Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
1.8
27 Reviews (27)
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
4
1 Stars
4
Conditions
2.5
Value
4.1
Layout
3.4
Friendliness
4.3
Pace
3.9
Amenities
2.5
26.9%
Recommend this course
18 out of 27 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
0
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
0
Value
0
Layout
0
Friendliness
0
Pace
0
Amenities
0
0%
Recommend this course
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
1.0
1 Reviews (1)
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
1
0%
Recommend this course
1 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 9
Type Public
Par 36
Length 3132 yards
Slope 122
Rating 35.3

Course Details

Year Built 1956
Golf Season Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No

Reviews

1.8
27 Reviews (27)
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a month
1.0
Previously Played
Used cart

No longer has a full course

Tara Greens no longer has a full course to play , Starting in April 2019 they re opened but the course has been sold . Not sure if they have any plans on re opening the full course

Difficulty Fairly Easy
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Top 100 Contributor
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Challenging course layout

The staff members were great; the course layout was interesting; typical straight layout on the par 4 holes, but the two par 5s were quite interesting; one had about. 70 degree turn wto the left with trees protecting that portion of the fairway which required hitting over or through some very mature trees; the next par 5 which was immediately after the first was a curved 600+ yard hole that required very long shots just to reach the green; it was a fun round that could have been more enjoyable if the greens were not quite as shaggy, but it was a fun round that played fast except for the elderly walker who challenged that I had better get through the twosome in front of him because he wasn’t going to play behind them and me; needless to say, I got through the twosome and didn’t see the gentleman until I was already rounding for the second nine and he was finishing #7.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Top 500 Contributor
New Jersey Advisor
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Fun Casual Course but Course Conditions may disappoint

First, I struggled on the question "Would you recommend to friends" and decided "No" because most of my golf friends would not be happy with the course conditions. I wish GolfAdvisor had option for various types of players.

If you just want to have fun with a friend and don't care about a perfectly manicured course then Tara Green is for you. Or maybe you just want to practice your swing but don't care about less than great fairways or bumpy greens. Note: some of the greens were in great shape some were not.

The layout of the course is interesting with some doglegs and long holes that will challenge you but the course conditions take away from some of the fun. I get they probably want to keep the price down but with a bit more investment in the condition of the course, they might find more golfers playing their course.

For example, even if you hit a perfect straight long drive down the middle of the "fairway" on the longest hole (#7) you ball will not be in short grass. They really take the fun out of a great drive by having crappy grass in the landing area (this was the experience for me and the guy I played with that hit the ball a mile). In fact, it is puzzling (on some holes) they way they cut the grass but my guess is that they are working with what they have within their budget.

Overall, I would rather pay a few more bucks or look for deals on GolfNow for courses in the area with better course conditions

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

I learned to play golf on this 9 hole course15 years ago. It has not changed much. You play the course twice. There are some 9 hole courses that do not extend that privledge. Some charge double the price to play 18, not Tara greens. They do what is in their budget to keep the conditions enjoyable. I am sure that it must be challenging for them to compete with the 18 hole courses.There are many geese in the area between the 2nd and 8th holes. The 6th and 7th holes are challenging. The bunkers need work, some I use my putter to get out. Over all it is a fun place to play without pressure. The course keeps you straight on your shots. The staff is very friendly. Try it, you’ll like it.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
1cccd87d-a29f-502e-b615-4b1a6cc3f218
Commented on 06/04/2018

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a four star review of Tara Greens. We are happy that you have fun playing here. - Alexa of appliedgolf management at Tara Greens

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Poor
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Fairly Easy
1cccd87d-a29f-502e-b615-4b1a6cc3f218
Commented on 06/04/2018

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Tara Greens. We hope to see you again soon! - Alexa of appliedgolf management at Tara Greens

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Fair
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Average
1cccd87d-a29f-502e-b615-4b1a6cc3f218
Commented on 06/04/2018

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Tara Greens. We hope to see you again soon! - Alexa of appliedgolf management at Tara Greens

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

It is okay to be a practice course.

I only play here when the rate is less than $15. I figure it is better to come here than going to a driving rage for the same money. The greens are horrible here.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
1cccd87d-a29f-502e-b615-4b1a6cc3f218
Commented on 06/04/2018

Hello. Thank you for playing Tara Greens. Our staff continually aims for improving the playing conditions of the course. We apologize that you felt the greens were horrible. We hope that you return to give us another chance as we continually improve the conditions of the course. Thank you. - Alexa C. of appliedgolf management at Tara Greens”

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Wet weather
Walked

Nice pratice course!

The course prohibited motorized carts on this day because of wet conditions due to heavy rain 2 days prior. They let me take a pull cart for free since the tee time included a cart. Some very challenging holes, especially 5-7 (625 yd par 5). All the greens were in nice shape. Many people were hitting multiple shots or playing 'best ball' by themselves. Low key golf experience, good to take a beginner out during slow times. Also has a driving range and Pitch & Putt Course on the grounds.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
1cccd87d-a29f-502e-b615-4b1a6cc3f218
Commented on 06/04/2018

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a four star review of Tara Greens. We are happy that you enjoyed your day with us. - Alexa of appliedgolf management at Tara Greens

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Best value

Simple 9 hole course 2 par 3s 2 par 5s and the rest par 4.
Nice course for beginners and high handicappers well maintained great pace of play and a solid driving range.
Can't beat the value here for a solid day on the course.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
1cccd87d-a29f-502e-b615-4b1a6cc3f218
Commented on 11/30/2017

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a four star review of Tara Greens. We are happy that you enjoyed your day with us. - Alexa of appliedgolf management at Tara Greens

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Good course for the money

I have played at Tara Greens for many years.The fairways are a little barren.However they keep the greens in good shape and thats all that matters.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Difficulty Extremely Easy
1cccd87d-a29f-502e-b615-4b1a6cc3f218
Commented on 11/30/2017

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Tara Greens. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your round with our greens in good shape! We hope to see you again soon! - Alexa of appliedgolf management at Tara Greens

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Course is well maintained fairway are dry greens are well watered it gets better every time I'm there

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
1cccd87d-a29f-502e-b615-4b1a6cc3f218
Commented on 10/30/2017

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Tara Greens. We are continuing to improve the conditions of the bunkers and fairways and appreciate that you've noticed these improvements. As we just started managing the course in April, we hope that you visit again in the near future to see more continual updates! - Alexa of appliedgolf management at Tara Greens

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Couse has some interesting holes.

I have been playing this course the last 2 years, play about twice a week...This year there have been vast improvements to the tee boxes and greens...some holes are getting nice approached to the greens...fairways are good...some spotty areas, which i think will be corrected next year...staff is friendly and will continue to play here...

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
1cccd87d-a29f-502e-b615-4b1a6cc3f218
Commented on 10/30/2017

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a four star review of Tara Greens. We are continuing to improve the conditions of the bunkers and fairways. As we just started managing the course in April, we hope that you visit again in the near future to see more continual updates! - Alexa of appliedgolf management at Tara Greens

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Good Value

I enjoyed the Round.its 9 holes that you play twice,a little unusual but I enjoyed it.the staff are excellent and I will return soon

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Fair
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
1cccd87d-a29f-502e-b615-4b1a6cc3f218
Commented on 10/30/2017

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Tara Greens. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your round as well as interactions with the staff. We can't wait to see you when you return! - Alexa of appliedgolf management at Tara Greens

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Beginner
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Good value for the money

I go to Tara golf a few times a week
They had a miniature golf, driving range, pitch & putts and 9 hole golf.
It is perfect to play golf with family

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Getting better

Tara Greens had fallen on hard times. It now has new management and it is beginning to show. Greens are in good shape, tee boxes are fine, and many of the bunkers now have sand. On the downside the fairways are a bit shabby and some of the bunkers are awful. The course layout is a fair test for your game. Tara Greens is a good place to practice your game and to play a fairly quick round. Bottom line is that the course is fun to play and with continued improvements will only get better.

Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Poor
Difficulty Moderate
1cccd87d-a29f-502e-b615-4b1a6cc3f218
Commented on 10/30/2017

Hello. Thank you for playing Tara Greens. Our staff continually aims for improving the playing conditions of the course. As we are relatively new to the course and just started managing the facility in April, we are currently focusing on improving greens, tees, and fairways. In the future, we plan to address the bunkers. We hope that you return to give us another chance as we continually improve the conditions of the course. Thank you. - Alexa C. of appliedgolf management at Tara Greens

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Good course for the money

The greens are looking great, but the fairways have a way to go.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Average
1cccd87d-a29f-502e-b615-4b1a6cc3f218
Commented on 09/08/2017

Hello, Thank you for visiting Tara Greens. In order to better serve you and our customers, could you provide additional details on your rating? Thank you - Alexa C. - appliedgolf management of Tara Greens Golf Center

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Twice a year
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Fair
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Amenities Average
1cccd87d-a29f-502e-b615-4b1a6cc3f218
Commented on 09/05/2017

Hello, Thank you for visiting Tara Greens. In order to better serve you and our customers, could you provide details on your rating? Thank you - Alexa C. - appliedgolf management of Tara Greens Golf Center

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Horrible shape, Cheap greens fees

Greens are rock hard, fairways are rock hard, rough is rock hard, i hit a PW on to the green and it bounced 25 feet in the air.
No drinking water on the course. There was no difference between the rough and fairway, it was just weeds everywhere.

On the plus side, the carts are fast, nobody was on the course, and it was 13 dollars to pay, a good place for a first time golfer who has no comparison to another course.

Conditions Poor
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
1cccd87d-a29f-502e-b615-4b1a6cc3f218
Commented on 08/08/2017

“Hello. Thank you for playing Tara Greens. Our staff continually aims for improving the playing conditions of the course. As we are relatively new to the course and just started managing the facility in April, we are currently focusing on improving greens, tees, fairways and bunkers. We hope that you return to give us another chance as we continually improve the conditions of the course. Thank you. - Alexa C. of appliedgolf management at Tara Greens”

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Fair
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Poor
1cccd87d-a29f-502e-b615-4b1a6cc3f218
Commented on 07/31/2017

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a four star review of Tara Greens. Hope to see you again soon! - Alexa of appliedgolf management at Tara Greens

Was this comment useful to you?
Nearby Courses
Somerset, New Jersey
1.8169882353
27
Somerset, New Jersey
4.1645941176
220
Somerset, New Jersey
4.1254764706
241
Piscataway, New Jersey
4.2985411765
28
East Brunswick, New Jersey
2.9411764706
32
East Brunswick, New Jersey
2.4019411765
42
Princeton, New Jersey
3.9220176471
251
Hillsborough, New Jersey
3.8875352941
217
Hillsborough, New Jersey
3.8875352941
217
Belle Mead, New Jersey
4.2464588235
445

Stay & Play Offers

From $100
Valid dates: Dec 05, 2019 - Nov 01, 2020
Escape to Tennessee's 'Hidden Gem' RiverWatch Golf Club with the perfect Stay and Play Package, starting at $100/night for lodging and UNLIMITED golf.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE