Black Bear Golf Club

4.0229529412 4.0 stars from 5 (443)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7018 yards
  • Slope: 139
  • Rating: 74.1
  • Layout

  • 24505 Calusa Blvd, Eustis, Florida 32736, Lake County
  • (352) 357-4732
  • (352) 357-4737
  • www.blackbeargolfclub.com
Write Review

Year built: 1995
Architect(s): P. B. Dye (1995)
Type: Semi-Private
Style: Links
Greens: Bermuda Grass
Fairways: Bermuda Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Pull-carts: No
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No
GPS: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Practice hole: No
Simulator: No
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: No
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire required
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Championship 72 7018 yards 74.1 139
Black 72 6381 yards 71.2 133
White 72 5936 yards 69.3 126
White (W) 72 5936 yards 75.4 134
Green 72 5362 yards 66.8 121
Green (W) 72 5362 yards 72.0 128
Red 72 4768 yards 64.2 116
Red (W) 72 4768 yards 68.1 121

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.0 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.9 stars from 5
Value: 4.1 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.8 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.0 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 443 Reviews
5 stars:
120
4 stars:
205
3 stars:
63
2 stars:
34
1 stars:
21

recommend this course

360 out of 442 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive in the 'burbs convenient to the city   Great for locals advanced golfers a weekend splurge   Challenges include bunkers elevation changes undulating greens   Great for drinks patio dining brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Tough Course!"


PCsReasy's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/31/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is a really tough play! Hills, undulations, hidden bunkers, protected greens, narrow tree lined fairways, off-fairway grass extremely deep. Par 3's are long, except for 15. Played the Green Tees and because of the overall length of the course, all my second shots were a hybrid. Other than a wedge, I only used my irons twice.

Bring your best game to Black Bear; you'll need it!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Too Bad Sandra was Away in California"


DomScored66's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/17/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Really came to see if Sandra was around so I could practice some German. But seriously, I did enjoy a beautiful day golfing with Rick and his wife Joice, and Larry from upper state New York. Both fairways and green are some of the best in the area. Positioning and wind considerations are keys to do well on no18 as you can easily note the large body of water while practicing a few putts. Keep your golf ball left of the green and you should do well on no9. It is wide and forgiving course and perhaps this is one fundamental reason why Sandra is not in the top 20 on the LPGA.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Black Bear, lives up to its name."


u886278253's avatar
Top 100 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/16/2018
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course will frustrate you, will challenge your best shots, will make you wonder why.

My round was a very windy day, lots of blind shots, very hilly, unable to hold most greens as they are crowned and have steep drops.

Most of the time you are hitting a shot from a valley, greens are setup high and small targets. Pin placements are diabolical, your best shot must be even better to get par, bogey is considered a very good score. Get the picture?

You must play this course 2-3 times just to get the layout and how to approach the greens, oh yes the undulating greens. Get to the correct level or you are looking at 3 putts all day.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"ONE OF THE BEST"


mailman2011's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/16/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

PLAYED THIS COURSE MANY TIMES ITS A GREAT COURSE EXCELLENT CONDITIONS IF YOU HAVE,NT PLAYED IT WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



mikecarneyfl's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/16/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Very windy. Greens rolled well.Great price."


Sweetgig's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/11/2018
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Some of the best winter/spring conditions I've found in the area. Looking forward to playing it again now that I know the course a little. Hint for anyone playing it for the first time.... don't hit driver on the 18th.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Play it if you get a chance!!"


Milesfa's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/08/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We drove up from Kissemmee and it was worth the drive! The course is in great shape compared to others we have played this week. This is a tough course with many elevation changes, nasty pot bunkers and tough greens. The sandtraps could use some work. Not much water on the course. Lots of valleys by the greens. Good pace of play. People are really friendly and it was great value for money.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Love it"


u000004781447's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/08/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have played this course once before, love the layout of the course. The only negative I would say is that it seemed the greens needed to be cut they were very slow. But overall the course was in excellent shape. I will definitely play this course again, this is my favorite course in the area.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u000001417401's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/04/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



gsteyermader's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/02/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"I LOVE THIS COURSE"


GratefulDuffer's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/30/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Of course it may be because I shot the round of my life (67). I have played this course numerous times over the year and simply love it. The course is all about approach shots and putting. The greens are narrow, long and undulating.

Conditions were great. Friendly staff, excellent amenities. Love it.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



tootie23's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/28/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Nothing special and low quality of the course…"


tomik17's avatar
Top 10 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/24/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Wanted to give it a try after several years as some reviews here were very good. But the round was rather disappointing. Played as foursome in 4 ¼ hours. Tee boxes are not very good, ladies tees are mostly placed somewhere in the fairway (!?). Fairways are mostly very hard, so the ball is jumping without control, which leads on some blind holes to search for the ball even if you hit it straight… Also around the greens there is almost no grass or it is stepped hard as concrete, makes the chipping almost impossible. Greens have different speed, from rather slow to bit faster, bunkers either to much sand or rather no sand at all. Over all it is not a place to go for a pleasant round and you can play several courses around for even less money that are in better condition……


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/21/2018
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course



Chris2180782's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/21/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course



lizdro's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/16/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Really tough layout for first timers or high handicappers"


TimBaysore's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/16/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played with 2 guys who knew the course or it would have not been a fun day.. Couple of holes like goofy golf. Greens have lot of undulations. All in all a good time


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 03/19/2018

Have to agree that this is a tough one for beginners. My wife has just taken up the game and has some difficulty getting shots airborne at times. She spent a lot of time in the sand. With that said the course was in very good shape and we will probably be back when my wife is a bit more "experienced."


"Challenging Greens"


calandersen's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/14/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is challenging and in good condition. Greens are generally smallish and difficult to hit. Once on, you find undulating, but not unfair, putting surfaces. Lots of fairway bunkers to think about as you consider your tee shot.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course



Danny139's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/13/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



GBusteed's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/11/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"The course can be challenging but fair"


jbc1149's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/10/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We teed off on time and the pace of play was good. Our threesom enjoyed rolling hills and undulation that the course offered. We had a very enjoyable time at Great Bear.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed