Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
3.7
93 Reviews (93)
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
45
3 Stars
20
2 Stars
5
1 Stars
2
Conditions
3.6
Value
4.0
Layout
4.0
Friendliness
3.1
Pace
4.2
Amenities
3.7
98.7%
Recommend this course
83 out of 93 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.5
2 Reviews (2)
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
3.5
Value
4.0
Layout
4.0
Pace
4.0
Amenities
4.5
StaffFriendliness
2.5
100.0%
Recommend this course
2 out of 2 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.5
2 Reviews (2)
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
3.5
Value
4.0
Layout
4.0
Pace
4.0
Amenities
4.5
StaffFriendliness
2.5
100.0%
Recommend this course
2 out of 2 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Par 71
Length 6827 yards
Slope 129
Rating 73.2

Crystal Spring Quarry sits perched atop a bluff overlooking the Missouri River Valley. In 1888, the quarry was established and named after the crystal clear springs that meander across the landscape. Over a century later the historic quarry was transformed into a stunning 18-hole, public golf course. Mature forests surround three sides of the course and the fourth is bordered by Creve Coeur Park. The terrain was carefully preserved to the point that playing a round almost feels like wandering through a nature preserve. The protected wetlands, vast lakes, and meadows covered in native grasses were deftly utilized in the design. Water is naturally a major element of the golf course but there are also strategically placed bunkers along the greensides. It is a challenge, but five sets of tees make Crystal Spring Quarry more accessible for different skill levels.

Course Details

Year Built 1997
Fairways Zoysia Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Indoor Practice Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes

Food & Beverage

Snacks

Available Facilities

Clubhouse, Meeting Facilities, Banquet Facilities

Available Sports

Minigolf

Reviews

3.7
93 Reviews (93)

What Golfers Are Saying

Course Challenges Include:
Water Hazards 15
Bunkers 10
Thick Rough 8
This course/club is great for:
Locals 12
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 11
Advanced Golfers 6
This Course's Location is:
Near the Airport 12
Convenient to the City 8
Worth the Drive 8

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 10
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Great Hidden Gem

When I was looking for a course to play and looking for updated reviews, I noticed The Quarry at Crystal Springs did not have many updated reviews. So I decided to play here the other day based on previous experiences. Overall, I was impressed once again at this hidden gem.

Overall - I forgot how much water was on this course and thus, due to current weather conditions the need for bug spray. If you play this course after it has rained, then remember your bug spray, you will want it. If you are an attractive meal for mosquitos normally, bring bug spray and apply liberally.

The course was overall in great condition. the fairways were awesome! There were a couple of greens that showed some wear and tear from a couple of years ago, when the course got burned out really badly, but overall, the course has recovered quite nicely.

Pace of play was generally very well controlled and reasonable. They did not allow the next group to tee off before the first group arrived at the green; however Hole number 2 being a Par-3 allowed for a small backup, but that cleared quickly for holes to follow.

One thing I would say is that the 4-Some that was in front of our 2-Some thought they were better than they were. So I would remind players to play within their limits. No harm playing up, when you are not as good as your buddies, which is what I love about the game of golf! Suck it up and eat some humble pie to realize you are not a tour player!

The amenities, specifically the range was in great condition and I forgot how nice it was. They have both mats and grass and the grass area was plentiful and spacious.

The staff was awesome, and the best part was they offered a military discount; so never forget to ask, because you never know. This was not publicized, so I will advertise that here.

Thanks for a great experience and I look forward to continuing to keep this track on my play list in the Lou!

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 16
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Decent Course; Aggressive Starter/Marshall

Hadn't played The Quarry in a while and the course was flooded out last summer but decided to play there for a friends and family outing.

We wanted to play as a fivesome as we had three decent golfers and two newbies. The thought was that we could have the two newbies hit, we could pick up their (probable) bad tee shots, then drop near the green. However, the starter flat out refused to let us do that. So we went out as a pair and a threesome.

The course was packed and was not moving that fast. We got to the fourth hole and our group played as a group of five. We kept playing as one fivesome until we reached the seventh hole. The starter/marshall came up to us and said in a pretty rude tone "I KNEW you would try and play as one group even though I told you not to." We tried to explain what we were doing with the two beginners but he just drove off.

As I said, the course was packed and we were keeping up with the group ahead of us (in fact, we were waiting on them before most of our shots) and stayed ahead of the foursome behind us.

But after all that, we did enjoy our day there as a fivesome. Due to a lot of rain, there was standing water and mud in a number of places. Course is fun to play and was in solid shape. It took a lot of damage last year and looks like it has rebounded pretty well. If you play hole 11, make sure you play from one of the back tees as it is a nice view from the hillside.

Just don't try to play with more than four players in your group!

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Poor
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Difficulty Fairly Easy
Played On
Reviews 81
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Missouri Advisor
Top 250 Contributor
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Much Improved Golf Course

I haven't played the Quarry at Crystal Springs in awhile. They removed the uphill (old #1) and added a new hole (par 3, 6th hole). A much better course now. They have made the fairway wider on #11 but still it is a very difficult hole.

The course conditions were very good. It was a little strange. The greens were very firm (hardly a ball mark was made) and your approach shots rolled out but they putted really slow. The sand in the bunkers was terrific.

Place of play was outstanding. You did not tee off until the group in front of you was on the 1st tee. We never had to wait the entire day.

I liked the new changes and the course conditions. A very good course to play with a price under $50 on the weekend.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great value and the course was in great shape.

The course is challenging from the gold. Greens were fast and in great shape. Back 9 was a but more challenging.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Difficulty Moderate
ef1bca79-f364-5b47-9864-4bfd5eb1a9bd
Commented on 06/15/2015

Glad you enjoyed the challenge at The Quarry at Crystal Springs! Thanks so much for playing and we hope to see you back real soon.

Played On
Reviews 1
1.0
Previously Played
Average weather
Used cart

Unpleasant Staff and Management

Course is just ok--nothing special. I have been most surprised by the people who work there--crabby, unfriendly. I keep thinking I am just catching them on a bad day, but seems to be a pattern. You get the feeling that you are bothering them. Management is particularly rude. Not my first time there, but it will be my last.

Conditions Poor
Value Average
Friendliness Poor
Pace Fair
Amenities Fair
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Average weather
Used cart

Excellent course, don't go during rush

Sorry but booking foursomes every 10 minutes does not work. So if you plan on playing this course during peak times allocate 5 hours minimum.

I like the course, the fairways and tee boxes are excellent for the most part. Challenging layout for all levels. For such a nice course no one seems to fix divots so the large and undulating greens are spotty.

Not a lot of elevation changes. Lots of water. Lots of sun on 10-16 be prepared.

The staff isn't really friendly here. I had a rain check and they wanted me to pay 17 cents. When I said I'd have to go get 17 cents they decided it was ok. I received the rain check because it took 1 hour to play three holes when I went while they were busy.

I forgot a polo shirt in the back of the cart and went back to get it when I realized, before driving away, it was in the trash.

I like the course, but not the staff or pace of play when busy.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Difficulty Extremely Challenging
Played On
Reviews 3
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Good weather
Used cart

Nice course

Hadn't played CSQ since they revised the layout. (Old layout had the turn at the current clubhouse.) Overall, the course was in good shape. A few fairways had some bad patches or ground under repair. Greens and tee boxes were surprisingly hard given all the rain we've had (not that it was a problem, just an observation). The house with the bathrooms, water & vending had 3 water jugs and no water on a very hot day. That wasn't great.

We had a regular playing in our foursome, so that was helpful in navigating around the course, but a word of advice to those playing for the first time, lay up or play to the front of the green. Nothing good can come of going over the greens on most holes. Also, the new layout does not have a "turn". You just keep playing, so stay hydrated.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Disappointed

Course was in ok shape. Greens were rough with lots of ball marks. Half of the tee boxes had little to no grass. Fairway had bare spots. Not worth the price. There was no water at the turn or anywhere else on the course.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
ef1bca79-f364-5b47-9864-4bfd5eb1a9bd
Commented on 06/15/2015

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our course, your feedback means a lot to us, always. We are always working to improve the conditions to ensure our golf course is in pristine condition. If we missed a spot we do apologize, please do come back see us soon, let us know how we can make your experience better while in the shop before/after your round.

Played On
Reviews 22
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Featured
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Excellent weather
Used cart

A Pleasant Surprise

The course was well kept and greens, for the most part, stayed consistently quick. After driving past the landfill and the Hollywood casino, I was expecting the worst. But as I looked down the fairway of the first hole, all I saw were trees, lakes, and bluffs. I never saw "urban" on the course. It was a real treat. We got a GN Hot Deal for $20. It was well worth the $20! The fairways and greens are in good shape. The tee boxes are "used". We also saw some new tee boxes under construction. Should be a few weeks before they are playable. The green's crew was out in force putting in new mulch and cleaning the garden areas. The course looked nice! The clubhouse is small. I guess the old clubhouse was destroyed by a tornado a few years back. There is also a nice outside patio to enjoy a 19th hole brew. Never had a beer cart find us on the course. It was a Wednesday afternoon though. Lastly, the driving range is huge, with both a covered section and uncovered section. 18 holes took us 3 hours and 20 minutes to compete, which added to our enjoyment. Lastly, some of the fairways can be narrow, but most are forgiving. Bring a few extra balls for the water around the course. Overall, I will play this course again.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
ef1bca79-f364-5b47-9864-4bfd5eb1a9bd
Commented on 06/15/2015

Hi! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your round at The Quarry at Crystal Springs. We are always working to improve our conditions and playable areas so that we may offer you the best of the best in golf. Come back and see us real soon. Thanks for taking the time to review!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

mostly above average

The layout and views are awesome. Three par threes in the first few holes unusual. Fairways and greens in great shape. However the tee boxes were barren in many spots. It seems that their grill is closed.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
ef1bca79-f364-5b47-9864-4bfd5eb1a9bd
Commented on 06/15/2015

Hi there, thanks for playing The Quarry at Crystal Springs! Glad you made it out. Come back and see us again soon we're so glad you enjoyed your round and the conditions out here. It gets better every day!

Played On
Reviews 4
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Good weather
Used cart

Good Value esp. for a holiday

Everything was good at the course from the staff to the course. Will return often, have a bunch of balls I still have to find.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
ef1bca79-f364-5b47-9864-4bfd5eb1a9bd
Commented on 06/15/2015

Hello and thanks for taking the time to review our course, so glad you got to experience The Quarry at Crystal Springs! We hope to see you again and we can supply you with some brand new golf balls at our pro shop. Thanks again and see you soon!

Played On
Reviews 4
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great course

I booked this tee time for me and a friend, we enjoyed ourselves greatly. The course was in great shape and there wasn't anyone for a couple of holes in front of behind us. I highly recommend this course.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
ef1bca79-f364-5b47-9864-4bfd5eb1a9bd
Commented on 06/15/2015

Hi Scott, thanks so much for coming out and enjoying our golf course The Quarry at Crystal Springs, glad you had yourself a great time on your day out golfing! Come back and see us soon.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Potentially amazing

This course looks great. It has fun challenging holes. The greens were in poor conditions and not one beer or food cart the whole time.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
ef1bca79-f364-5b47-9864-4bfd5eb1a9bd
Commented on 06/15/2015

Hello and thanks for taking the time to review The Quarry at Crystal Springs. We have informed our staff, crews and team of the concern here and are working towards pristine conditions both on the greens as well as the frequency of service, i.e. refreshment carts. We thank you for coming out to play our course and hope you return very soon to see the improvements we have made on your next round!

Played On
Reviews 5
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

The nice golf course close to home (my home)

One of the beautiful golf course in town. The difficulties of the course is intermediate, which good for everage golfer. The fairway is wide. The green is kept cleaned, except in the winter there are lot of ducks wastes.
I have been playing here with my friends many many times. And I practice a lot at the driving range.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Exellent course with a bit of a challenge

The Quarry is one of those little gems you find when your not expecting it. I have played this course many times now and I keep coming back. The driving range is fantastic, the staff super cool, and they have some great instructors too. The fairways are fairly wide and forgiving but the course can still be challenging. I have lost quite a few balls here. Not overly difficult but nonetheless I find it a challenge anytime I'm not hitting perfectly. It's also a beautiful course, especially the back nine.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 18
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

With Friend.

A friend from out of town wanted to play while here and since the course is easy to get to, chose a great time for golfing. Even though leaves were falling the course was very playable. Everyone enjoyed the outing.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 3
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Excellent weather
Used cart

Great weather and conditions.

The course is in excellent shape with the greens in superb condition.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Not worth the Rate

This was the second time I've played here but first time in a very long time. It was not worth the $45 they charge on Golf Now which is usually a cheaper rate in the first place. From tees to the greens it was just in bad shape. The bunkers have sand from what seemed to be the beginning of the season making them hard as Clay. The tee boxes were uneven with chop and bare in many cases. The greens had raised cups and items that cause your ball to veer off course at any moment. The fairways were good in some cases but were not maintained to not have your typical areas of big ruts known of a typically cheap course.. I will not be playing here again.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Amenities Fair
Played On
Reviews 6
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Excellent weather
Used cart

The Quarry

Excellent course and greens. Even Scenic in parts. Tight Fairways and unforgiving scrub grass past the fairway rough. Fairly flat course but a lot of water to navigate if you aren't careful. Think 3 wood off a lot of the tee's if you can't control your drive. BYOB (THERE WAS NO CART GIRL ON COURSE EVEN THOUGH THEY TOLD US THERE WOULD BE ONE) and you do not go back to the clubhouse after 10 and there is no half way house. PLUS THE SOFT DRINK MACHINE TOOK TWO DOLLARS FROM MY PLAYING COMPANION. but that isn't all he lost..... :)

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Anonymous
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Excellent weather
Used cart

Great layout

First time I've played here, but it won't be the last. This is a challenging course that you need to play a few times to know proper club selection. We found that out the hard way ! Still enjoyed the great views and really nice condition that the course was in,especially the greens which rolled true and fast.Good time !

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Nearby Courses
Bridgeton, Missouri
Public/Municipal
1.7619142857
4
Chesterfield, Missouri
Private
2.6671176471
43
Saint Ann, Missouri
Public
4.5
4
Creve Coeur, Missouri
Public/Municipal
4.3566176471
191
Saint Louis, Missouri
Private
5.0
1
Saint Charles, Missouri
Private
4.0
1
Saint Louis, Missouri
Private
0.0
0
Saint Louis, Missouri
Private
0.0
0
Saint Louis, Missouri
Private
0.0
0
Saint Louis, Missouri
Public/Municipal
4.8742941176
77
Saint Louis, Missouri
Private
0.0
0
Saint Louis, Missouri
Private
0.0
0

Stay & Play Offers

From $325
Valid dates: Feb 28, 2020 - Oct 31, 2020
UNLIMITED rounds of golf over three days, and two nights lodging in one of our 4-bedroom Stay & Play luxury townhomes, including access to fine dining for dinner at Champs and Rockers.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE