Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
3.9
148 Reviews (148)
5 Stars
45
4 Stars
68
3 Stars
17
2 Stars
13
1 Stars
5
Conditions
3.9
Value
4.0
Layout
4.1
Friendliness
3.9
Pace
3.4
Amenities
3.6
81.8%
Recommend this course
126 out of 148 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.3
12 Reviews (12)
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
4
1 Stars
0
Conditions
3.5
Value
3.7
Layout
3.7
Pace
3.2
Amenities
3.6
StaffFriendliness
3.4
75.0%
Recommend this course
9 out of 12 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.6
21 Reviews (21)
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
6
1 Stars
0
Conditions
3.8
Value
3.8
Layout
3.9
Pace
3.3
Amenities
3.6
StaffFriendliness
3.7
76.2%
Recommend this course
16 out of 21 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Par 72
Length 6436 yards
Slope 131
Rating 72.1
Book a Tee Time at
Cattails Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 6436 yards 72.1 131
Blue 72 6009 yards 70.5 123
White 72 5525 yards 68.4 118
Red (W) 72 4974 yards 70.2 118
Scorecard for Cattails Golf Club
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Black M: 72.0/133 460 381 363 561 409 154 196 359 386 3269 499 186 382 179 364 308 364 502 383 3167 6436
Blue M: 70.2/122 441 350 315 527 391 129 162 348 373 3036 461 174 361 171 336 300 345 471 354 2973 6009
White M: 68.2/116 W: 72.5/132 360 320 300 490 370 115 140 338 350 2783 435 165 340 145 314 255 330 423 335 2742 5525
Red W: 69.9/120 350 315 250 484 315 105 129 299 279 2526 337 117 318 135 309 248 305 413 266 2448 4974
Handicap 16 14 6 8 4 18 12 10 2 5 7 1 11 9 13 15 3 17
Par 5 4 4 5 4 3 3 4 4 36 5 3 4 3 4 4 4 5 4 36 72
Handicap (W) 10 16 14 2 6 18 12 4 8 5 11 1 7 15 13 9 3 17

Course Details

Year Built 1991
Fairways Bent
Greens Bent
Golf Season Open: 4/01 Closed: 11/01
Architect John Williams

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - mandatory
Clubs Yes
GPS No

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Caddies No
Golf Simulator Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Indoor Practice Yes
Putting Green Yes
Practice Hole No

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Dress code All golfers are expected to wear proper golf attire

Reviews

3.9
148 Reviews (148)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 8
Course Challenges Include:
Forced Carries 17
Undulating Greens 15
Bunkers 8
This course/club is great for:
Advanced Golfers 15
Locals 15
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 12
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 11
Convenient to the City 7
In the 'Burbs 7

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Fun

Fun course, some quirky holes, many lay up areas seemed safer to just go for it all, local knowledge helps on many holes for first time players, friendly and good food, beverage cart girl was extremely attentive. Overall fun course to play and course is in good shape.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Cattails Golf Club
Commented On 07/15/2019

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating! Please book another round with us soon. Thanks for playing @CattailsGolfClub.

#Golf
#GolfLife
#letsglow
#GolfTravel
#GolfFriends
#drivechipandputt
#BeautifulGolfCourses

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Not fun

Unfortunately due to the rain it was cart path only, however the pace of play was so slow we skipped final 3 holes after 4.5 hours and the staff didn’t seem to care (except the food cart girl who was very nice). People playing loud music, talking a lot on the greens next to tee box and very inconsiderate and so slow. Could have been a nice round for fathers’s day. Even when we brought it to their attention they did nothing to help he situation. Very disappointing.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Cattails Golf Club
Commented On 06/18/2019

Hello, Jeff. Thank you for reviewing the course. We apologize for the delay of play during your round. This is by no means the standard we strive to achieve. With a full roster for the holiday, we worked hard to accommodate everyone and allow our guest the chance to complete their rounds. With that in mind, we are worked to best control pace and allow everyone to finish in a reasonable amount of time, and we will continue to look for ways to improve. Thank you for playing Cattails. We hope to see you again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Previously Played

Course has gone downhill

We golf here many times a year and will not be back.. Out of stock of many items, including carts, extremely slow pace, no beverage cart on a busy day,

Conditions Average
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Fair
Pace Fair
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Cattails Golf Club
Commented On 06/10/2019

Hello, Aadam. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars, but we hope you'll give us another try in the near future. Thanks for choosing Cattails.

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Previously Played

We have golfed at Cattails for years, it’s a very challenging course. This year the service has dropped significantly. It’s quite obvious management has turned over.

-there were No carts were available after we paid for our golf
-they didn’t have change available when drinks were purchased at the bar
-they were out of stock on very common alcohols and drink condiments. Plus the bartender didn’t know how to make common drinks. My drink had to have at least 4oz+ of grenadine in it (wish I would have noticed before we were back on the course)
-there was Not a beverage cart on a busy Friday night
-there was not a ranger to keep the speed of play going, we were sitting 2-3 carts deep on holes because of a couples league that was very slow.

It’s sad because it’s always been a decent course to golf at, more than likely will not be back this year.

Conditions Average
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Fair
Pace Fair
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Cattails Golf Club
Commented On 06/10/2019

Hi, Aadam. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. We are going to pass on your feedback to the teams in charge so they can work to make changes. Thanks for visiting Cattails. We hope you'll give us another try in the future.

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

The course is nice and in good shape. The greens are very challenging. This is very much a strategic course the requires you to keep the Driver in the bag most of the time. Too much so for my taste.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Fair
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Cattails Golf Club
Commented On 05/29/2019

Hello. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars, but we hope you'll give us another try in the near future. Thanks for choosing Cattails.

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

It was a great day out

Course was in great shape considering this time of year staff is always friendly but unfortunately we had four tools in front of us that. They tought they're the only ones on the course. but I guess that doesn't matter overall I would say golf here and have fun the great course.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Cattails Golf Club
Commented On 04/09/2019

Hi. We appreciate you leaving a review and rating us 5 stars. We're glad you enjoyed the course. We will inform the entire team, so they know their hard work is paying off. We look forward to having you back, and thanks for choosing Cattails.

#Golf
#GolfLife
#GolfTravel
#GolfFriends
#drivechipandputt

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Nice Course as alwayy

Good times golfing on January 5th in Michigan how could it be bad everything was great ...friendly staff

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Cattails Golf Club
Commented On 01/07/2019

Hello. Thank you so much for the review. We are glad you had an incredible time and hope to see you again soon!

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

Difficult Course

I was able to play it for $12 and play 18. So it was well worth my money. But this is a difficult course.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
2.0
Previously Played
Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Fair
Default User Image
Cattails Golf Club
Commented On 05/20/2019

Hello, Sam. Thanks for the review. We see you rated the course 2-stars and are interested in learning what we can do to improve for your next visit. We take customer feedback very serious at our course. Please reach out to our team in the golf shop. We always appreciate the feedback. Thank you for playing Cattails.

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Cattails Golf Club
Commented On 05/14/2019

Hello, and thank you for visiting us @CattailsGolfClub. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon.

#GolfLife
#letsglow
#GolfTravel
#GolfFriends
#drivechipandputt
#BeautifulGolfCourses

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Cattails Golf Club
Commented On 04/23/2019

Hello. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars, but we hope you'll give us another try in the near future. Thanks for playing Cattails.

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

Early season first round

Course was actually drier than I thought, still a few soggy areas but playable. Greens were in pretty good codition for the time of year

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Cattails Golf Club
Commented On 03/26/2019

Hi, Hahnas. Thank you so much for the great review. We are glad you found the conditions go and you had a good time. We hope to see you again soon! Thanks for choosing @CattailsGolfClub.

#GolfLife
#GolfTravel
#GolfFriends
#BeautifulGolfCourses

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Cattails Golf Club
Commented On 12/26/2018

Hello. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon. Thanks for playing Cattails.

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Great scenic course, nice rough and fairways

Great course for the hot tee time.

Course was in great shape...the amenities were very lacking as the parking lot entry the clubhouse gog carts were definitely not taken care of...but we didn't care we were there to play golf and the course itself was very nice.

Greens weren't perfect but 4 out of 5.

Lots of big greens an d different woods used off tee boxes from the back. My son played from the front and he had a great time.

Can'twait to go back.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from Cattails Golf Club on 10/17/2018:
Hello. Thank you for your 5-star rating! We're so glad you and your son enjoyed the challenge. Please book another round with us soon.
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Response from Cattails Golf Club on 10/12/2018:
Hello, Mark. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review, and we hope you join us for another round soon. Thanks for choosing Cattails.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Cattails Golf

Great golf course. We enjoyed the round and would love to play with friends again in future.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Cattails Golf Club on 10/11/2018:
Hello. Thank you for your 5-star rating! We're so glad you enjoyed your tee time, and please bring your friends for a round with us soon. Thanks for choosing Cattails.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Fair
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Response from Cattails Golf Club on 09/18/2018:
Hello. We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. We hope you'll give us another try in the near future.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Slow play odd layout

Played with my wife and another couple. No one in clubhouses to check us in as we were prepaid. Finally found someone. Went out and starter told us to load up and follow a group of 4 foursomes of young guys who were playing their own best ball tournament. By the back nine they were so drunk,slow, obstinate and confrontational we ended up waiting on every hole and took over 5 hours to complete our round. No Marshall’s or staff were any where to be found to report them to. Our worse golf experience this year. The course is fairly well kept but it is very tight between fairways and golfers are constantly in your way. Cart paths sometimes run back down fairways you just played to get yo the next tee and golfers are hitting right at you. Greens are very undulating and rather challenging. Some holes like #10 are just plain odd. Would be a fun course to play if it was marshalled and controlled but it is not.

Conditions Average
Value Fair
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Hot deal of the day

Course was in perfect shape. Greens a little slower then normal but still in great shape. From Canada and try and make and play this course every year. Thx again for doing a great job cattails. See u next year

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Cattails Golf Club on 09/04/2018:
Hello, Eric. Thank you for your 5-star rating! We're so glad you enjoyed the course. Please book another round with us the next time you're in the area. Thanks for choosing Cattails.
Nearby Courses

Stay & Play Offers

From $295
Valid dates: May 26, 2020 - Jul 12, 2020
Experience all Erin Hills has to offer in golf, dining, and hospitality when you stay and play.
57737 W 9 Mile Rd, South Lyon, Michigan 48178, Oakland County
(248) 486-8777
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE