Sunset Hills Golf Course

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
2.9
125
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
34
3 Stars
29
2 Stars
17
1 Stars
32
Conditions
2.7
Value
3.3
Layout
3.2
Friendliness
3.7
Pace
3.7
Amenities
2.9
57.6%
Recommend this course
70 out of 125 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.4
26
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
3
Conditions
3.0
Value
3.8
Layout
3.6
Pace
3.6
Amenities
3.3
StaffFriendliness
3.9
73.1%
Recommend this course
19 out of 26 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.3
29
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
4
Conditions
2.9
Value
3.8
Layout
3.5
Pace
3.6
Amenities
3.3
StaffFriendliness
3.9
69.0%
Recommend this course
20 out of 29 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 6452
Slope 117
Rating 69.8
Type Public
Book a Tee Time at
Sunset Hills Golf Course
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6452 yards 69.8 117
White 72 5966 yards 67.0 113
Yellow 72 5666 yards 67.0 113
Red (W) 72 4902 yards 67.0 113
Scorecard for Sunset Hills Golf Course and Learning Center
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Blue M: 70.5/117 389 421 486 157 328 408 166 563 380 3298 366 382 144 541 293 441 451 165 371 3154 6452
White M: 68.2/113 366 378 461 128 307 361 151 532 358 3042 350 357 123 512 278 397 435 151 321 2924 5966
Red W: 68.1/108 316 318 402 109 253 317 102 396 290 2503 285 320 108 407 225 321 353 113 267 2399 4902
Handicap 12 6 10 18 4 8 16 2 14 13 9 17 5 11 3 1 15 7
Par 4 4 5 3 4 4 3 5 4 36 4 4 3 5 4 4 5 3 4 36 72

Course Details

Year Built 1989
Golf Season Year round
Architect Bob Lohmann (1989)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes - "Midwest Junior Golf Academy"
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed Soft spikes only
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Collared or mock turtle shirt. Denim is allowed, but no cut-offs or frayed jeans. No Tank Tops or T-Shirts.

Reviews

2.9
125

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 9
Course Challenges Include:
Water Hazards 15
This course/club is great for:
Beginners 11
Locals 10
Seniors 8
This Course's Location is:
In the 'Burbs 14
Convenient to the City 9

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Response from Sunset Hills Golf Course & Banquet Center on 09/24/2018:
Hello. We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars, and we hope you'll give us another try in the near future. Thanks for playing Sunset Hills.
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

finding way the holes play

had a harder time finding the way the back nine played

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Response from Sunset Hills Golf Course & Banquet Center on 09/18/2018:
Hello. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review, and we hope you join us for another round soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Response from Sunset Hills Golf Course & Banquet Center on 09/12/2018:
Hello. We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars., but we hope you'll give us another try in the near future. Thanks for choosing Sunset Hills.
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Busy

It was a busy Sunday which really slowed down play more than usual. It's worth the price.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Poor
Amenities Excellent
Response from Sunset Hills Golf Course & Banquet Center on 08/13/2018:
Hello. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review, and we hope you join us for another round soon. Thanks for playing Sunset Hills!
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

poor conditions

Course is in bad shape. Bad tee boxes, lousy fairways, slow greens. Not very good.

Conditions Poor
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Response from Sunset Hills Golf Course & Banquet Center on 08/03/2018:
Hello. We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. We hope you'll give us another try in the near future.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Nice but one problem.

Great time in spite of a very slow foursome that really slowed down play. We skipped two holes to eventually get around the problem.

Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Response from Sunset Hills Golf Course & Banquet Center on 08/03/2018:
Hello. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We're glad you enjoyed your tee time, and we hope you join us for another round soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Nice course

The course was in decent shape in spite of all the rain. Played with my grandson, and we had a great time!

Response from Sunset Hills Golf Course & Banquet Center on 08/03/2018:
Hello. Hello. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We're glad you and your grandson had such a good time, and we hope you join us for another round soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Fair
Friendliness Poor
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
Response from Sunset Hills Golf Course on 07/19/2018:
Hello. Thanks for playing Sunset Hills Golf Course. We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. We hope you'll give us another opportunity to change your mind in the near future.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Sunset Hills Golf Course on 07/17/2018:
Thanks for the great review! We hope to see you again soon!
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Never Again

The course has very little fairway grass. Greens are good. It has some of the most ridiculous holes I have ever played. A Creek runs directly across it.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Poor
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Sunset Hills Golf Course on 07/13/2018:
Hello, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We're sorry to hear your round with us was anything short of 5-stars. We appreciate you giving us a shot at Sunset Hills Golf Course.
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Good value

Good value for your money and you don't have to drive far to get there.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Excellent
Response from Sunset Hills Golf Course on 07/11/2018:
We appreciate the great review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your round with us and hope to see you again for another one soon. Thanks for playing Sunset Hill Golf Course!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great day!

I played here almost 5 years ago and it left a lot to be desired. I gave it another shot (no pun intended) on Tuesday and I’m glad I did. The fairways were nice and green, the greens were perfect and just challenging enough to make it exciting but not putter throw inducing. The tee boxes were in great shape as well. The staff were very friendly and the groundskeepers made every effort to make sure they didn’t mess up anyone’s swing. I’ll be coming back for sure, keep up the good work guys!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Sunset Hills Golf Course on 07/08/2018:
Thanks for the great review! We appreciate the feedback about your experience and are happy to hear you came back for another round with us. We hope to see you again soon! Thanks for playing Sunset Hills Golf Course.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Warm up course

Course in good shape but need work on tee boxes. Like the layout for a links course. Hot day needs cold water coolers not warm water.

I will play again.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Sunset Hills Golf Course on 07/08/2018:
Hi CClubdave, thanks for the great review. We appreciate the feedback about your round and hope you consider joining us for another one soon. Thanks for playing Sunset Hills Golf Course!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Twice a year
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

Great time for all !!!

I always wanted to play this course and had the chance one Hot June evening. despite the heat wave the course was in great shape and the Greens were in excellent condition. A challenging design and affordable for everyone. The staff was great except for one guy in long pants who turned out to be alright once you get to know him. I highly recommend this course for the price.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Sunset Hills Golf Course on 07/17/2018:
Hi Dinosaurus, thanks for the great review! We appreciate the feedback about your round and hope to see you again for another round soon. Thanks for playing Sunset Hills Golf Course!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Twice a year
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

Great time for all !!!

I always wanted to play this course and had the chance one hot evening in June. Despite the heat wave the course was in great shape and the Greens were excellent. A challenging design at an affordable price. The staff was great except for one guy in long pants, but he turned out to be alright once you get to know him. Over all I highly recommend this course.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Sunset Hills Golf Course on 07/19/2018:
Hello. Thank you for your 5-star rating! We're so glad you were finally about to join us for a round. Please book another tee time with us soon.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Marshals Please

Great track, for the money. Desperately need a course marshal it two. So SLOW,due mostly to uninformed players...the staff is terrific. Not a great place or course, but a nice little treat, again, for the price

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Poor
Amenities Good
Response from Sunset Hills Golf Course on 06/26/2018:
Hi Jim8369476, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're sorry to hear your round with us was anything short of 5-stars. We hope this doesn't deter you from returning for another round soon. Thanks for playing Sunset Hills Golf Course.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Response from Sunset Hills Golf Course on 06/26/2018:
Thanks for the great review! We hope to see you again for another round soon!
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Wet weather
Used cart

Great Value

A buddy and myself play Tapawingo often but they didn't have any available tee times this day. We went right across the street to Sunset and jumped right on the course. Greens and fairways far exceeded my expectations. For $20 this might be the best course for your dollar in the city.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
Response from Sunset Hills Golf Course on 06/26/2018:
Hello, thanks for the great review! We're happy to hear you gave us a shot and hope to see you again for another round soon. Thanks for playing Sunset Hills Golf Course!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Hot, but fun round!

The course was in better shape than some years. The greens were acceptable; not too fast, but not too slow. The pace of play was good; thankfully, because it was hot! There was water on the course but wish they had had a cart person come around with cold drinks. Had a fun day....but then golf is all about attitude!

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Sunset Hills Golf Course on 06/20/2018:
Hello, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're happy to hear you had an enjoyable round and hope to see you again for another one soon. Thanks for playing Sunset Hills Golf Course.
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Previously Played

Total Disaster

I am truly sad to write this review but the current state of the course and management has turned this course into a dangerous mockery of its past.

The course layout and conditions have always been squarely in the "value" category of local courses. Washed out dirt fairways, rock hard tee boxes, and empty water stations are the norm, but that has always been expected for the price.

Their rain policy is the dangerous part. We were on hole 9 when a significant thunder storm moved into the area. We knew there was a chance of rain but the large and numerous bolts of lighting became coming down all around us. Waiting for the airhorn like every other course became impossible as the lighting and rain were now impossible to play through. It turned out that they would have let us play in any kind of storm because they have NO RAIN CHECK POLICY, no matter the conditions. They do not monitor the weather and told us it was "your job to check the forecast before coming out". Again, we were fine playing through rain but lighting is another story.

When I challenged the policy, as their signs cleary state that the course will only be closed for "Inclement" weather, which this surely was, I was told to "call Brian if you have a problem".

No offense but arguing about $10 isnot worth it.

The course has devolved into a sorry state unfortunately. For better value, conditions, and service, Riverside is only a few minutes away. For better layout, conditions, and service Tapawingo is across the street. I would not be surprised if this course were a subdivision within 10 years, probably after being sued for not following their rain policy and someone is seriously maimed by lightning.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Fair
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Response from Sunset Hills Golf Course & Banquet Center on 08/13/2018:
Hello, Deb. We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. We hope you'll give us another try in the future.
Nearby Courses

Stay & Play Offers

$339 Starting price
Valid dates: Nov 08, 2018 - Dec 20, 2018
Enjoy four rounds of golf at either of Ka’anapali’s championship courses and a beautiful Ocean View room with a five (5) or more night stay at the Royal Lahaina Resort.
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE