This golf course is closed for business. Not true? Let us know.
Looking for other options nearby?

Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.0
118 Reviews (118)
5 Stars
53
4 Stars
35
3 Stars
14
2 Stars
8
1 Stars
8
Conditions
4.0
Value
3.8
Layout
3.7
Friendliness
4.2
Pace
4.2
Amenities
3.6
82.2%
Recommend this course
97 out of 118 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
0
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
0
Value
0
Layout
0
Friendliness
0
Pace
0
Amenities
0
0%
Recommend this course
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
0
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
0
Value
0
Layout
0
Friendliness
0
Pace
0
Amenities
0
0%
Recommend this course
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Private
Style Links
Par 72
Length 6509 yards
Slope 143
Rating 72.6

Course Details

Year Built 1995
Golf Season Open: 4/01 Closed: 11/01

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes

Available Facilities

Clubhouse, Meeting Facilities, Banquet Facilities

Accolades

  • Golf Advisor: Top Courses in Minnesota (2015 #5)

Reviews

4.0
118 Reviews (118)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 24
Patio Dining 21
19th Hole Scenic Views 15
Course Challenges Include:
Undulating Greens 37
Bunkers 32
Elevation Changes 29
This course/club is great for:
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 30
Advanced Golfers 29
Locals 15
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 28
Convenient to the City 20
In the 'Burbs 20

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 2
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

What is the fate of the Dunes

I'm a long time fan of the Dunes.
I'm a season pass owner and belonged to the course 2-3 other times.
The course just keeps getting in worse and worse condition as the season goes on.
There are never workers out on the course and the renovations don't seem to be happening.
I think the discounted season passes were a way to get the owner some money as he either sells out of goes bankrupt.
Lot's of good memories of rounds on this course, but not sure what the fate of the Dunes is

Conditions Poor
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 1
2.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Walked

Disappointing

I can't believe that this course is not encroaching bankruptcy. Brown greens, weedy tee boxes, very few workers despite being "under construction" for quite awhile. No water coolers anywhere on the course, few yard markers on fairways, no towels on ball cleaners, poor signs near tee boxes without any layout/maps. Really too bad as this course is unique, has been in much better shape, and challenging. Driving range is locked shut, has been broken into a few times, problem never solved. Staff is few and short, mostly annoyed by questions, very little if any posting anywhere of them being under construction.
Expensive food menu for the upstairs, they do have hot dogs in the pro shop for sale for $9(!). Disappointing and misleading.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Poor
Pace Good
Amenities Poor
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 12
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Walked

Unique doesn't begin to describe the Dooooons

This course is one you've got to play a few times to judge. It's currently under a huge facelift (I think) and I was able to grab a membership for under 300 this year. I play alone at 6am a couple time a week.

The course has 6 par 5's that are all reachable, 4 par 3's on the front 9 and beautiful views all across the property.

It's also a mess, has a weird signage obsession and the greens can be borderline unfair, with turtle shelling on almost every green and more undulations than the river on a windy day. If you strike the ball well and can bump and run you can make some really good scores. I would suggest playing with someone who's been there before.

I hate that the practice area is a drive away from the course and clubhouse, and that the driveway in, though really pretty is speed bumped every 20 feet.

The drive into the course is beautiful the first time, you will see wildlife and you can even whack a ball at a train as it passes by on the 12th and 13th hole. If the construction goes well (and it is improving) this course will be a must play (at least to say you've been there) again.

Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Extremely Challenging
Played On
Reviews 2
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Don't play there this year

Used to love this course, but something is very wrong. It is not undergoing just a "renovation". There are sink holes on numerous holes, browned out tee boxes, fairways, and greens. Foot tall weeds everywhere, clover instead of a fairway. It is such a HOT MESS you need to stay away. A friend of mine got their discounted "member" rate for this year, what a joke. There was an email sent out that the greens are the "Best in the World". It is utter hilarity! The course is in such bad condition we are pretty sure Doc must be selling the land for a housing development! Stay far far away!

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 07/31/2017

I concur. I used to love this course as it was always in good shape and you have to hit quality shots, but played it yesterday for the first time this year and I wish I played somewhere else. It's a disaster! It's by far in the worst shape of any course I've ever played. It's too bad. Hopefully somebody will buy it and put some money into it.

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
2.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

I used to play here a couple times a year and always loved it. I recently played and I did not get the same course that I would have normally expected. It was clear they are doing some major renovations to the golf course that I'm hoping turn out great. I was very surprised by the conditions the course was in. It used to be in great shape every time I played there, but this time I was pretty disappointed. The bunkers which used to be great were basically just dirt surrounded by overgrown weeds along with some weeds growing in the sand. The greens were not as fast as they used to be and the rough and tee boxes were not well kept and some weeds were actually growing on the tee boxes. While the awesome layout is still there the course conditions are not up to par. I would make sure before you play there you should know what you are getting into before paying full price. I'm really hoping the course returns to its old standard of conditions when they complete the renovations. It seems to me they are just letting the course go while making the renovations which is a real shame because it is one of my favorite courses to play. I would recommend this course just not in the condition it is in currently.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 1
1.0
First Time Playing
Wet weather
Used cart

Don't go

Please save your time and money,the place is a wreck . tee boxes all messed up big holes dug everywhere please dont waste money on this place.Nobody working on course omg just a mess

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Fair
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
4.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Walked

DOC's madness

Hi, All. Love this track, have played it for years. I am avid golfer and enjoy playing all over the Metro and into western Wisconsin.

The owner is running out of money to complete the "renovations"

cutting employees and amenities and hiking prices where ever he can.

For the sake of the course play it when you can.

Conditions Good
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Difficulty Extremely Challenging
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Previously Played

Poor conditions and rude staff

Used to be one of my favorite courses when I visited MN. I understand that the course is probably in very poor shape for reasons beyond owner's control. However, things that could be addressed haven't been: scorecard says there are gold tee boxes (for seniors). These don't exist, and when the old gold tee boxes can be found, they are not maintained. Pro Shop did not tell us that there are not gold tee boxes before we paid/started playing. We were obviously a group that had 2 seniors, one was a woman. Several greens have no means of reasonable egress. And many areas that were severely distressed should have been marked as under construction.

The worst part was that the owner and staff were rude and defensive when asked about the gold tees. The owner's answer when asked by staff to respond to a customer's complaint about customer service was "Tell them to go to....." . Interestingly, the manager complained to us that we had used a PGA discount!

Food service was slow and the food was soggy. Not a good day at Mississippi Dunes. PS. Watch for the owner's response. He will say we were the rude ones. A measure of how defensive the staff was.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Poor
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Walked

An honest review

After playing the course earlier this week, I am left feeling optimistic regarding the changes that have occurred. There is a lot of growth that needs to happen this summer but I feel optimistic that it will happen.

Unlike the prior comment, this course is certainly playable. There are a few spots that are needing to be worked on but with any big course renovation these sorts of things will occur. The likely can't afford to shut down so golfers will have to play through a bit of the mess.

As others have commented, the front 9 have had a few very big changes made. Particularly on holes 2, 3 and 8.

Hole 2:
There was a modification to the teebox and the area behind the green. It looks as if they are almost completed and now are just waiting for grass to grow behind the green. A very scenic hole that should be super cool by the middle of the summer.

Hole 3: This to me is the hole where I feel that the average person will look at it and wonder what the heck the Doc was thinking. SAND. Lots and lots of SAND. There is a sand dune directly in a spot where one would want to land their tee shot. It is not visible from the teebox but it is there waiting for you to land in it. Once you get past that first dune you notice that the green is surrounded on the back and right sides by dunes. My estimation is that there is no less than 8 mounds of sand. Personally I think that this makes the course look "messy" but once fescue grows on it this will be a signature hole.

Hole 8: You will notice on the right side of the fairway a HUGE crater where there used to be land. This hole used to be a relatively easy Par 5 and I believe that this addition (although obviously not finished) will be a good addition. My suggestion for the crater.... This should be the courses FIRST priority.

The back 9 has returned this year to the more traditional feel of the Dunes in the past. More or less the same course we has been there for many years.

Overall, this course has areas where it looks a little rough. The course is primed to come back better than ever but until that happens golfers will have to deal with some areas that make you scratch your head.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Fair
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 3
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Previously Played

A little disconcerting

First time playing the Dunes this year. There is ALOT of construction going on!!! Do not know what the final result will be but I am hopeful this is not what I will be seeing all year!!!! They did not have the bar Fully up and running, only one cash register. With some of the construction ,we were unsure where to hit shots?? I have played, and very much enjoyed the Dunes for many years, so I decided to purchase one of the great value memberships. So I/we will be playing numerous times this season, and I hope the various "issues" will be corrected in short time!! Sorry to see so many trees and bushes etc., being removed!!

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Response from on 04/17/2017:
Hey "carbob" thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We apologize that the construction caused some confusion for you. We are glad you chose to take advantage of a membership and we look forward to having you back again soon!
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Rough shape all around to start out 2017

Dunes is acting like a course teetering on the verge of bankruptcy. It is easy to see why they unloaded extremely cheap membership deals.

The range is in terrible shape. Each ball from range will be different. It almost looks like they hunted garage sales over a weekend to stock their range. Old range balls of various types/colors, floater balls, and used balls...all beat up, lots with slices. The practice putting green has half of the green torn up and cut off. It looks like the turf died and they chose to just remove it instead of replacing it.

The course is torn up everywhere, to the point where it is almost humorous if not dangerous.

Large piles of sand now dot each hole, much more than in previous years. Somehow, none of this sand has made it's way into any of the bunkers which are in the sorriest shape I have ever seen on a course. Only a handful of the normal non-waste bunkers had rakes but it there was hardly any sand to rake anyway. Basically just dirt filled bunkers with giant piles of sand standing off to the sides of the fairways.

Most bunkers have sod vertically laid out to create a wall. All of this sod is dead and looks terrible. Some of these walls are actively eroding. In fact, it looks like their was new sod laid down all over the course in the fall which didn't take. Instead of replacing it, they left it as dead strips of sod.

Tons of trees and brush were removed, burned, or bulldozed on the front 9. Areas outside of the fairway is just sand. It looks like they knocked it all down with no idea what to do next. Back 9 is actually ok for the most part.

Fairways and greens were decent in comparison. Some rough spots in areas of fairway but nothing unheard of on a golf course. Greens look untouched, which is a good thing. Some tee boxes look like they will be getting moved around.

All in all, this place does not look fit to be open right now. It is very apparent their previous poor business management has put them in a place where they must be open and generating some revenue to do the types of re-work necessary to keep the course together. This is why memberships were given out on the cheap. I would not recommend playing here until the improvements are finished unless you're paying a discounted rate.

Overpricing in previous years has come back to bite Mississippi Dunes.

Conditions Poor
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 2
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Walked

Great golf

This is one of my all-time favorite course to play in the state, minus some of the resort style courses up-north, but with the beauty of the river and the serenity of no houses or roads on the course it makes it seem like you ARE up NORTH. The greens are very unique and somewhat tricky ( both putting and chipping ) Bring your A game or at least a good wedge. But with each hole being different it makes for a great round! Holes 1-2-3 and 4 make for easy pars or EASY BOGEYS or worse !! start strong hopefully - cant wait for spring !

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Response from on 01/09/2017:
Hey "TNTNESS" thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a positive review! We are so glad to hear that you love coming out here and look forward to seeing you in the spring!
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Walked

Nice course

Nice course to test you golf skills. Very challenging greens. With a new design starting this year it will be interesting to play.
My biggest issue if with the practice range. This is one of the best places to practice in the area because it is so peaceful, full of wild life with an occasional train passing by as you are practicing. The issue are with the range balls . They are just used balls that have been found on the course, in a bucket of balls about 1/4 of the ball are damaged from the lawnmowers or are full of mud.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Response from on 04/10/2017:
Hey "dbecks719" thank you so much for the positive review! We apologize that you did not care for the range balls but are still glad you had a great time out on the course.
Played On
Reviews 8
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Previously Played

What happened?

So I found this course 3 years ago and went whenever I wanted a course to give me a real challenge. When I first started going the only complaint I had was this Doc character (the owner) that was all about selling booze to the point it was annoying. But the course was nice so I tolerated it. Last Sunday I decided to bring my dad and brother to the course and it got so much worse. We payed 60 bucks and all seeemed ordinary. As soon as we finished hole two it was apparent that the course was "under" 'major construction. Full price and no warning from the workers led us to enormous pits in the middle of the fairways a changed score card that would have been fine if they hadn't removed hole numbers and no workers at the turn had any information as to what the layout had changed to. I will not go back for at least 2 years to see if they have got their act together. So disappointed.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Fair
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Mighty Mississippi

Very good and enjoy course well manicure. Very picturesque beautiful views of the Mississippi River.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
e89b8efd-eb89-5a9a-8554-7b6b3980d496
Commented on 10/10/2016

Hi u244948889,
Thank you for your five star rating of our golf course. We are happy to know you enjoyed your round as well as the beautiful scenery. Come back and play again soon!

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a month
3.0
First Time Playing
Average weather
Used cart

Don't play this course until next season

The course is under construction and has closed a hole, and there is tractored dirt mounds all over the course. As well, there are large areas of flat dirt that are under repair that affects play. Once done with construction, the course should once again beautiful and fun to play. The pro shop and adjacent restaurant is poorly staffed and has no snacks, just food to order. The use of a credit card was difficult for them to process for example. No drink cart on course, and the ball washers have no towels, for example. Little things add up, and though my foursome is made up of not-so-picky people, all felt this was a big disappointment for what the website and even pro shop said when I called to make a tee time reservation. They should have been more transparent in my view.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Poor
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
e89b8efd-eb89-5a9a-8554-7b6b3980d496
Commented on 10/03/2016

Hey "u000004184061" we apologize that you and your friends did not have a great experience at the course. We appreciate all feedback as we are always looking to improve. Thank you for coming out to play and we look forward to having you back soon!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Not worth the money

Lots of construction and course layout changes. This along with many blind shots and elevated greens with difficult pin placements made it a difficult play and in my opinion not worth the money.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Fair
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Average
e89b8efd-eb89-5a9a-8554-7b6b3980d496
Commented on 09/20/2016

Hey "u000004888006" we apologize that you struggles out on the course. We hope now that you have seen the layout your next round will be more enjoyable! We hope you come back soon.

Played On
Reviews 11
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Excellent weather
Walked

End of Summer Fun

OK, it was my Birthday and wanted to take off work early and get an end of season round in at a nice course. It was about 16 years since I last played this course, and remembered how challenging and fun it was. First of all, the course was a bit under construction, but still was in really nice shape elsewhere. I walked for around low $40's(mid 50's for a cart) and played well on this mounded, sloping, links style terrain. Some tee shots were hard to figure out where to aim, and the waving greens and surrounds, made chipping and putting very challenging. Felt like sometimes it got quirky. Although it was a great day and good experience for me, the course is a bit tough for the average golfer and would not be so inclined to return if the rates were getting in the 70's+. Definitely, a must play for anyone wanting a more true links style course. Range is quite a ways from the club house, so you have to drive your car, to go hit balls before your round. Did not have time to hit the bar and grill, but looked liked they had a fantastic view of the Mississippi River area.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Extremely Challenging
e89b8efd-eb89-5a9a-8554-7b6b3980d496
Commented on 09/09/2016

Hey "Tennis02" thank you so much for the in depth review. We are glad that you found the course to be challenging but still enjoyable! We are sorry you did not have a chance to visit Doc's Landing but hope you will be able to grab something next time!

Played On
Reviews 6
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Good experience, tough course.

Very friendly staff with welcoming atmosphere. Good golf experience for the price. Greens and area around greens very good shape. The greens are elevated so if you miss you have a difficult chip. This course is not for the beginner golfer. The rough is thick, you are rewarded for hitting in fairway and the greens are undulating. Tee boxes are in decent shape, bunkers are pretty much unplayable. I would advise just playing them GUR. Fairways are cut nice.

For a weekday rate of around $45, well worth it. Course is anything but boring, it is a challenge. Would for sure play again and recommend to others.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
e89b8efd-eb89-5a9a-8554-7b6b3980d496
Commented on 09/06/2016

Hey "ClintAHolmes" thank you so much for the 5* review. We appreciate all of the compliments about our course and staff. We are glad that you find the course to be a good value and hope to see you soon!

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Good weather

Amazing course!!!

This place was a great find. I got out on my own for the first round of the day and it was soooooo peaceful. I met Doc the owner and he couldn't have been nicer. I even played 9 more holes and had a beer. Great place and will go back for sure. Course is run by golfers for golfers!

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Extremely Challenging
e89b8efd-eb89-5a9a-8554-7b6b3980d496
Commented on 08/24/2016

Hey "bighick53" we really appreciate the 5* review! We are glad that you had an overally awesome experience and hope to see you soon!

Nearby Courses
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Public/Municipal
4.5
2
Hastings, Minnesota
Public
4.1470588235
37
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Public
4.0
1
Rosemount, Minnesota
Public
3.4010588235
19
Hastings, Minnesota
Public
4.4166666667
17
Rosemount, Minnesota
Public
3.4010588235
19
Rosemount, Minnesota
Public
3.4010588235
19
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Public
5.0
1
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Public
5.0
1
Hastings, Minnesota
Semi-Private
4.7450882353
15
Woodbury, Minnesota
Semi-Private
3.9803882353
9
West Saint Paul, Minnesota
Private
4.5
2

Stay & Play Offers

From $325
Valid dates: Feb 28, 2020 - Oct 31, 2020
UNLIMITED rounds of golf over three days, and two nights lodging in one of our 4-bedroom Stay & Play luxury townhomes, including access to fine dining for dinner at Champs and Rockers.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE