Sprain Lake Golf Course

3.1672117647 3.2 stars from 5 (124)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 70
  • Length: 6110 yards
  • Slope: 122
  • Rating: 69.3
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Indoor practice facilities: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: American Express, Visa, MasterCard

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 70 6110 yards 69.3 122
White 70 5631 yards 67.2 120
Red (W) 72 4787 yards 67.9 118

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.2 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.2 stars from 5
Value: 3.2 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.0 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 3.8 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.6 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 2.9 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 124 Reviews
5 stars:
15
4 stars:
62
3 stars:
21
2 stars:
9
1 stars:
17

recommend this course

95 out of 122 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city in the 'burbs   Great for locals wildlife/ scenic views beginners   Challenges include elevation changes undulating greens water hazards  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Construction is Over!"


u4686512's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/23/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Last Year's construction and Renovations are done and the course looks great! No alternate greens or changes, just 18 well groomed challenging holes. Greens are in pretty good shape and overall a really enjoyable round. Glad Sprain Lake is back because its one of my favorite of the Westchester courses and still offers some really good Hot Deals during the week.


I recommend this course



u351065457's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/20/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Sprain Lake Golf Course on 04/23/2018:

Thank you for the kind words and four stars! We're certainly working hard to create a great experience for our golfers. We hope you'll be back again in the future!

"Busy place after a heavy rain"



3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/31/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

They’re doing some work on irrigation and drainage, and have built a temporary hole in place of #13. Busy busy, busy! Course drains well after a heavy rain, and gets heavy play as a result. Pace of play=5 hours.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


Response from Sprain Lake Golf Course on 12/29/2017:

Thank you for the excellent feedback! Yes, we have been doing renovations and we think the end result will be terrific. We look forward to our golfers benefitting from all the hard work in 2018.

"Almost there!"


u591225635's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/23/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Sprain Lake GC has been undergoing an upgrade/ improvement. Work is almost complete and the finished product should be fantastic. Fairways are in great shape and the new greens are good and getting better. The layout is challenging yet enjoyable even for an intermediate player.

No par fives on the front helps keep the pace of play acceptable. We usually play 18 in just under four hours.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Sprain Lake Golf Course on 09/26/2017:

Thank you for the terrific five-star review! We, too, are very excited to see the payoff of all the hard work we've done. We appreciate the wonderful feedback and we look forward to your next round with us!


u000006788768's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/08/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Sprain Lake Golf Course on 09/14/2017:

We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your round with us. If this is due to the current construction, we understand your frustration but it is temporary. Hopefully, in the future, you'll be back to see the great results. Thank you for the helpful feedback and have a great day.

"Course is a construction zone"



1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/05/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is literally under construction with no warning from starter or club house. Avoid at all costs


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Sprain Lake Golf Course on 09/14/2017:

We sincerely apologize for the lack of notice! We have passed along your feedback to management with the suggestion that all pro shop staff should inform golfers of the current construction. Thank you for letting us know and we do hope you'll be back again to see the great results in the future.

"Course Conditions"


Knocknagin's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/04/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

They are doing a lot of work to the course. I think it will be very much improved once the work is complete and it has a chance to "grow in". In the meantime there are a few growing pains but it's still very worthwhile visiting.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Sprain Lake Golf Course on 09/14/2017:

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us some great feedback! We also think the work will be well-worth any current inconvenience. We hope you'll be back again to enjoy the pay off!

"Hole closed"


u953579174's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/04/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Hole 14 was closed under repair but other then that it's a nice course


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Sprain Lake Golf Course on 09/14/2017:

We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a nice four-star review! Please come and see us again soon!

"construction site"


Zipper1's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/22/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

would have liked to know about construction all over the course. greens closed, paths blocked, entire hole unplayable.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Sprain Lake Golf Course on 08/29/2017:

Thank you for providing helpful feedback. We apologize for the lack of communication and we will include a construction notice moving forward.

"Frustrated !!"


dirtdogs15's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/21/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

They are under construction, trucks crossing the fairway at times. Workers on the greens don't move on approach. The course has a great layout.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Sprain Lake Golf Course on 08/29/2017:

We do apologize for the inconvenience of the construction. We know that the end result will be well worth the current frustration and we hope you'll come out then and see the end result!

"Boring course"


u874593519's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/20/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course really lacks any character and is basically being rebuilt so hopefully they are sprucing it up a bit. Super short course especially with one of the par 5s being chcanged into a par 3. Would probably not come back.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Sprain Lake Golf Course on 08/22/2017:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us great feedback! We're working hard to improve the course and we hope you will give us another shot after the construction is complete.

"Under construction"


denishchoi's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/19/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It was so bad because the course was under construction. The 5th hole closed entirely and 4 holes green was not well maintained as like fairway. All my friends complained to me.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Sprain Lake Golf Course on 08/22/2017:

We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your round due to the construction. We hope you'll return upon completion to see the great improvements!

"Great Public Course in Westchester"


RickyFriedman's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/12/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

The course is under construction.

-new greens

-a new bridge

-new fairway drainage.

The construction is somewhat inconvenient on 2 holes.

New locker rooms, restrooms and showers.

The 19th hole has good food and a nice bar.

Next year the course will be awesome.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Sprain Lake Golf Course on 09/14/2017:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great four-star review! We're also very excited about the improvements being made to the course. We hope you'll be back again to see them!

"The course was under construction"


war65lou's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/01/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I feel that Golf Now should have mentioned before booking this hot deal that the course was under construction. We also used reward points for this course which brought down the price, but it wasn't worth it.

There were at least 3 holes under construction and there were construction vehicles and men working on repairs throughout the course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Response from Sprain Lake Golf Course on 08/15/2017:

Thank you for the helpful feedback! We will certainly add language to the GolfNow tee times stipulating that work is currently being done. We hope you'll come back in the future to see the great outcome!

"Construction"


Jared74's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/30/2017
Previously played Walked Windy weather

Reviewed on

Have played Sprain many times. They've always had some construction, but this year they have major renovations all over the course. They have reduced the fees and their twilight prices are the best you'll find right now. It's worth the cost. The course has some nice holes. At times, it also has a laid back atmosphere. That cuts both ways, sometimes. While we often show up and play with two and don't have to worry about too much traffic, you'll also see kids in carts dart in front of you right before you hit a shot. The greens can be tricky. The temp greens are some of the worst I've seen. When it is at %100, it's a fun course. Right now, it can be frustrating if you are looking to score.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


Response from Sprain Lake Golf Course on 08/15/2017:

We understand the frustration the construction is causing. We're confident that the results will speak volumes and be well worth the effort. We hope you'll return in the future to see it.


golfgiant's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/25/2017
Used cart

Reviewed on

Prior to tee off not a mention signing in or by the starter of construction, 6 holes working on. I have played course 6 or 7 times prior to construction, course in decent shape then but now its not more than a pitch and putt with construction and trucks all over course. Some tee boxes moved up 150 to 200yds In my opinion course should not be open while this is going on unless you want to waste your day. Worst shape of any course I have ever seen. I would never have played had I known.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Response from Sprain Lake Golf Course on 08/15/2017:

We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your round due to the construction. It's certainly not ideal conditions at the moment but we're very confident that the outcome will be well worth it!

"Tight narrow track, under major renovations"


Luckyshank's avatar
Top 10 Contributor
New York Advisor
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/25/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Pretty unfair if I judged and reviewed this course based on today. Not a long course by any means. If you get off the tees well, you could really choose landing spots with fairway woods and hybrids. Fairways and greens are narrow so accuracy is a must. Several holes are undergoing major renovations so many tee boxes and greens are closed. For a Tuesday afternoon, the parking lot was full and had to wait on every tee box. Greens that are not under construction are in inconsistent with each other (different speed).

I would like to play this track again when the course renovations are complete. Tee boxes under constructing foreces shots over scenic water and funneled fairways. A handful of holes are along water and very eye pleasing. FYI, bathrooms in the clubhouse and by the starter hole is screaming for much needed TLC.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


Response from Sprain Lake Golf Course on 07/27/2017:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us very valuable feedback. We understand the renovations are a current inconvenience but the payoff will be well worth it! Please come and see us again in the future!


u348183650's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/21/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Sprain Lake Golf Course on 07/27/2017:

We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience with us. Please let us know how we can improve!

"I'd like to play...."


ozzone47's avatar
Top 10 Contributor
New York Advisor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/17/2017
First time playing Used cart

Reviewed on

...it again, when its finish. Lot's of renovations going on

but I still enjoyed the course. Maybe the end of the year or early next year. No flat lies hear. Rolling terrain with some nice holes. Play was very slow, need a ranger.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Sprain Lake Golf Course on 07/19/2017:

Thank you for the feedback! Glad to hear that you enjoyed the course and we hope to see you again soon!

"Not at this time"


deniselaporta's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/20/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It was a mess of construction going on. Trucks and equipment all over the place. Temporary holes set up on few holes. We found out that the prices was lowered because of the work being done so we actually paid more through golfnow than if we signed up at the desk not using golfnow. Disappointed to say the least!


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Sprain Lake Golf Course on 07/27/2017:

We do apologize for any inconvenience our renovations have caused but the end result will be wonderful and we hope you'll come back out to see the great results.


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed