Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
3.6
35 Reviews (35)
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
15
2 Stars
3
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.2
Value
4.3
Layout
4.2
Friendliness
3.7
Pace
4.3
Amenities
2.7
98.2%
Recommend this course
30 out of 35 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
0
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
0
Value
0
Layout
0
Friendliness
0
Pace
0
Amenities
0
0%
Recommend this course
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
0
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
0
Value
0
Layout
0
Friendliness
0
Pace
0
Amenities
0
0%
Recommend this course
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Par 71
Length 6495 yards
Slope 114
Rating 70.7

Course Details

Year Built 1908
Golf Season Open: 4/15 Closed: 11/01

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Proper attire is required.

Food & Beverage

Snacks

Reviews

3.6
35 Reviews (35)

What Golfers Are Saying

This course/club is great for:
Locals 9
9-Hole Rounds 7
Beginners 7
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 9
Near the Airport 7

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 25+
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Walked

Nice Course

so happy that the course are up to date, green are perfect
like to play again when the weather permit

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Fairly Easy
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

Good value, not much else

I play at a lot of country clubs and play varsity golf for high school and this year I got a pass to play the local muni courses which included Genesee and Durand. Maybe it’s because of the caliber of course I’m used to playing in tournaments but it is just such a boring layout at Genesee. The greens are maintained ok but ur not gonna get much bite from longer shots like you would at a high end CC. I had a pass to play all I want for $100 and it was a steal. I played about 5 rounds a week over the summer and feel like I set myself up great for my upcoming season. The $100 pass deal for juniors is amazing but do beware that playing at Genesse doesn’t provide much of a challenge other than length, and the layout is so boring. Every hole is a straight shot to the green and provides very little opportunity to think around the course. On every hole the game plan is aim down the middle, go for pins and if I hit a good shot then it’s a birdie putt (and the greens hardly have any break) or get up and down bc there’s no bunkers to avoid. Durand provides a much more entertaining and thought out round of golf and it’s owned by the same people so it costs just as much.

Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Fair
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Played On
Reviews 15
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Cold weather
Used cart

End of season

Lightly used on a Friday because of chilly conditions, the pace of play allowed for a three hour round. The greens were in very good condition, not aerated and sanded yet.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 4
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Poor
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

Home Course!!!

The challenges of larger golf courses always make me long for playing the Home Course! It's where I can get my MOJO back.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 6
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Used cart

conditions were quite nice

the Course was in very nice shape. the greens were awesome.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Layout of the course

The overall layout of the course is poor. Minimal signs from hole to hole and going from north 9 to north 10 was confusing. I'd like to see more signs. Overall I like the course.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Poor
Friendliness Average
Pace Fair
Amenities Poor
Response from on 09/08/2017:
Hello Chris, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Genesee Valley Golf Course - North, and for the 3-stars. We are sorry to hear that you did not like the course layout and your feedback is appreciated so that we know we can improve the directions on the course. We are glad that you had an overall enjoyable experience playing our golf course. Thank you for choosing our course, in the Western New York area, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Played On
Reviews 6
Handicap 15-19
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Response from on 09/06/2017:
Hello Lorraine, thank you for taking the time to review our golf course, Genesee Valley Golf Course - North, and for the 3-stars. We are glad to see that the course was in good shape when you played, and we hope you enjoyed the course layout. It also looks like your round was a great value for you, so we are glad to see that. Thank you for choosing our course, in the Western New York area, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Default User Image
Anonymous
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Fairways are great

The overall condition of the course was in the best shape I have seen it. The greens rolled very even.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Ok

Nothing special it's an old course. Fairways were not great, but the greens were pretty good.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Excellent
Response from on 08/29/2017:
Hello Art, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Genesee Valley Golf Course - North, and for the 3-stars. We are sorry to hear that the fairways may not have been in the best shape when you played, but we are happy to hear that you still enjoyed the greens. It also looks like you had a friendly experience with our staff and that your round was a great value for you, so we are glad to see that. Thank you for choosing our golf course, in the Western New York area, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Played On
Reviews 5
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Walked

Nice course, greens

The change in this course over the pat 2 years is tremendous. The greens are very good. Fairways are improving but still need a little work. Overall the course is in very good shape and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a good round.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Genesee Valley

I would not recommend this course to anyone. The rough was uncut, there were singles and twosomes playing in front of us with no ranger on the course ensuring pace of play. The round took 5 and a half hours and the couple waters that were on the course were like drinking hot water out of a tap. Though through GOLFNOW we got a discounted rate, it was not a good value due to the lack of attention to the course and its patrons from the staff. Will never return.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Difficulty Moderate
Response from on 08/04/2017:
Hello there, we are sorry to hear that we missed the mark on your recent visit to our course, Genesee Valley Golf Course. Your feedback is helpful to us, regarding the pace of play. We hope that you will give us the chance to earn your business again.
Played On
Reviews 4
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart

Solid experience

I've played here many times but this was the first time with my 2 sons who are 9 and 11. We all enjoyed playing. The area had received a lot of rain the morning before and it showed. The course was very wet and soft and muddy in areas. Also on the back 9, the wind seemed to be into us on most holes and with the soft conditions, I was playing for bogey most of the time. The back 9 has some seriously long Par 4's and Par 5's from the blue tees and the front 9 has 3 Par 3's that are 200+, so the course plays long from the blue tees, about 6,500 yards. I know it's been said before but there is only 1 sand trap on the course, on the last hole. However, I play a lot of muni-type courses and it seems like the sand traps are the last thing the course works on so they are often in poor condition. Maybe it's for the better then that there is only 1. By the way, from the red tees is 5,400 yards which played very long for my son as well. We both shot 83. The price is great and the practice facilities are great as well. We will be back, probably in a little drier conditions!

Conditions Fair
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Response from on 08/07/2017:
Chad, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Genesee Valley Golf Course - North. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our staff, pace of play, and layout. We hope that you will give us the chance to earn your business again soon.
Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from on 07/26/2017:
Hi Harry, thank you for taking the time to rate our course, Genesee Valley Golf Course - North. We are glad to see that you enjoyed the staff, layout, and pace of play. We hope that you'll give us the chance to earn your business again in the Rochester area soon.
Played On
Reviews 5
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Previously Played

Expect to be here for a bit

Ive been here a few times now and wanted to give them the benefit of the doubt before my review. Let me start of by saying that it is a fun course to play on that your average golfer wont have too much difficulty with but a better one can have some fun from the blue tees. It is an older course so dont expect anything too crazy to be thrown your way but there are definetly some tricky spots if you mess up. Greens are maintained well and theres not any major damage to them or things like crabgrass and weeds ad are the fairways so expect.decent conditions with those. Staff is friendly and responds to any questions or concerns and out of the city courses this one seems to be in the best shape as its in a better location and more protected from the elements. However some spots do need to be filled in a little bit and leveled out to avoid standing water as drainage is an issue in spots which from all the rain this year has created temporary ponds that are now completely diseased out with patch leaf spot blight etc. As they dry out. Course could use a few bunkers to make it a little more interesting. Also another problem which I always consider a big one is the pace of play. Dont expect to play this place in 4 hours on a typical day. People wont let you by and theres no ranger out to help the process along for 2 somes stuck behind 4 somes despite the fact its the 2nd course rule on the scorecard which has happened the last 2 times Ive been there to the point where the 1st time we called the clubhouse and last time we skipped the long par 5 15th cause the 2 groups in front of us werent halfway done with the hole and we were sick of waiting so that definetly should be worked on some. Otherwise I enjoyed myself and probably will end up coming back in the future for another round and to check out their pro shop which is always fun to look through. I give it a solid 3 stars though its probably a 3.5 if it was possible to rate that

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Amenities Average
Response from on 08/01/2017:
Hello Justin, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Genesee Valley Golf Course - North in the Western New York area. We appreciate your detailed feedback so that further improvements can be made, particularly on the slow pace of play. We are happy to hear that you enjoy playing our course and your loyalty is valued. Thank you for the 3 star review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Played On
Reviews 68
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Top 250 Contributor
Previously Played

Public course

This is a municipal course. But it is very good. Tough for the average golfer as there are a few 400 yd holes that are Par 4's. We played after a LOT of rain. Course drained OK, not a lot of standing water. But the rough was a bit tall as the mow crew had all they could do to keep the fairways and greens in good shape. Which they did. Helps knowing the course ahead of time so you have an idea where to hit the ball off the tee. Distances can be deceiving to the eye.
Have played there every time I visit Rochester area. Good place to play. Looking forward to playing there again.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Course in much better conditions than years before. Hope that everyone continue to keep it in good shape as it is a public and county course. Thanks

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Fun Golf Course

Fun golf course near the airport. Greens were good and staff was friendly. I play this course again.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

Friendly courteous staff.

The staff is great. Early year play was wet. The course has many low spot that accumulated water that made ball placement tough. The holes are mainly straight which makes for good practice.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Nearby Courses
Rochester, New York
Private
4.9166666667
3
Pittsford, New York
Private
5.0
1
Henrietta, New York
Public
0.0
0
Rochester, New York
Private
5.0
1
Rochester, New York
Private
4.8571428571
3
Rochester, New York
Private
5.0
1
Rochester, New York
Private
3.6667
3
Rochester, New York
Public
2.0
1
West Henrietta, New York
Public
2.0
1
Pittsford, New York
Private
5.0
2
Rochester, New York
Private
0.0
0

Stay & Play Offers

From $119
Valid dates: Sep 01, 2020 - Feb 28, 2021
The Las Vegas Paiute Golf Resort is proud to partner with MGM Resorts to provide you with an incredible Las Vegas trip.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE