River Vale Country Club

3.9269882353 3.9 stars from 5 (196)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6504 yards
  • Slope: 132
  • Rating: 71.4
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Singles allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire at all times. No jeans, torn clothing or jogging shorts. Shirts must have collars and sleeves
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6504 yards 71.4 132
White 72 6168 yards 69.7 129
Gold 72 5892 yards 68.7 126
Red (W) 72 5378 yards 74.9 128

River Vale Country Club sprawls across the gently rolling hills of northeast New Jersey. It has been ranked on Golf Digest's list of "Best Places to Play," but it still manages to remain one of Bergen County's most well kept secrets. You'll hardly ever run into crowds on this golf course. The layout has a classic design that incorporates a variety of elevation changes. Tricky uphill and downhill lies will be your biggest challenge on this layout. Strategically placed bunkers lurk beside the greensides and there are several holes where water hazards come into play, including the par-5 fifth, which has a lake on either side of the green. River Vale a tight golf course that demands accuracy and while it's not overly formidable, your skills will definitely be put to the test.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.9 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.9 stars from 5
Value: 3.8 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.9 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.8 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 196 Reviews
5 stars:
42
4 stars:
112
3 stars:
24
2 stars:
13
1 stars:
5

recommend this course

167 out of 196 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is in the 'burbs convenient to the city worth the drive   Great for locals advanced golfers a weekend splurge   Challenges include bunkers elevation changes thick rough   Great for drinks dinner brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Worth a GolfNow rate"


19242154350214233519's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/26/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

Overseas visitor and 1st time golfing in New Jersey.

Course was surprisingly appealing for this time of the year full aeration done 3 weeks ago and course has come back nicely, should be a treat in 2-3 weeks with growth. The round was 4 hours 15 as a 2ball on a Thursday. The course is not long but demands you think your way round , only hit 6 Drivers so not a bombers course. Would I play it again - yes


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Worth the money"


greglo's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/20/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is in the best shape I’ve seen it in in many years. Greens are fast but true. Enjoyed the round immensely. Play early or it can really get slowed down. Started at 650 finished by 1015


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



edhenick's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/18/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



rogerv's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/14/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course



young1380004's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/12/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great course"


u5139903's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/10/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Some thinking and club selection off the tee required. Eventually I’ll learn to keep the driver in the bag on a couple of holes and layup on 9 after a bad drive.

Great course in excellent condition.

Sunday afternoon round with some light rain and no ranger to be found when the two groups ahead of us fell behind. I showed the slow group ahead of us on the GPS display how far behind they were and while no one could speak English at that moment they did pickup the pace.

I can understand the lack of a ranger on a $35 muni in these conditions but not at a premium course. Two greens fees pays for a ranger in the afternoon - don’t tell someone not to come in because it’s a little slow.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Slow"


joeyv1234's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/08/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Took 5 hours. Not happy about time. Course was challenging. Greens were formatible


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great day....nice conditions"


strangefire's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/07/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Had a great loop after work on a perfect day in June. The course was in top notch condition. The greens were in excellent shape. The starter was friendly and accommodating. The sand on the front nine was excellent, but a few were dirty on the back. Overall it was an excellent experience.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"By far nicest public course in Bergen County"


u000004392660's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/03/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

New greenskeeper has put the course in the best condition in several years. Town continues to make improvements to course and clubhouse. Nicest staff you will find at any golf course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



u000005159167's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/27/2018
Previously played Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Can’t believe it’s not a private club"


u5139903's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/26/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It looks and feels like a country club. Very enjoyable and a great value through golf now.

The greens were firm but I able to stop my approach shots on the green even with a hard ball. Putts ran fast and true.

Fairways were in very good condition.

Not overly long but there are sloped fairways and elevation changes which make accuracy and shot selection more important than distance.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great condition and layout, and many course improvements !"


wvj525's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/26/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

I have been playing this semi private course for over 25 years, and the overall condition of the course is the best it has been in many years, with greens that are on par with many of the private courses in the northern NJ area.

The course itself has a great challenging layout, but is also set up to be fair test of golf for all skill levels and abilities.

During the past few years the management of RVCC has made significant improvements to the course including better maintained fairways and redesigned bunkers, and improved rough areas and cart paths. They have also added new carts this year with GPS and pace of play capabilities.

The clubhouse has a full bar, restaurant, pro-shop, and full locker rooms with showers. Practice facilities include a driving range, chipping and putting green.

In summary, if you are looking for a great golfing experience without the cost and commitment of a private country club, I highly recommend that you choose RVCC for your next round of golf.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Awesome layout"


nbryden's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/25/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

For such a small footprint, this course provides an excellent variety of holes - it i not a back and forth layout. Greens are the course's protection - regardless of pin placement, 1/4 is good, 2/4 are ok, 1/4 is no chance. Requires course management and provides a true challenge to the thinking golfer. A little too short.

Course conditions: Greens good, Fairways adequate for a public course, Rough patchy & disappointing..

Overall: excellent layout, good challenge and a pleasure to play..


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Back to it’s hay day"


schlamadog's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/25/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have played this course many times and have seen the conditions go from very good to not very good. And not a good value.. That has changed last Friday May 25 2018 the conditions where the best I can remember and you could see they were still working on the course . I can’t wait to go back


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Course has been upgraded"


timpark6's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/24/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Maintenance of the course has been upgraded. It was a pleasure to play with my friends. We got great deal thru golfnow and definitely recommend you to play if you are looking for decent golf course for fair price around NYC area. I would go back there and play this year again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Fabulous golf course"


u000005011822's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/17/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I’ve been playing this course since I started playing golf in 1980. It’s still my favorite course. It’s always been well maintained but even more so now since the Town has purchased it. Very much like country club conditions. They’ve made some renovations to the clubhouse and driving range and some changes to the course itself. All for the better. Brought a guest who had never played there before. He couldn’t stop raving about it. Highly recommend playing this course, especially if you can get a golf now deal. It’s a bit pricey otherwise but still worthy of the cost to play it once.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Worth the play and money"


u269262757's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/15/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Course is in excellent condition with the greens coming in really well. Still some sand on them but mostly green with little to no punch marks seen. Greens are tough though with ton or breaks. Fairways are pristine. I went out as a solo and had 2 twosomes ahead that moved really well so pace of play was great. Nice hidden gem and will definitely return in the near future.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Rivervale Experience"


earldunn's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/09/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very good as usual. Green press were fast and consistent. Greens were too firm to accept a well hit iron. Pace of play was great.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u000005467119's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/08/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"great course"


sruben's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/07/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Ahhh! Don't tell anybody?about this place. Good layout decent pace during the week if there is no outing in front. Ugly tired range balls


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



sruben's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/07/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed