Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.0
134 Reviews (134)
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
59
3 Stars
30
2 Stars
9
1 Stars
4
Conditions
3.9
Value
3.8
Layout
4.3
Friendliness
4.4
Pace
3.7
Amenities
3.5
87.6%
Recommend this course
115 out of 134 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.0
13 Reviews (13)
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
3.9
Value
3.6
Layout
4.3
Pace
3.8
Amenities
3.3
StaffFriendliness
4.2
84.6%
Recommend this course
11 out of 13 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.2
24 Reviews (24)
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.1
Value
3.9
Layout
4.4
Pace
3.9
Amenities
3.5
StaffFriendliness
4.4
87.5%
Recommend this course
21 out of 24 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public/Municipal
Par 70
Length 6338 yards
Slope 130
Rating 71.8

Sunset Valley Golf Course is consistently ranked as one of the best public courses in New Jersey. It is one of four golf courses in the Morris County Parks system and it's considered the toughest. Located in Pompton Plains, the course is nestled in a wooded valley. It has a dramatic topography that provides plenty of ups and downs throughout the golf course. Golfers can expect a variety of elevation changes as well as a few blind shots and forced carries. Strategically placed bunkers come into play along the fast, undulating greens and mature trees line the rolling fairways. Water hazards come into play on a few holes too. Sunset Valley Golf Course's final three holes present one of the area's toughest finishes. The trio begins with the uphill par-5 16th and then finishes with two long par 4s.

Book a Tee Time at
Sunset Valley Golf Course
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1974
Golf Season Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - $11 - $18
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range No
Teaching Pro Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes

Reviews

4.0
134 Reviews (134)

What Golfers Are Saying

Course Challenges Include:
Elevation Changes 17
Undulating Greens 14
Bunkers 10
This course/club is great for:
Locals 15
Advanced Golfers 9
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 9
This Course's Location is:
In the 'Burbs 14
Convenient to the City 7
Worth the Drive 7

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Fantastic track

my friends and I golf all the time. We are in our mid-30s. Some of us are pretty good, some of us are decent. We have played nearly every single public golf course in and around North Jersey. We are from Morris county, and yes we do have county cards, so we do play at the discounted rate. This is not the best public golf course in North Jersey. But, it is amazing! This is a super fun layout. the first hole is wide open straight away perfect for a golf course that does not offer a driving range. There is quite a bit of elevation change and fun looking holes. I wouldn't say that this is an especially difficult golf course but it is definitely not easy. The 11th hole is a long downhill 329 par four from the blue tees BLIND SHOT DRIVABLE PAR 4. LOVE IT! MAKE YOUR LINE THE RADIO TOWER OUT IN THE DISTANCE AND FADE IT A LITTLE BIT RIGHT! plays about 280.
this place can be a bit challenging on the front nine especially on the first few greens the greens are very fast and slope a lot! figure out exactly where the hills are on the green and keep them where you're putting up hill. This is a course where longish layups can really help you out if you're playing off. But if you're hitting your driver in the fairways you can score low for yourself here. The course conditions for a county course are very good. Not as beautiful as Berkshire county course but less expensive and much less frustrating. This has become my go-to favorite course close to where we live in Morris plains. Love it!
Sunset, if you see this hook me and my boys up with a a round of golf for the glowing review. Lol definitely play this place

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 10/16/2019

This is awesome! We hope you and your buddies come out and play with us again soon. You're doing it right with the Morris County card. Looking forward to having you out again! Thanks!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
3.0
Previously Played

Course Is in ok shape. Tee boxes are in really bad shape and I guess no one who plays here knows how to fix ball marks on the greens. As far as the greens go they are really unfair. Really fast with some horrible pin placements

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 10/16/2019

Thanks for your review. We appreciate your feedback. Our team does a great job at reminding golfers of proper etiquette before they head out to the course. We appreciate your patience as we get all our guests on board with maintaining the course as they play. We hope to see you back again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Excellent Round

Overall, a very nice course. Hole 1 had a temporary green (putting on a fairway?). And I would add that the greens, in general, are trimmed very low making them fast and are a bit sandy. Other than that, it's a pleasure to play.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Great Golf Day

Weather was perfect. Greens are in great shape but the fairways need work. I would definitley play there again.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 10/16/2019

Thank you for your 4 star review. We hope to see you back again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

Nice Course, AWFUL pace of play

Have played this course many, many times. Usually my rule of thumb is to not play after 8:30 because it is an automatic 5+ hour round. A big part of it is the driveable par 4 followed by a par 3, which is understandable.

But last week when I played at 7:30 there it was a 5 hour round, which is really unacceptable. They let out 3 groups for an 'outing' all the time at 7 am on a Saturday and they are very slow players. Makes zero sense.

The rangers tried to speed them up but this course has a big pace issue overall.

Layout of the course is great with some easy and some hard holes, but the round time is a killer.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Poor
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 08/20/2019

Hello, thanks for your review. We understand your frustration and have been working on ways to improve pace of play throughout the year. Going forward, we will continue to try to improve this and will re-evaluate at the end of the year for future seasons. We hope to see you again soon, and that you have a great day!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 10/16/2019

Thank you for your 5 star review. We hope you come to visit us again soon at Sunset Valley GC.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Bunch of bozos

Inconsiderate set of 3 foursomes playing best ball for $$. Refused to listen to the rangers. 5.5 hour round. Got a refund, but wont be back.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 07/24/2019

So sorry that you had that experience. We're sorry to hear that you won't be back. We hope that you change your mind in that we did all that we can to help mitigate the situation. Please reach out to us directly at info@sunsetvalleygc.com if you have any other concerns.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Previously Played

Pricey for Out of County

I think this is a nice course and have played here a few times.

My only knock is that if you live out of county they are overcharged relative to what the course is truly worth.

This may be by design to cut down on the number of people it in my opinion.

Too many options in the same tier that are $50 total with cart to play.

Conditions Average
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 500 Contributor
Previously Played

Slow

Greens were slow and pace of play was extremely slow; took almost 5 hours!
Fairways and cart paths need repairs

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Fair
Amenities Fair
Default User Image
Commented on 07/24/2019

Thanks for your honest review. We take your feedback seriously and want to ensure you that pace of play is top of mind for us. We do our best to have rangers out on the course. We hope to see you back sometime soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 07/24/2019

Thank you for your review! We hope to see you again sometime soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 07/24/2019

We appreciate your feedback and want to thank you for your review! Come back and visit us again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 07/24/2019

Thank you for your review! We hope to see you again sometime soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 500 Contributor
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Walked

Tough green

Sunset is an excellent course with very challenged green. It is more of county course with professional layout and setup.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 05/13/2019

Thank you for your review! We hope to see you again sometime soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 05/13/2019

Thank you for your review! We hope to see you again sometime soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 05/13/2019

Thank you for your review! We hope to see you again sometime soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

A HIDDEN GEM

A GREAT DAY AT SUNSET VALLEY. GREENS ARE FANTASTIC AND VERY VERY FAST!!!! 4 HOUR AND 15 MINUTE ROUND. THIS COURSE HAS ONE OF THE TOUGHEST FINAL THREE HOLES IN NEW JERSEY!! A MUST PLAY !!!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 05/13/2019

Thank you for your review! We hope to see you again sometime soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing

Highly Recommended

This was my first time at Sunset and I was not disappointed at all. Solid course layout and conditions were great. Staff was friendly as well. Looking forward to being back.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 05/13/2019

Thank you for your review! We hope to see you again sometime soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Nearby Courses
Lincoln Park, New Jersey
3.0367647059
20
Lincoln Park, New Jersey
3.5
2
Bloomingdale, New Jersey
1.0
1
Wayne, New Jersey
0.0
0
Lincoln Park, New Jersey
3.1947882353
295
Parsippany, New Jersey
4.7145
31
Parsippany, New Jersey
3.3011571429
89
Wayne, New Jersey
5.0
1
North Caldwell, New Jersey
0.0
0

Stay & Play Offers

From $350
Valid dates: Jan 21, 2020 - Jan 31, 2022
Stay at Solitude Inn on the Green and play one of the best course in SE Michigan, Solitude Links Golf Course. Learn more.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE