes had greens that were a little questionable with some dead spots. I think its worth trying, I enjoyed it.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Nice friendly folks and course"


jlrobbi's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/10/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I always have a good experience at Bluff Creek. Friendly people nice course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



mstadtler's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/05/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Fun to play, some challenging holes"


u966144883's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/22/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

For the first time playing the course was learning on some of the holes. Some holes you have to play smart and lay up for the approach to greens, about 3 holes. Fun course and would play it again!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Bluff Creek Golf Club on 09/27/2017:

Thank you for the great review, we appreciate you coming out and see us today!

"Unfriendly staff"


Terry7118505's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Twice a year

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/22/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Ok, so I’m not a great golfer, I get out to play 3 to 4 times a summer,.I would love to play more, but because of work and time, I am unable to do so. I usually get around 105 on a 18 hole ( not great I know) but to try and get better, so as to speed up and not swing a lot, and not spend a lot of time looking for ball. Anyway at this course there carts are real nice, they have GPS carts with onsceen hole maps and tips, and shows all other carts close by, and pace management. So on hole 6 my brother and I get a visit from the ranger stating there are 2 empty holes ahead of us” saying we are too slow” even though our cart said we were 6 min ahead of pace. This made me mad, I’m ahead of there pace they programmed into there cart, I pay same money as everyone else to use the course. I should be able to enjoy my time relaxing playing golf, not being rushed by ranger. Not to mention by the 18th hole our cart said we were 40 min ahead of pace. So unless they get there act together, and not acting superior to people who do not play that much, I will not be returning to this course.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Bluff Creek Golf Club on 09/27/2017:

We appreciate your honest review and glad you gave us a try at the course today. We apologize if you felt singled out, it was not our intentions as the ranger only looks at open holes and wasn't aware that you were on time. We did have a conversation with the ranger on duty this particular day and reminded him that if a group is on pace or ahead of pace, there is no need to push them. Again we apologize for any inconvenience and hope that you will give us another try in the near future.

"Bluff creek"


u000003135557's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/22/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

They should have a minimum of half price

Greens were just plugged and the ball was bouncing all over the place


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Bluff Creek Golf Club on 09/27/2017:

Thank you for your honest review. We appreciate your patience as the course was recently aeriified. The tee time that you purchased on this particular day is a GolfNow hot deal where 100% of the purchase price goes to GolfNow. GolfNow prices these hot deals and most of these times are already drastically discounted. We appreciate you coming out and we hope to see you again in the near future.

"Fun Little Course"


brody1965's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/17/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Starts out with a tricky par 5 for the first timer, other than that straightforward big gully is memorable, tight layout can lend some holes playing in opposite fairway. Very enjoyable!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


Response from Bluff Creek Golf Club on 09/20/2017:

Thank you for the review, we appreciate you coming out and hope to see you again soon!


Frank4072549's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/09/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Normally pace of play is good and the staff keeps people moving but this Saturday we got held up by a slow group and no ranger out to moved them along.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Bluff Creek Golf Club on 09/12/2017:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We apologize about the slow play on this specific day. We will make sure pace of play is up to par in the future and we hope to see you again soon.


Brad8942997's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/03/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Bluff Creek Golf Club on 09/07/2017:

Thank you for taking the time to review our course, we apologize if the course was less than par on this specific day. We hope to see you in the near future so that we can increase your overall star rating.


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed