Pomona Golf & Country Club

2.9632352941 3.0 stars from 5 (30)
  • Holes: 9
  • Par: 34
  • Length: 2426 yards
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes - 20 tees driving range
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: No

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
White 34 2426 yards N/A N/A

The Pomona Golf Course is a nine-hole, public course nestled in the wilderness of Southern New Jersey. The flat, wide course is geared more towards beginners so experienced golfers might not get much besides light practice on this course.

Pomona Golf Course is also located minutes away from casinos and entertainment. The course plays to a par of 32 with 2,426 yards at the longest tees. Detailed directions are needed since the golf course is somewhat hard to find if you are not familiar with the area since there are no signs of how to get there along the roads. Credit cards aren't accepted either, cash only.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.0 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 2.8 stars from 5
Value: 3.7 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.6 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.1 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.2 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 2.7 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 30 Reviews
5 stars:
2
4 stars:
11
3 stars:
8
2 stars:
1
1 stars:
8

recommend this course

22 out of 30 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Good place to go and Practic to tune up clubs that need work"


Daveskriv's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

No pressure just get out and enjoy the fantastic weather and play golf


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u706949142's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/11/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"I liked it"


desal's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/28/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

I liked the course layout. It was very clean. they had just finished aerating the Fairways. this did not present a problem. i played with someone who has played there for years and was telling me all the improvements made and being planned. I would give this course a definite two thumbs up.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course




1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/23/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Pomona Golf & Country Club on 09/25/2017:

Hello, we are sorry to see that you may have had another poor experience at our golf course, Pomona Golf & Country Club. We are always looking to provide our golfers with the best experience possible and any additional feedback will help us to do so. Thank you for reviewing us and we hope to see you again soon.



1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/09/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Pomona Golf & Country Club on 09/25/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Ponoma Golf & Country Club, in the Philadelphia area. We are sorry to see that you may have had a poor customer experience playing our golf course and would like to hear any additional feedback on how we can make improvements for your next round with us. Thank you for golfing with us and we hope to see you again soon.


u825735437's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/08/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Sprinklers on at every t box

Greens air rated couldn't put


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Pomona Golf & Country Club on 09/18/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Pomona Golf & Country Club, in the Philadelphia area. We are sorry to hear that the greens may not have been in the best shape when you played and that the sprinklers were an inconvenience for you. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. It looks like you may have enjoyed the course layout, so we are glad to see that. Thank you for playing our golf course and we hope to see you again soon.

"I'm looking over a four leaf clover!"


u7852203's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/06/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This 9 hole course should just give it up. Bad, bad, bad. I wanted to give it up after the third hole. Clover everywhere. Finding a blade of grass was difficult to find among all the clover. Even the T-boxes were covered with clover. The greens were in terrible shape, diseased, bumpy, and small. Maybe two greens out of the nine holes were decent. Sorry folks I have to be honest. I will never go back. Sad.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Pomona Golf & Country Club on 09/14/2017:

Hello Jerome, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Pomona Golf & Country Club, in the Philadelphia area. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy playing our 9 hole course due to the poor conditions. Your feedback is appreciated so that we know where further improvements can be made. It looks like you had a smooth round and a friendly experience with our staff, so we hope that made your round a little better. Thank you for golfing with us and we hope to earn your business again.


Daveskriv's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/24/2017
Previously played Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Pomona Golf & Country Club on 08/28/2017:

Hello David, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Pomona Golf & Country Club, and for the 3-stars. We are sorry to see that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played, but we are glad to see that you still enjoyed the course layout. It also good to see that you had a friendly experience with our staff and that you had a smooth round. Thank you for feedback on our golf course, in the Philadelphia area, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.



1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/21/2017
Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


Response from Pomona Golf & Country Club on 08/24/2017:

Hello Bill, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Pomona Golf & Country Club, in the Philadelphia area. We are sorry to see that you may have had a poor customer experience with us and that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played. It looks like you may have had a friendlier experience with our staff, so we are glad to see that. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope to earn your business again soon.

"Having fun"


u997678880's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/18/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course for the beginner, layout is very friendly. Greens are small making it interesting for the avid golfer. Staff is very friendly.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



Sparky0098's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/06/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Pomona Golf & Country Club on 08/08/2017:

Hello Mark, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Pomona Golf & Country Club in the Philadelphia area. We are glad that you enjoyed playing our golf course, but we are sorry to hear that some of the greens were not in the best shape when you played. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope to see you again soon.


u000004375373's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/04/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



stumpy8831's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/30/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Pomona Golf & Country Club on 08/02/2017:

Hi Scott, thank you for taking the time to rate our course. We notice the 1 star. Is there anything we can follow up on? We are glad to see you enjoyed our staff! We hope to earn your business again.

"This course is great for working on your basics"


Daveskriv's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/25/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fairways in decent shape but a couple of greens aren't


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Good course"


u969872012's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/28/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

If greens were in better shape, this course would be GREAT!!!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Ponoma Golf & Country Club on 08/01/2017:

Hello Edward, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Ponoma Golf & Country Club in the Philadelphia area. We appreciate your feedback regarding the greens and we hope that you had a great experience at our course as a whole. Thank you for the 3 star review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

"Short but tight"


donner1320's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/09/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is shorter than most but is narrow off the tee box with small greens. The fairways don't offer a great deal of roll out leaving 60-100 yd wedge into a very tight green. Putting was fairly straight forward, with flatter greens that had been recently aerated but still rolled true. Food at the turn was delicious, and the staff was very friendly. For the price I would definitely play it again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Great for beginners"


u525361651's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/21/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 9 holes Average weather

Reviewed on

This is a nice little course if you just want to get out and take some strokes. Fairly short 9 hole layout. Play it twice for 18. Flat terrain. Fairways and tee boxes are mostly clover, but I didn't mind. Usually had a pretty good lie. The greens were not to bad, considering we had a fairly dry spell in late August and early September. Only one set of tees (white) no ladies/seniors or championship. There was nobody in front or behind us, so the pace of play was very relaxed. Don't expect Pebble Beach or Augusta. Made for a nice afternoon. For the price, it was great. I'll be back


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


"good value"


dibella's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/02/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

excellent for the value. course was ok and cart was immediately available. Management was excellent and were waiting for me. I would do it again.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Not as easy as the numbers make it seam"


Ed5789690's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/30/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good value, great place to introduce someone to the game, but it's not a push over. Small greens and tight fairways force you to make accurate shots. Greens are small (OK) but very slow (not OK). Staff is friendly and lunch was very good. I'll be back.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Review"


Joebrian's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/24/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice course for my level. Use all woods and irons.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed