Spook Rock Golf Course

3.9846000000 4.0 stars from 5 (115)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6807 yards
  • Slope: 136
  • Rating: 72.9
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6807 yards 72.9 136
White 72 6271 yards 71.3 131
White (W) 72 6271 yards 76.5 137
Gold 72 5641 yards 67.9 124
Gold (W) 72 5641 yards 72.1 129
Red (W) 72 4890 yards 68.3 121

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.0 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.6 stars from 5
Value: 3.9 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.6 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 3.9 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.0 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 115 Reviews
5 stars:
36
4 stars:
57
3 stars:
15
2 stars:
5
1 stars:
2

recommend this course

101 out of 115 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is in the 'burbs worth the drive convenient to the city   Great for advanced golfers locals walkers   Challenges include bunkers thick rough water hazards   Great for drinks patio dining  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Nice course check if price includes cart"


carolpaf's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/15/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Thought we were getting a great deal from golf now then at the course found out no cart was included. Other than that an enjoyable round


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Spook Rock"


gmen58yankees98's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/15/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fantastic Golf Course. The only criticism is the golf course rough is way to high. Greens are in excellent shape. Beauitful scenery. Tremendous value. One of my favorite golf courses in NY.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"pricing wrong"


u422501527's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/09/2018
First time playing Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Per our cashier, there is no way that we should have gotten the inexpensive rate that we got. The manager did end up giving us the price that I booked for on your website after I showed him the email verification that you sent to me on my phone. Other than that, I had no other complaints.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Spook Rock Golf Course"


cyclonicman's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/14/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Years ago I was told by a fellow golfer that Spook Rock was a really nice course and that I should play it. Well, I am sorry i waited so long because I just think it is a wonderful course to play. The Greens were a little slow, but in good condition and the rest of the course was in great shape. There are few surprises, it is not a tricked up course either. The layout of each hole is very pleasing to the eye and in many cases even a bad shot will be playable. I found it to be a forgiving course. Some very beautiful holes also, just stop and look. I would recommend this course to everyone. Can't wait to play again! The staff is also one the friendliest I have ever encountered and truly accommodating and proactive, always looking to help in some way. Play Spook Rock and you will see what I mean!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/04/2018

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave a FIVE star review of Spook Rock Golf Course. We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful time! Jim and Jon and their staff truly are so friendly! We hope to see you again very soon! - Alexa of appliedgolf management at Spook Rock Golf Course


"Challenge"


Ramak23's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/02/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice challenging course with no two holes the same. No real easy holes so you will earn everything.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/04/2018

Hello, Thank you for leaving a four star review of Spook Rock Golf Course. We hope to see you again very soon! - Alexa C. at appliedgolf management of Spook Rock


"Would be a good test & enjoyable when drys out"


19242154350214233519's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/27/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

Got a great GolfNow rate $52 for a 12.10 tee time

Played in a three, due to projected rain course was empty - worked in our favour 3hrs 10 min round.

The experience- course was lush and green , putting surfaces had aeration recently so ran slow and bumpy course was saturated badly in some areas.

Being from overseas I can imagine this course would be beautiful in full bloom. Would luv to get back on it then. Some good holes with very strong par 3 from blue tees - scorable course


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/04/2018

Hello, Thank you for leaving a four star review of Spook Rock Golf Course. We hope to see you again very soon with our course in full bloom! - Alexa C. at appliedgolf management of Spook Rock



u000005154818's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/26/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 06/04/2018

Hello and thank you for visiting Spook Rock. We are sorry to hear about your below average experience. We hope that you visit us again in the future and give us another chance. - appliedgolf management of Spook Rock


"Spook Rock--a local gem"


fragilekid's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/08/2018
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I've been playing Spook Rock for 40 years. It's a bit of a challenge but quite fair. For this time of year (early Spring and cold) the greens and bunkers were in very good shape. Spook is in my standard rotation of courses for a good reason--it's a fine municipal track with a nice friendly staff.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/04/2018

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave a FIVE star review of Spook Rock Golf Course. We are so overjoyed to hear that you have been playing with us for 40 years. We cannot wait to see you again very soon! - Alexa of appliedgolf management at Spook Rock Golf Course


"Great Test"


pitchmaster1224's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/01/2018
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Being early in the season course was surprisingly dry and bunkers were in great shape. Greens were a bit slow as expected but rolled true. Lots of undulation and holes had character with doglegs and ponds on par 5's. Will def be back


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/04/2018

Hello, Thank you for leaving a four star review of Spook Rock Golf Course. We cannot wait to see you again very soon! - Alexa C. at appliedgolf management of Spook Rock



savings10703's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/28/2018
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/04/2018

Hello, Thank you for leaving a four star review of Spook Rock Golf Course. We hope to see you again very soon! - Alexa C. at appliedgolf management of Spook Rock



Chris3658413's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/08/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



abraham7007298's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/06/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Lots of dog legs"


stringali's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/02/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is all dog legs! It makes you think of where to hit to. For December most leaves were cleared, I was able to find my ball most of the time.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



abraham7007298's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Leaves everywhere"


u7241747's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/21/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played on the 21st of Nov.. Course was overwhelmed by leaves.... poorly maintained. Leaves everywhere even in the sand traps. If you plan on playing this course do it in the spring or summer. FORGET ABOUT THE FALL.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Excellent course"


heb116's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/21/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Layout is super and course maintenance is also great! Want to play again.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



7themick7's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/21/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Spook Rock 11/8"


NJGolfr's avatar
Top 100 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/08/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Arrived at the course not knowing what to expect and received a good welcome from the course manager. The Pro shop is small and has a limited supply of items. Putting green and driving range are more than adequate. Golf today was winter rules as it rained the night before leaving the ball muddy shot after shot. Tee boxes, fairways and greens were in excellent condition. Leaves lined both sides of most fairways making it difficult to find the ball if you had an errant shot.

I would suggest that players playing this course for the first time to play with someone that has local knowledge of the layout. The restaurant on the turn had my food ready to go and was reasonably priced. I look forward to returning and playing the course again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Nice"


RichPNYNJ's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/04/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice old course. Check in and cafe a bit out dated but a decent track. A bit expensive as compared to non municipal courses but worth playing.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course



abraham7007298's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/03/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed