Genesee Valley Golf Course - North

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.5
33
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
14
2 Stars
3
1 Stars
1
Staff Friendliness
4.1
Pace
3.7
Amenities
3.1
Conditions
3.4
Value
4.3
Layout
0
90.8%
Recommend this course
28 out of 33 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.5
33
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
3.0
Pace
4.0
Amenities
1.0
Conditions
4.0
Value
4.0
Layout
3.0
100.0%
Recommend this course
1 out of 1 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.5
33
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
3.8
Pace
3.8
Amenities
3.1
Conditions
3.6
Value
4.4
Layout
3.0
100.0%
Recommend this course
10 out of 10 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 71
Length 6495
Slope 114
Rating 70.7
Type Public
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 71 6495 yards 70.7 114
White 71 6115 yards 69.4 112
Red (W) 71 5441 yards 71.3 115
Scorecard for North
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Blue M: 69.9/109 530 303 331 201 498 224 409 410 228 3134 432 348 172 545 419 512 415 323 170 3336 6470
White M: 68.8/108 499 285 322 195 458 218 401 396 208 2982 413 339 166 459 412 502 410 317 151 3169 6151
Red W: 70.4/113 430 275 161 264 384 157 379 332 182 2564 367 325 162 428 405 443 321 310 132 2893 5457
Handicap 1 13 15 11 17 9 3 5 7 2 10 16 4 8 12 6 18 14
Par 5 4 4 3 5 3 4 4 3 35 4 4 3 5 4 5 4 4 3 36 71
Handicap (W) 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

Course Details

Year Built 1908
Golf Season Open: 4/15 Closed: 11/01

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Proper attire is required.

Reviews

3.5
33

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 3
Brunch 1
Dinner 1
Course Challenges Include:
Thick Rough 5
Plays Long 3
Water Hazards 2
This course/club is great for:
Locals 9
9-Hole Rounds 7
Beginners 7
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 9
Near the Airport 7
Near Local Attractions 3
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

Good value, not much else

I play at a lot of country clubs and play varsity golf for high school and this year I got a pass to play the local muni courses which included Genesee and Durand. Maybe it’s because of the caliber of course I’m used to playing in tournaments but it is just such a boring layout at Genesee. The greens are maintained ok but ur not gonna get much bite from longer shots like you would at a high end CC. I had a pass to play all I want for $100 and it was a steal. I played about 5 rounds a week over the summer and feel like I set myself up great for my upcoming season. The $100 pass deal for juniors is amazing but do beware that playing at Genesse doesn’t provide much of a challenge other than length, and the layout is so boring. Every hole is a straight shot to the green and provides very little opportunity to think around the course. On every hole the game plan is aim down the middle, go for pins and if I hit a good shot then it’s a birdie putt (and the greens hardly have any break) or get up and down bc there’s no bunkers to avoid. Durand provides a much more entertaining and thought out round of golf and it’s owned by the same people so it costs just as much.
Staff Friendliness Average
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Fair
Course Conditions Fair
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Fair
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Cold weather
Used cart

End of season

Lightly used on a Friday because of chilly conditions, the pace of play allowed for a three hour round. The greens were in very good condition, not aerated and sanded yet.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Average
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart
Staff Friendliness Average
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Poor
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Average
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

Home Course!!!

The challenges of larger golf courses always make me long for playing the Home Course! It's where I can get my MOJO back.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Good
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Used cart

conditions were quite nice

the Course was in very nice shape. the greens were awesome.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Layout of the course

The overall layout of the course is poor. Minimal signs from hole to hole and going from north 9 to north 10 was confusing. I'd like to see more signs. Overall I like the course.
Staff Friendliness Average
Pace of Play Fair
Off-course amenities Poor
Course Conditions Fair
Value for the Money Fair
Course Layout Poor
Response from Genesee Valley Golf Course - North on 09/08/2017:
Hello Chris, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Genesee Valley Golf Course - North, and for the 3-stars. We are sorry to hear that you did not like the course layout and your feedback is appreciated so that we know we can improve the directions on the course. We are glad that you had an overall enjoyable experience playing our golf course. Thank you for choosing our course, in the Western New York area, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Staff Friendliness Average
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Average
Response from Genesee Valley Golf Course - North on 09/06/2017:
Hello Lorraine, thank you for taking the time to review our golf course, Genesee Valley Golf Course - North, and for the 3-stars. We are glad to see that the course was in good shape when you played, and we hope you enjoyed the course layout. It also looks like your round was a great value for you, so we are glad to see that. Thank you for choosing our course, in the Western New York area, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Fairways are great

The overall condition of the course was in the best shape I have seen it. The greens rolled very even.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Average
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Ok

Nothing special it's an old course. Fairways were not great, but the greens were pretty good.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Average
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Average
Response from Genesee Valley Golf Course - North on 08/29/2017:
Hello Art, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Genesee Valley Golf Course - North, and for the 3-stars. We are sorry to hear that the fairways may not have been in the best shape when you played, but we are happy to hear that you still enjoyed the greens. It also looks like you had a friendly experience with our staff and that your round was a great value for you, so we are glad to see that. Thank you for choosing our golf course, in the Western New York area, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather

Nice course, greens

The change in this course over the pat 2 years is tremendous. The greens are very good. Fairways are improving but still need a little work. Overall the course is in very good shape and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a good round.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Good

Stay & Play Offers

$110 Starting price
Valid dates: Aug 13, 2018 - Dec 31, 2019
The Penn Ohio Golf Trail consists of courses mainly in Western PA and Northeast Ohio. What sets us apart is that we offer 29 different courses; including 4 private, members-only country clubs, 2 former LPGA courses, and many of the top courses in Ohio and Pennsylvania (including Pennsylvania’s #1 public course – Olde Stonewall). We offer 4 Mansions (for groups of 2 to 36), 10 hotels and customer service beyond any major resort. Our Mansions feature large common areas, pool tables, poker tables, big screen TV’s with the luxury of the entire group together in a large home setting.
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE