Old Orchard Country Club

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.2
318
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
129
3 Stars
71
2 Stars
38
1 Stars
45
Conditions
2.9
Value
3.6
Layout
3.9
Friendliness
4.2
Pace
3.8
Amenities
3.0
69.9%
Recommend this course
224 out of 318 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
2.3
13
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
3
1 Stars
5
Conditions
2.2
Value
3.0
Layout
3.2
Pace
3.9
Amenities
2.6
StaffFriendliness
3.8
53.8%
Recommend this course
7 out of 13 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.0
62
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
6
1 Stars
14
Conditions
2.7
Value
3.4
Layout
3.8
Pace
3.9
Amenities
2.8
StaffFriendliness
4.1
64.5%
Recommend this course
40 out of 62 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Semi-Private
Par 72
Length 6679 yards
Slope 127
Rating 72.1
Opened in 1929, Old Orchard Country Club has a classic design with challenges that stand up to modern golf courses. Throughout the course, you'll see traces of the site's former use as a farm. Ancient apple trees from the original orchard frame many of the holes. The diverse layout will test you with a variety of different shots but the gently rolling terrain makes for an easy walk. Skill and strategy will be generously rewarded but it's not an overly punishing layout for the high handicapper. Old Orchard's greens play true and fast and they are often flanked with strategically positioned bunkers. A stream wanders through the golf course, coming into play on several holes. Golfers will face a tricky island green on the par-5 seventh hole as well as an almost-island green on the par-4 13th.
Book a Tee Time at
Old Orchard Country Club
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6679 yards 72.1 127
White 72 6300 yards 69.1 122
Yellow 72 5934 yards
Red (W) 72 5685 yards 73.0 121
Scorecard for Old Orchard Country Club
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Blue M: 71.2/133 442 500 173 426 410 206 480 345 392 3374 442 420 412 360 167 372 367 197 568 3305 6679
White M: 69.1/132 430 467 158 406 400 193 437 330 382 3203 433 399 366 308 150 362 358 189 532 3097 6300
Yellow M: 65.7/123 W: 73.1/123 426 463 144 335 393 193 427 267 364 3012 419 384 347 282 150 351 346 157 486 2922 5934
Red W: 72.7/125 409 437 140 331 375 174 420 260 340 2886 408 354 322 278 136 328 343 152 478 2799 5685
Handicap 1 9 17 5 3 13 7 15 11 8 4 2 14 18 16 10 12 6
Par 4 5 3 4 4 3 5 4 4 36 5 4 4 4 3 4 4 3 5 36 72
Handicap (W) 9 11 17 1 3 13 7 15 5 2 8 6 12 18 16 10 14 4

Course Details

Year Built 1929
Greens Rye Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect A. W. Tillinghast (1929)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range No
Teaching Pro Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Proper golf attire.

Reviews

3.2
318

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 16
Course Challenges Include:
Water Hazards 29
Bunkers 23
Forced Carries 12
This course/club is great for:
Locals 43
Walkers 17
Seniors 15
This Course's Location is:
In the 'Burbs 19
Near Local Attractions 16
Convenient to the City 13

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Reviewer Photos

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Old Orchard Country Club
Commented On 2019-02-13T13:34:46.000+00:00

We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. It is great to see you had an enjoyable time on the course and we hope you join us for another round soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

What I expected

January golf on the east coast. It was wet. A lot of rain In The area recently left some major muddy spots, but to be expected. Greens were pretty decent there were two cups in each green which was bizarre. A few course layout head scratchers but all in all it was a good value and a fun day.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Default User Image
Old Orchard Country Club
Commented On 2019-01-08T13:35:01.000+00:00

Thanks DannyWray32 as we appreciate your 4-star rating and review. It is great to see you had an enjoyable time on the course and we hope you join us for another round soon here at Old Orchard Country Club.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Course wet but playable

After heavy rain the course was wet but playable.I exspected course to be closed but it was open and playable.Great value for the price and the staff is very friendly.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Old Orchard Country Club
Commented On 2018-11-26T17:51:23.000+00:00

Thank you Mattcath as we appreciate your 4-star rating and review. It is great to see you had an enjoyable time on the course and we hope you join us for another round soon here at Old Orchard Country Club.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Cold weather
Used cart
Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Old Orchard Country Club
Commented On 2018-11-20T12:48:34.000+00:00

We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. Please let us know if you ever need anything while you are here and we hope you'll give us another try in the near future.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

can't complain.

The greens were very nice. The rest of the course is in bad shape. Had a good time with friends for $21 with cart. Booked on golf now.

Conditions Poor
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Old Orchard Country Club
Commented On 2018-11-02T12:55:53.000+00:00

Thank you petervena for your review and we are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. Our staff is working hard on getting the course conditions back up to par and we hope you will let us know if you ever need anything while you are here. Please come back and give us another try in the near future.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Old Orchard Country Club on 10/22/2018:
Thank you kktmd5 as we appreciate your 4-star rating and review. It is great to see you had an enjoyable time on the course and we hope you join us for another round soon here at Old Orchard Country Club.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Stay away

This place is a mess. There is nothing to recommend, it’s overgrown the tee boxes and fairways are horrible. It’s a shame as this was a good track at one time. Don’t waste your time and money.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Response from Old Orchard Country Club on 10/15/2018:
We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. Please let us know if you ever need anything while you are here and we hope you'll give us another try in the near future.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Poorly Maintained

I played this course roughly 7 years ago or so and it was in good shape then. This time around, it is by far the worst conditioned course I have played on. You could not tell the difference between the fairway and rough. Tee boxes were practically dirt. Some bunkers were plain dirt. I did not see one greens crew out there while playing. If you hit their so called fairways, you could not see the ball because the grass was high. All in all, it felt like I was playing from my backyard a week after I mowed the grass. Not worth the money they ask, even Golf Now hot deals. Stay away from this course.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Fair
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Response from Old Orchard Country Club on 10/02/2018:
We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. Please let us know if you ever need anything while you are here and we hope you'll give us another try in the near future.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Absolutely terribly taken care of course. The fairways had bare spots and weeds growing everywhere. greens only decent thing about the course and I mean decent at best. I never write reviews about anything, but when they are asking what they are to play this course your expecting at the very least a good taken care of course and that was not the case here. Would never recommend this course to anyone. I could ramble off 15 different course within 20 miles of there for 20-30$ cheaper a round that are nicer than this place.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Response from Old Orchard Country Club on 09/24/2018:
Thank you Cody for your review and we are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. Please let us know if you ever need anything while you are here and we hope you'll give us another try in the near future.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Worst maintained golf course I have ever seen

It was horrendous I quit at the 13th I was losing balls in the fairway .

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
Response from Old Orchard Country Club on 09/24/2018:
Thank you Traxler99 for your review and taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. Please let us know if you ever need anything while you are here and we hope you'll give us another try in the near future.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Old Orchard

This course is not worth the cost to play. Th greens and tee boxes are not in great shape. The rough in many areas was uncut. The only reason to play here is if you can’t get out somewhere else.

Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Fair
Friendliness Fair
Pace Good
Amenities Poor
Response from Old Orchard Country Club on 09/05/2018:
We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. Please let us know if you ever need anything while you are here and we hope you'll give us another try in the near future.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Worst Conditions I've Ever Played

Played with out of town guests early Saturday morning of Labor Day Weekend. The garbage cans were overflowing with empty beer cans. Saw many cans in the bushes, rough, under trees, and in bushes. Saw 2 empty wine bottles (one next to the 18th fairway). The rough and fairways look like they haven't been cut in 2 weeks. Everywhere you look it's dilapidated. Bulkhead falling apart, broken rakes laying next to the ponds (traps), water hoses left out in the middle of holes. It was an absolute joke and the management should be ashamed of the conditions. The 13th hole was the worst kept hole I have ever played.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Response from Old Orchard Country Club on 09/05/2018:
We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. Please let us know if you ever need anything while you are here and we hope you'll give us another try in the near future.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Old Orchard Country Club on 09/05/2018:
Thank you Mattcath as we appreciate your 4-star rating and review. It is great to see you had an enjoyable time on the course and we hope you join us for another round soon here at Old Orchard Country Club.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Course Improving

This is the fourth time I played this course and it continues to improve.I was pleasantly surprised to see course condition.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Old Orchard Country Club on 08/03/2018:
Thank you Mattcath for the 5-star review as we appreciate you taking the time. We love to see you had a great time on the course and we hope you will book another round with us soon here at Old Orchard Country Club.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Course is in great shape

Course is playing real nice,the staff is working hard and has really put the course in great shape.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Old Orchard Country Club on 08/03/2018:
Thanks Mattcath we appreciate your 4-star rating and review. It is great to see you had an enjoyable time on the course and we hope you join us for another round soon here at Old Orchard Country Club.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Needs maintence quick!

Tee boxes horrible, sand traps haven’t been racked in forever. Nice layout in embarrassing condition.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Fair
Amenities Poor
Response from Old Orchard Country Club on 07/23/2018:
We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. Please let us know if you ever need anything while you are here and we hope you'll give us another try in the near future.
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Due to long heat spell course spotty in some places.....Has been good shape before that....Staff is very friendly...owner a bit tight...will not allow 9 hole play cost, must pay for 18 ....I can only play 9 due to back so always use the special offers to play ...

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Response from Old Orchard Country Club on 07/23/2018:
Thank you nanoofh as we appreciate your 4-star rating and review. It is great to see you had an enjoyable time on the course and we hope you join us for another round soon.
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

It’s a classic Tillinghast

What a Disgrace, Tillinghast would be rolling in his grave. I have written a review on this course before and nothing has changed. Good Lord, get the tee boxes in shape, and groom the traps every single day of the week. It is almost as if they’ve given up. Maintenance of the course is not at a premium. things are in disrepair all over the course. The wooden bridges are borderline unsafe. My friends and I that play the course are in love with the layout, and we play a lot of quality courses not just in the US but all over the world. We feel it’s a prime candidate for total restoration back to its original spec. We wish someone would Recognize this and be willing to invest in its preservation. But in the meantime, get those traps in shape, they are a disgrace. Completely unplayable.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
Response from Old Orchard Country Club on 07/16/2018:
Thank you Brian and we are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. Please let us know if you ever need anything while you are here and we hope you'll give us another try in the near future.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Went to crap

Played this course several times in the past but the first time this year and it is by far the worst condition I have ever seen it, even playing in the winter months. Dead spots on greens and uneven cuts in fairways. Very disgusted with the condition of the course and probably will not play again.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Poor
Response from Old Orchard Country Club on 07/16/2018:
Thank you Tim and we are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. Please let us know if you ever need anything while you are here and we hope you'll give us another try in the near future.
Nearby Courses
Eatontown, New Jersey
3.2670647059
107
Deal, New Jersey
5.0
2
Rumson, New Jersey
5.0
1
Deal, New Jersey
5.0
1
Colts Neck, New Jersey
5.0
1
Middletown, New Jersey
0.0
0
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
4.69445
7
Neptune, New Jersey
5.0
1
Neptune, New Jersey
3.7058823529
5
Colts Neck, New Jersey
3.8571428571
5

Stay & Play Offers

$145 Starting price
Valid dates: Feb 11, 2019 - Mar 31, 2019
4 days/ 3 nights with unlimited golf, starting at $145 pp/pn
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE