Nine Hole Par 3 at Smithtown Landing Golf Club

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.2
215
5 Stars
65
4 Stars
105
3 Stars
32
2 Stars
8
1 Stars
5
Conditions
4.2
Value
4.3
Layout
4.4
Friendliness
4.4
Pace
3.6
Amenities
3.5
92.6%
Recommend this course
189 out of 211 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.9
30
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.1
Value
4.2
Layout
4.4
Pace
3.3
Amenities
3.7
StaffFriendliness
4.5
86.7%
Recommend this course
26 out of 30 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
4.1
41
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.2
Value
4.3
Layout
4.4
Pace
3.6
Amenities
3.6
StaffFriendliness
4.5
90.2%
Recommend this course
37 out of 41 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 9
Par 27
Length 1143
Slope 0
Rating 0.0
Type Municipal
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
White 27 1143 yards
Scorecard for Par 3 Course
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out Total
White M: 27.2/87 W: 28.3/89 130 99 123 115 123 158 130 85 120 1083 1083
Handicap 3 5 6 4 1 2 8 9 7
Par 3 3 3 3 3 3 3 3 3 27 27

Course Details

Year Built 1965
Golf Season Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Indoor Practice Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Appropriate golf attire.

Reviews

4.2
215

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 10
Course Challenges Include:
Elevation Changes 27
Undulating Greens 11
Bunkers 10
This course/club is great for:
Locals 19
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 14
Advanced Golfers 13
This Course's Location is:
In the 'Burbs 24
Worth the Drive 12

Reviewer Photos

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Fair
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Response from Smithtown Landing Country Club on 10/09/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review your experience with us, we truly appreciate your feedback and will certainly pass it along to our team. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the 5-star experience that you deserve.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

1st timer

The staff were very curtious and efficient. The starter was even a funny guy.the course was immaculately kept. This is a very challenging course and if you do well here, you can play anywhete. Thanks for a great day!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 500 Contributor
Previously Played

Great layout and challenging

Loved just about everything with the course. Elevation change, dogleg left and right...... only issue is the greens are not in great shape. Plenty divots that are NOT repaired makes for terrible greens.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Smithtown Landing Country on 09/18/2018:
Hello, on behalf of Smithtown Landing Country staff we appreciate you taking the time to address your concerns as we are always looking to improve. We are disappointed to hear that you were not happy with the conditions of the course but still hope you enjoyed your round. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 1000 Contributor
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Great course, but wiped out

Normally a great course to play with an excellent layout, but it seems to have suffered from recent wet weather conditions. The main problem was the greens- quite worn, uneven, very bumpy, and in some cases damaged. The fairways and rough were also washed a bit, so that the ball would settle down in, rather than sit up in a normal position. I think if we have some sunny days over the next week or two and the greenskeepers give some careful attention, things will be back to normal.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Response from Smithtown Landing Country on 09/17/2018:
Hello, thank you for sharing your review, We truly appreciate both your positive and constructive feedback regarding the course conditions and will be sure to pass it along to our team. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our staff and sceneries at Smithtown Landing Country, and also appreciate your input on our maintenance. We hope to welcome you back for an enjoyable experience on the course in the near future.
Played On
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Amenities Good
Response from Smithtown Landing Country on 08/27/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review your experience with us, we truly appreciate your feedback and will certainly pass it along to our team. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the 5-star experience that you deserve.
Played On
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Great layout

Extremely friendly staff, great layout. Great views as well. Course can be very challenging.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Slow fun

5.5 hr round but it was a beautiful day; not unexpected on a fri before rain coming in for 4 or 5 days. However, course in good condition for all the hot weather.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Poor
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser

Slow

From the second hole to the 18th. Waited on every tee. No excuse for this pace of play

Conditions Good
Value Fair
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Poor
Response from Smithtown Landing Country Club on 07/23/2018:
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review us. We are very sorry to hear that you did not have the best recent experience with us due to the slow pace of play, but we hope that you still enjoyed your day here at Smithtown Landing. We are happy to see that you recommend our course, but we still hope that you will have an improved experience the next time you are with us. Thank you again for the review.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Nice course

Very nice course in very good shape, greens were hard and fast in excellent condition, fairways in good shape. Pace of play was a little slow at 5 hours but overall a good day. I would play again.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Fun on a hot day

The course was in very good condition and the two people we were partnered with were fun. It was a little slow and very hot bugt the 19th hole with Gene was the best.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Pace of Play

Only completed 12 holes in 4 1/2 hours. Had to quit, had plans.

Conditions Good
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Poor
Amenities Good
Response from Smithtown Landing Golf Club on 06/22/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review your experience with us, we truly appreciate your feedback and will certainly pass it along to our team. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the 5-star experience that you deserve.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great value

Excellent day of Golf. Would recommend it to everyone.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Excellent
Played On
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Excellent Condition/Challenging Course

The course was in excellent condition. Several holes have blind tee shots making the round a little more difficult, but makes a good challenge for any golfer. Greens were great. Good round. Pace was fine, as well.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Wet weather
Used cart

Nice course - pace of play awful

Very slow. Clear slow group a few holes ahead of us and ranger did nothing. They put a single out in between 2 foursomes with a threesome behind us. If they can clean this up, the course would be great to play.

Conditions Excellent
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Response from Smithtown Landing Golf Club on 06/11/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review us, Smithtown Landing Golf Club, in the Smithtown, New York area. We're very sorry to hear you may not have had the best recent customer experience with us due to the pace of play, and we greatly appreciate your feedback regarding the rangers so we may work towards any necessary improvements. We also appreciate your dedication to playing our course over the years and hope we can continue to provide you with a valuable golf experience. Thank you for golfing with us, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather

Social Golf

I like to go out at a single most of the time so that I can relax and work on my fundamentals. I was paired up with 3 others who had made last minute reservations using GolfNow and I have to say they were all a pleasure to golf with. We all had played here before and even with the slow pace, there wasn't a complaint among us. Just pure fun. Golf-On!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Poor management of play

Two foursomes in front of us did not know how to play golf and weren't even in proper golf attire. They were wearing tee shirts and sneakers. These all-male groups hit the ball 6-7 times to advance 100 yards! Two foursomes and a twosome were waiting on every hole. By the 9th hole the twosome left. We spoke to the ranger at least 5 times, but he did nothing. A six hour round is utterly ridiculous. Will never return here.

Conditions Average
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Fair
Response from Smithtown Landing Golf Club on 06/05/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review us, Smithtown Landing Golf Club, in the Smithtown, New York area. We're very sorry to hear you may not have had the best recent customer experience with us due to the pace of play, and we greatly appreciate your feedback regarding the rangers so we may work towards any necessary improvements. Thank you for golfing with us, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Lot of great different shots!

Love this course it is for everyone! Great staff/ pro shop/ bar and and grill also a half way house with snacks. There is also a driving range for your irons only . If you live on long island a must play!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Nearby Courses
Saint James, New York
0.0
0
Smithtown, New York
4.0418235294
346
Lake Grove, New York
0.0
0
Northport, New York
0.0
0
Northport, New York
5.0
1
Hauppauge, New York
4.1380529412
224
East Setauket, New York
0.0
0
Commack, New York
0.0
0

Stay & Play Offers

$89 Starting price
Valid dates: Oct 11, 2018 - Aug 31, 2019
Stay and Play Golf in Scottsdale, Arizona from $89 per golfer/night (including golf & lodging!)
495 Landing Ave, Smithtown, New York 11787, Suffolk County
(800) 444-0565, (631) 979-6534
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE