Crystal Springs Quarry Golf Club

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.8
90
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
43
3 Stars
19
2 Stars
5
1 Stars
2
Staff Friendliness
3.9
Pace
3.6
Amenities
3.7
Conditions
3.5
Value
3.9
Layout
0
88.9%
Recommend this course
80 out of 90 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
0
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
0
Pace
0
Amenities
0
Conditions
0
Value
0
Layout
0
0%
Recommend this course
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
0
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
0
Pace
0
Amenities
0
Conditions
0
Value
0
Layout
0
0%
Recommend this course

About

Holes 18
Par 71
Length 6827
Slope 129
Rating 73.2
Type Public
Crystal Spring Quarry sits perched atop a bluff overlooking the Missouri River Valley. In 1888, the quarry was established and named after the crystal clear springs that meander across the landscape. Over a century later the historic quarry was transformed into a stunning 18-hole, public golf course. Mature forests surround three sides of the course and the fourth is bordered by Creve Coeur Park. The terrain was carefully preserved to the point that playing a round almost feels like wandering through a nature preserve. The protected wetlands, vast lakes, and meadows covered in native grasses were deftly utilized in the design. Water is naturally a major element of the golf course but there are also strategically placed bunkers along the greensides. It is a challenge, but five sets of tees make Crystal Spring Quarry more accessible for different skill levels.
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Warsaw (Black) 71 6827 yards 73.2 129
Plattin (Gold) 71 6331 yards 70.3 125
Choteau (Blue) 71 5891 yards 68.0 116
Choteau (Blue) (W) 71 5891 yards 72.8 121
Fern Glen (Red) 71 5208 yards 69.8 112
Burlington (White) 71 4698 yards 66.7 106
Scorecard for The Quarry at Crystal Springs
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Black M: 72.2/127 440 188 405 236 436 137 410 517 441 3210 536 420 144 361 198 442 420 535 390 3446 6656
Gold M: 69.8/125 415 170 380 210 397 127 350 497 386 2932 509 410 129 336 186 414 401 500 360 3245 6177
Blue M: 67.8/120 W: 73.3/127 380 155 355 173 377 115 320 477 364 2716 470 390 119 323 174 384 367 470 333 3030 5746
Red W: 69.8/113 350 127 333 140 320 99 279 409 345 2402 445 310 109 286 166 340 329 432 288 2705 5107
White W: 67.1/108 315 98 285 126 300 89 259 384 282 2138 390 283 101 262 145 305 317 374 275 2452 4590
Handicap 9 15 7 11 13 17 5 3 1 6 4 18 16 14 2 8 10 12
Par 4 3 4 3 4 3 4 5 4 34 5 4 3 4 3 4 4 5 4 36 70

Course Details

Year Built 1997
Fairways Zoysia Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Indoor Practice Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes

Reviews

3.8
90

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 3
Patio Dining 2
Brunch 1
Course Challenges Include:
Water Hazards 14
Bunkers 10
Thick Rough 7
This course/club is great for:
Locals 11
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 11
Advanced Golfers 6
This Course's Location is:
Near the Airport 11
Convenient to the City 8
Worth the Drive 8
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great value and the course was in great shape.

The course is challenging from the gold. Greens were fast and in great shape. Back 9 was a but more challenging.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Average
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
ef1bca79-f364-5b47-9864-4bfd5eb1a9bd
QuarryCrystalSprings
Commented On 06/15/2015
Glad you enjoyed the challenge at The Quarry at Crystal Springs! Thanks so much for playing and we hope to see you back real soon.
Was this review useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
1.0
Previously Played
Average weather
Used cart

Unpleasant Staff and Management

Course is just ok--nothing special. I have been most surprised by the people who work there--crabby, unfriendly. I keep thinking I am just catching them on a bad day, but seems to be a pattern. You get the feeling that you are bothering them. Management is particularly rude. Not my first time there, but it will be my last.
Staff Friendliness Poor
Quality of food & beverage Poor
Pace of Play Fair
Off-course amenities Fair
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Average
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Average weather
Used cart

Excellent course, don't go during rush

Sorry but booking foursomes every 10 minutes does not work. So if you plan on playing this course during peak times allocate 5 hours minimum. I like the course, the fairways and tee boxes are excellent for the most part. Challenging layout for all levels. For such a nice course no one seems to fix divots so the large and undulating greens are spotty. Not a lot of elevation changes. Lots of water. Lots of sun on 10-16 be prepared. The staff isn't really friendly here. I had a rain check and they wanted me to pay 17 cents. When I said I'd have to go get 17 cents they decided it was ok. I received the rain check because it took 1 hour to play three holes when I went while they were busy. I forgot a polo shirt in the back of the cart and went back to get it when I realized, before driving away, it was in the trash. I like the course, but not the staff or pace of play when busy.
Staff Friendliness Poor
Pace of Play Poor
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Average
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Good weather
Used cart

Nice course

Hadn't played CSQ since they revised the layout. (Old layout had the turn at the current clubhouse.) Overall, the course was in good shape. A few fairways had some bad patches or ground under repair. Greens and tee boxes were surprisingly hard given all the rain we've had (not that it was a problem, just an observation). The house with the bathrooms, water & vending had 3 water jugs and no water on a very hot day. That wasn't great. We had a regular playing in our foursome, so that was helpful in navigating around the course, but a word of advice to those playing for the first time, lay up or play to the front of the green. Nothing good can come of going over the greens on most holes. Also, the new layout does not have a "turn". You just keep playing, so stay hydrated.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Quality of food & beverage Good
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Disappointed

Course was in ok shape. Greens were rough with lots of ball marks. Half of the tee boxes had little to no grass. Fairway had bare spots. Not worth the price. There was no water at the turn or anywhere else on the course.
Staff Friendliness Good
Quality of food & beverage Good
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Fair
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Average
ef1bca79-f364-5b47-9864-4bfd5eb1a9bd
QuarryCrystalSprings
Commented On 06/15/2015
Thanks so much for taking the time to review our course, your feedback means a lot to us, always. We are always working to improve the conditions to ensure our golf course is in pristine condition. If we missed a spot we do apologize, please do come back see us soon, let us know how we can make your experience better while in the shop before/after your round.
Was this review useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Featured
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Excellent weather
Used cart

A Pleasant Surprise

The course was well kept and greens, for the most part, stayed consistently quick. After driving past the landfill and the Hollywood casino, I was expecting the worst. But as I looked down the fairway of the first hole, all I saw were trees, lakes, and bluffs. I never saw "urban" on the course. It was a real treat. We got a GN Hot Deal for $20. It was well worth the $20! The fairways and greens are in good shape. The tee boxes are "used". We also saw some new tee boxes under construction. Should be a few weeks before they are playable. The green's crew was out in force putting in new mulch and cleaning the garden areas. The course looked nice! The clubhouse is small. I guess the old clubhouse was destroyed by a tornado a few years back. There is also a nice outside patio to enjoy a 19th hole brew. Never had a beer cart find us on the course. It was a Wednesday afternoon though. Lastly, the driving range is huge, with both a covered section and uncovered section. 18 holes took us 3 hours and 20 minutes to compete, which added to our enjoyment. Lastly, some of the fairways can be narrow, but most are forgiving. Bring a few extra balls for the water around the course. Overall, I will play this course again.
Staff Friendliness Good
Quality of food & beverage Average
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Good
ef1bca79-f364-5b47-9864-4bfd5eb1a9bd
QuarryCrystalSprings
Commented On 06/15/2015
Hi! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your round at The Quarry at Crystal Springs. We are always working to improve our conditions and playable areas so that we may offer you the best of the best in golf. Come back and see us real soon. Thanks for taking the time to review!
Was this review useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

mostly above average

The layout and views are awesome. Three par threes in the first few holes unusual. Fairways and greens in great shape. However the tee boxes were barren in many spots. It seems that their grill is closed.
Staff Friendliness Good
Quality of food & beverage Poor
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Good
ef1bca79-f364-5b47-9864-4bfd5eb1a9bd
QuarryCrystalSprings
Commented On 06/15/2015
Hi there, thanks for playing The Quarry at Crystal Springs! Glad you made it out. Come back and see us again soon we're so glad you enjoyed your round and the conditions out here. It gets better every day!
Was this review useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Good weather
Used cart

Good Value esp. for a holiday

Everything was good at the course from the staff to the course. Will return often, have a bunch of balls I still have to find.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Good
ef1bca79-f364-5b47-9864-4bfd5eb1a9bd
QuarryCrystalSprings
Commented On 06/15/2015
Hello and thanks for taking the time to review our course, so glad you got to experience The Quarry at Crystal Springs! We hope to see you again and we can supply you with some brand new golf balls at our pro shop. Thanks again and see you soon!
Was this review useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great course

I booked this tee time for me and a friend, we enjoyed ourselves greatly. The course was in great shape and there wasn't anyone for a couple of holes in front of behind us. I highly recommend this course.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Quality of food & beverage Good
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Good
ef1bca79-f364-5b47-9864-4bfd5eb1a9bd
QuarryCrystalSprings
Commented On 06/15/2015
Hi Scott, thanks so much for coming out and enjoying our golf course The Quarry at Crystal Springs, glad you had yourself a great time on your day out golfing! Come back and see us soon.
Was this review useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Potentially amazing

This course looks great. It has fun challenging holes. The greens were in poor conditions and not one beer or food cart the whole time.
Staff Friendliness Good
Quality of food & beverage Poor
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Fair
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Good
ef1bca79-f364-5b47-9864-4bfd5eb1a9bd
QuarryCrystalSprings
Commented On 06/15/2015
Hello and thanks for taking the time to review The Quarry at Crystal Springs. We have informed our staff, crews and team of the concern here and are working towards pristine conditions both on the greens as well as the frequency of service, i.e. refreshment carts. We thank you for coming out to play our course and hope you return very soon to see the improvements we have made on your next round!
Was this review useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time

Stay & Play Offers

$110 Starting price
Valid dates: Aug 13, 2018 - Dec 31, 2019
The Penn Ohio Golf Trail consists of courses mainly in Western PA and Northeast Ohio. What sets us apart is that we offer 29 different courses; including 4 private, members-only country clubs, 2 former LPGA courses, and many of the top courses in Ohio and Pennsylvania (including Pennsylvania’s #1 public course – Olde Stonewall). We offer 4 Mansions (for groups of 2 to 36), 10 hotels and customer service beyond any major resort. Our Mansions feature large common areas, pool tables, poker tables, big screen TV’s with the luxury of the entire group together in a large home setting.
Nearby Courses
Saint Ann, Missouri
4.8888833333
4
12163 Prichard Farm Rd, Maryland Heights, Missouri 63043, Saint Louis County
(314) 344-4448, (314) 514-0154
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE