Pomona Golf & Country Club

3.2945882353 3.3 stars from 5 (40)
  • Holes: 9
  • Par: 34
  • Length: 2426 yards
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes - 20 tees driving range
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: No

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
White 34 2426 yards N/A N/A

The Pomona Golf Course is a nine-hole, public course nestled in the wilderness of Southern New Jersey. The flat, wide course is geared more towards beginners so experienced golfers might not get much besides light practice on this course.

Pomona Golf Course is also located minutes away from casinos and entertainment. The course plays to a par of 32 with 2,426 yards at the longest tees. Detailed directions are needed since the golf course is somewhat hard to find if you are not familiar with the area since there are no signs of how to get there along the roads. Credit cards aren't accepted either, cash only.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.3 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.1 stars from 5
Value: 4.0 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.9 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.4 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.0 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 40 Reviews
5 stars:
6
4 stars:
14
3 stars:
11
2 stars:
1
1 stars:
8

recommend this course

31 out of 40 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Pomona"


bpratt111's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/10/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great value, good place for a quick practice round. The nicest staff around!..


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Not my cup of tee"


u000004958779's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/08/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I was in the area so I stopped in. Any resemblance between this place and a golf course are purely coincidental . 9 holes super short, your supposed to play it twice. No thanks 9 was enough for me. The greens were really nice I was surprised. It must be because the people who play here never get on the green to use them. This place is perfect for golfers who just started, ladies, seniors, kids, but I wouldn't call it golf.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Pomona Golf & Country Club on 06/11/2018:

Hello, thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review your experience with us, we truly appreciate your feedback and will certainly pass it along to our team. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our staff at Pomona Golf & Country Club. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the golf experience that you deserve.

"After dropping wife"


Brothermike's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/05/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

If you need to kill a few hours while in the area for example wife goes to Smithville to shop, I go to Pomona to work on game. Never heard anything about this place I found it a nice layout and a good place to work some of the kinks out. Seems like one just shows up, forks over a few bucks and away you go. One other thing, the carts got the best seats ever. I'll be back when in the area.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


Response from Pomona Golf & Country Club on 06/11/2018:

Hello Mike, thank you for reviewing our course, Pomona Golf & Country Club. We strive to provide the best possible customer experience to our golfers, and we apologize if we missed the mark. Your loyalty to our course is valued and we hope you will see improvements the next time you are with us. Thank you for choosing to play our course, in the Pomona, New Jersey area, and we hope to earn your business again soon.

"AWESOME 9 HOLE COURSE"


u351263318's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/05/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

COURSE IS IN GREAT CONDITION. WONDERFUL FAMILY OWNED BUSINESS WITH A GREAT 19th HOLE SERVING DELICIOUS FOOD AND DRINK!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"You Gotta LOVE This Place"


Dag19620's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/12/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

A group of us discovered this place about 4 years ago. we play there just about every weekend.

We LOVE the place, It may be small, but Great Things DO come in small packages.

Yes, the yardages are short, but the layout will challenge you every time. You can play with every club in the bag or only play with three.

The 8th hole has to be the most challenging right behind the 5th.

And of course you have to stop back in for Some Great Food. I highly recommend the Chicken Salad Sandwich, if not a Jumbo Dog.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Greens"


u969872012's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/05/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great greens/ fast when we played

Pace was fantastic


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Great course"



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Highly recommend this course. Awesome value, great pace of play.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



jpapola's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/20/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Nice little course"


spartakiad's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/19/2018
First time playing Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice little course that you have to play at least once. 9 holes, play twice for 18. Most tee boxes were ok, although some were overgrown and needed some trimming. Greens are small, but pretty slow, and bumpy in spots. Most holes are short, but there are some tight doglegs and narrow fairways. Even at $15.49 after taxes and fees for 18 holes with a cart, I think it's a bit overpriced, but I don't mind supporting the local folks. I might play again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


Response from Pomona Golf & Country Club on 04/27/2018:

Hello, thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review your experience with us, we truly appreciate your feedback and will certainly pass it along to our team. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the 5-star experience that you deserve.

"WE LOVE THIS PLACE"


jlrawls44's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/07/2018
Previously played Walked Perfect weather

Reviewed on

My friends and I play here almost every weekend. We generally play only 9 holes then go into the club house and have a great lunch. Some of us are members so we have a ICE COLD DRAFT beer with the great group of people that go to this place. The staff is amazing and friendly. The food is also great although I always have a chilly dog.

If you are a great player or like me play this sport to hang with my buddy's and have fun this is the place.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Good place to go and Practic to tune up clubs that need work"


Daveskriv's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

No pressure just get out and enjoy the fantastic weather and play golf


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u706949142's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/11/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"I liked it"


desal's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/28/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

I liked the course layout. It was very clean. they had just finished aerating the Fairways. this did not present a problem. i played with someone who has played there for years and was telling me all the improvements made and being planned. I would give this course a definite two thumbs up.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course




1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/23/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Pomona Golf & Country Club on 09/25/2017:

Hello, we are sorry to see that you may have had another poor experience at our golf course, Pomona Golf & Country Club. We are always looking to provide our golfers with the best experience possible and any additional feedback will help us to do so. Thank you for reviewing us and we hope to see you again soon.



1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/09/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Pomona Golf & Country Club on 09/25/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Ponoma Golf & Country Club, in the Philadelphia area. We are sorry to see that you may have had a poor customer experience playing our golf course and would like to hear any additional feedback on how we can make improvements for your next round with us. Thank you for golfing with us and we hope to see you again soon.


u825735437's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/08/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Sprinklers on at every t box

Greens air rated couldn't put


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Pomona Golf & Country Club on 09/18/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Pomona Golf & Country Club, in the Philadelphia area. We are sorry to hear that the greens may not have been in the best shape when you played and that the sprinklers were an inconvenience for you. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. It looks like you may have enjoyed the course layout, so we are glad to see that. Thank you for playing our golf course and we hope to see you again soon.

"I'm looking over a four leaf clover!"


u7852203's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/06/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This 9 hole course should just give it up. Bad, bad, bad. I wanted to give it up after the third hole. Clover everywhere. Finding a blade of grass was difficult to find among all the clover. Even the T-boxes were covered with clover. The greens were in terrible shape, diseased, bumpy, and small. Maybe two greens out of the nine holes were decent. Sorry folks I have to be honest. I will never go back. Sad.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Pomona Golf & Country Club on 09/14/2017:

Hello Jerome, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Pomona Golf & Country Club, in the Philadelphia area. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy playing our 9 hole course due to the poor conditions. Your feedback is appreciated so that we know where further improvements can be made. It looks like you had a smooth round and a friendly experience with our staff, so we hope that made your round a little better. Thank you for golfing with us and we hope to earn your business again.


Daveskriv's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/24/2017
Previously played Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Pomona Golf & Country Club on 08/28/2017:

Hello David, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Pomona Golf & Country Club, and for the 3-stars. We are sorry to see that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played, but we are glad to see that you still enjoyed the course layout. It also good to see that you had a friendly experience with our staff and that you had a smooth round. Thank you for feedback on our golf course, in the Philadelphia area, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.



1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/21/2017
Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


Response from Pomona Golf & Country Club on 08/24/2017:

Hello Bill, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Pomona Golf & Country Club, in the Philadelphia area. We are sorry to see that you may have had a poor customer experience with us and that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played. It looks like you may have had a friendlier experience with our staff, so we are glad to see that. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope to earn your business again soon.

"Having fun"


u997678880's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/18/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course for the beginner, layout is very friendly. Greens are small making it interesting for the avid golfer. Staff is very friendly.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed