Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.1
49 Reviews (49)
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.4
Value
4.3
Layout
4.2
Friendliness
4.4
Pace
3.9
Amenities
3.7
84.9%
Recommend this course
43 out of 49 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
5.0
2 Reviews (2)
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
5.0
Value
5.0
Layout
5.0
Pace
5.0
Amenities
5.0
StaffFriendliness
5.0
100.0%
Recommend this course
2 out of 2 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.0
10 Reviews (10)
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.4
Value
4.4
Layout
4.2
Pace
3.7
Amenities
3.8
StaffFriendliness
4.6
80.0%
Recommend this course
8 out of 10 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public/Municipal
Par 72
Length 6470 yards
Slope 123
Rating 72.0
Book a Tee Time at
Town of Wallkill Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1991
Fairways Rye Grass
Greens Rye Grass
Golf Season Open: 3/15 Closed: 11/30
Architect Steve Esposito (1991)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Metal Spikes Allowed No
Dress code Proper attire is required.

Reviews

4.1
49 Reviews (49)
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
2.0
First Time Playing

Slow pace of play, didn’t finish our round

Pace of play was so slow that we could not even finish our round. When we asked the pro shop to stop after nine and we were told all they would do is a rain check. We were traveling and would not have any use for a rain check so we tried to finish. Played 3 holes on the back nine in and hour so we decided to call it.

Greens were also long and slow. Fairways were wet as well.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Fair
Default User Image
Commented on 08/23/2019

Hello, thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear the pace of play was slow and you were unable to complete your round. We will address the situation and look for solutions going forward so this doesn't happen again. We hope you enjoyed your travels and hope to see you again. If you have any other questions or concerns, please email us at info@townofwallkillgolfclub.com. Thanks, and have a great day!

Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
2.0
First Time Playing

Awful pace of play: Did not finish our round

I will start with the good. Starter was great went out early, tees and greens were in great shape, views were great.

Ok for the rest. Greens were slow but not awful. I assume due to the high volume of play they keep them long. Every tee shot and some second (par 5s) are blind making it hard to play for the first time. Play to smart locations that are in front of you and take par not a lot of birdie holes.

Pace of play was awful. I play with a large group on Sundays (Soaring Eagles) and we walk 18 holes (6600 yrds) in 3.5 hrs routinely. We played as a twosome on a Saturday morning (10a tee off) so I expected to wait but to be able to play 18 in around 4 hours. We played the front in just over 2 hours . When we reached 10 we found the twosome in front of us waiting and the foursome in front of them teeing off. We assume they stopped for food but don’t really know. I asked the pro shop if we could just play nine and get a refund, that was declined. I was told pace of play was 4.5 hours and we were on that pace. We had a wedding to attend so we started the back 9 knowing we could not finish. We played 3 holes over the next hour and left. The 2 groups behind us also left early with no refund.

Great course, decent price but not managed well. I hope they can get pace of play under control so people can enjoy the course.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Fair
Default User Image
Commented on 08/23/2019

Hello, thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear the pace of play was slow and you were unable to complete your round. We will address the situation and look for solutions going forward so this doesn't happen again. We hope you enjoyed your travels and hope to see you again. If you have any other questions or concerns, please email us at info@townofwallkillgolfclub.com. Thanks, and have a great day!

Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Excellent

It is an excellent course. Set me up with a pair of walk ons which was good so I didnt play solo. Course is in great shape well maintained. Only thing is they were correcting some of the sand traps will we were playing which was a little bot distracting. One hole is almost 600 yds. Only saw the beverage cart one time on the 7th and never saw it again which was disappointing.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 08/23/2019

Hi Rob, thank you so much for your review. We value your feedback, and hope to see you back soon. Have a great day!

Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing

If you can play this course, play it.

Booked tee times based off of GN reviews. I was not disappointed. Starter was very friendly and got us out early. Course was very scenic and in good condition. Greens played a little slower than I’m used to, but not horrible. Never saw a group I front or behind us. Layout favors accurately placed shots. Not very long, but we’ll designed. I will definitely play again when I’m in the area.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 07/24/2019

Thanks for your review, Joe. We are happy that you enjoyed your time here with us and had a great experience. Hope to see you back again soon.

Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
New York Advisor
Previously Played
Cold weather
Used cart

Early Season Value

Course conditions outstanding despite wet cold springtime in NY. Greens, tees and fairways all in very good condition for this time of year. The afternoon deal for 20 bucks with cart is a great value. In the past not a big fan of the course due to a few quirky holes. However, due to the condition and value will be back!!! Big shout out to Town of Wallkill staff and grounds crew.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Image
Commented on 07/30/2019

Thank you for your review. We are so glad our course conditions met alll your expectations. Looking foward to seeing you again soon!

Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart

Wet but Nice

They are friendly and you will not find anyplace nicer for the cost...Not long so fun for all

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Image
Commented on 07/30/2019

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon!

Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Good course

Overall a solid golf course. Definitely a challenging one. Some difficult bends to play and a long course in general so you gotta be warmed up with the driver for most the tees. Staff was friendly and accommodating we had no problems at all.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 07/30/2019

Thank you for your review. We are delighted our staff met your expectations and appreciate your feedback. Hope to see you again soon!

Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Early season golf

The course was in great shape! The pace was slow today!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 07/30/2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!

Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

We got lucky

We wanted to play a round during our road trip to the Jets game.

We got luck finding this course

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 10/16/2019

Thanks for your 5 star review. We appreciate you taking the time during your roadtrip to MetLife to visit us. J-E-T-S Jets Jets Jets! Best of luck my friend! Hope you make the trip again soon.

Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Greens are Rolling....

Wallkill golf course is in great shape. Hats off to the entire grounds keepers.. and I will be there again tomorrow....

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

course is in great shape.Great time love to play this course.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Great layout. Course was in great shape.

I've played the course many times. The only issue I have eve had here was the greens. The were always unbearably slow. There is a new management company running the course and I was pleasantly surprised at how nice the greens were. It's been raining here for the past two weeks, so the course was soaked, but the greens (and the course) was in great shape. Loved every minute of the it.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Extremely Challenging
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Good Public Track

Little wet - not unexpected with all the rain lately. Conditions were good. Greens are slow. Fire at the pins and play half the break you see on putts.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great layout

Cart path only due to rain before, greens were great just a little slow. The pace of play was 5 hours and no staff monitoring it through out the day.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Poor
Amenities Fair
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

All Challenging Holes

The course is well laid out so that the pace of play is good. From the 1st tee to the last, each hole is different and offers new challenges. The par 3s are well designed and the par 5s have their own challenge. The staff is very friendly and the small restaurant serves tasty food. The cost to play a round is reasonable and they will be getting electric golf carts with GPS soon. We play here a few times a month and enjoy each round.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Nearby Courses
Middletown, New York
5.0
2
Montgomery, New York
4.6627647059
113
Montgomery, New York
4.1279333333
71
Campbell Hall, New York
0.0
0
Montgomery, New York
2.4285714286
3
Johnson, New York
4.2857142857
3
Westtown, New York
0.0
0
Ellenville, New York
1.8329411765
29
Walden, New York
0.0
0
Ellenville, New York
4.0
10

Stay & Play Offers

From $241
Valid dates: Mar 02, 2020 - May 24, 2020
Experience extraordinary play on five fully renovated championship courses boasting pristine conditions. This spring, villa accommodations start at just $241/person/night—or you can upgrade to The Sanctuary from $453/person/night (midweek).
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE