The Spruce Creek Preserve Golf Club

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.6
438
5 Stars
65
4 Stars
171
3 Stars
99
2 Stars
65
1 Stars
38
Conditions
3.3
Value
4.1
Layout
4.2
Friendliness
4.4
Pace
4.0
Amenities
3.7
79.7%
Recommend this course
330 out of 437 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.9
47
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
5
1 Stars
0
Conditions
3.6
Value
4.4
Layout
4.4
Pace
4.1
Amenities
4.1
StaffFriendliness
4.7
85.1%
Recommend this course
40 out of 47 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.8
122
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
58
3 Stars
21
2 Stars
11
1 Stars
2
Conditions
3.7
Value
4.4
Layout
4.4
Pace
4.1
Amenities
4.0
StaffFriendliness
4.7
89.3%
Recommend this course
109 out of 122 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 71
Length 6540
Slope 131
Rating 70.9
Type Public
Book a Tee Time at
Spruce Creek Preserve Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Green 71 6540 yards 70.9 131
Blue 71 6130 yards 68.3 124
White 71 5505 yards 65.8 113
White (W) 71 5505 yards 70.9 125
Silver 71 5046 yards 64.6 106
Silver (W) 71 5046 yards 69.0 122
Red (W) 71 4753 yards 66.8 113
Scorecard for Spruce Creek Preserve
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Green M: 70.8/122 495 401 180 490 366 175 402 387 397 3293 350 176 392 376 428 347 552 207 419 3247 6540
Blue M: 68.3/115 471 377 151 478 348 154 379 352 370 3080 313 165 373 345 401 331 535 198 389 3050 6130
White M: 65.2/108 W: 68.8/114 423 341 126 470 294 136 343 304 337 2774 262 140 346 308 365 287 499 164 360 2731 5505
Silver M: 64.6/106 407 332 104 434 280 115 328 291 296 2587 249 120 295 285 345 258 465 122 320 2459 5046
Red W: 67.0/111 379 295 104 434 258 107 288 275 296 2436 228 100 295 247 325 226 465 115 316 2317 4753
Handicap 3 1 17 7 13 15 9 11 5 18 12 6 10 8 14 4 16 2
Par 5 4 3 5 4 3 4 4 4 36 4 3 4 4 4 4 5 3 4 35 71

Course Details

Year Built 1997
Architect Terry Doss (1997)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes

Reviews

3.6
438

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 17
Brunch 16
19th Hole Specials 11
Course Challenges Include:
Narrow Fairways 69
Bunkers 55
Water Hazards 26
This course/club is great for:
Locals 66
Seniors 63
Beginners 26
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 43
Worth the Drive 32
In the 'Burbs 26
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Fair
Pace Fair
Amenities Fair
Response from The Spruce Creek Preserve Golf Club on 09/27/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review your experience with us, we truly appreciate your feedback and will certainly pass it along to our team. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the 5-star experience that you deserve.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Spruce Creek Review

This course shows continued improvement in all areas. In time this course will be one of the best in this part of Florida. Should be on your must play list.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Awesome time

Me and a friend had a blast. Awesome service from staff as we both introduced our wives to the game if golf.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great shape

I love this course!!!! Ed and the staff have the course in great condition especially for September. Keep up the good work.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Cow Pasture

Glad I didn't pay any more than what I did to play this course. The fairways and tee boxes was like a cow pasture. The greens had a lot of weeds growing into the grass. The bunkers you could putt out of because they had no sand and was as hard as concrete.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from The Spruce Creek Preserve Golf Club on 08/08/2018:
Thank you for coming out and playing the Spruce Creek Preserve. We are sorry to hear about your disappointment with the conditions, and we hope that you will be able to see improvement the next time you are here. We are welcome to hearing any more feedback that you might have.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Poor
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from The Spruce Creek Preserve Golf Club on 07/23/2018:
Thank you for leaving us a rating. We are sorry that it looks like you were disappointed with the conditions. We are always looking to improve, and we would welcome any feedback that you might have.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 250 Contributor
Previously Played

Bumpy Greens

Got off early at 7:15 am, but was told to play slowly because they booked a 45 person shotgun starting at 8 am on the back 9. Not happy about that! That was bad enough, but the fairways were full of cow grass as were many of the greens. The game is hard enough without having these conditions. We won't be back until they get the course in better shape.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Response from The Spruce Creek Preserve Golf Club on 07/20/2018:
Thank you for leaving us a review. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with the condition of the course. We can assure you that our staff will keep working hard and seek improvement, and we hope you can see the results of our hard work the next time you are with us. Thank you for sharing your concerns.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

The course has a lot of potential

Very slow front nine, had 3 or 4 twosomes go out in front of us, finally stopped at turn and had the back nine to ourselves. Fairways were spotty, greens were pretty good, putted true and reasonable speed.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Poor
Amenities Good
Response from Spruce Creek Preserve Golf Course on 07/18/2018:
Thank you for coming out and for leaving us a review. We are sorry that slow play affected your round, but we are happy to see that you liked the course. Our staff will continue to work hard to improve the situation for speed and conditions during these summer months, and we hope to see you back again sometime soon.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Friendly Staff

Greens were in pretty good shape. The fairway left much to be desired. Was hard to tell the rough from the fairway. Could be a beautiful course with a little care.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Response from The Spruce Creek Preserve Golf Club on 07/12/2018:
Hello, thank you for sharing your review, We truly appreciate both your positive and constructive feedback regarding the course conditions and will be sure to pass it along to our team. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our staff and sceneries at The Spruce Creek Preserve Golf Club, and also appreciate your input on our maintenance. We hope to welcome you back for an enjoyable experience on the course in the near future.
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Great value, enjoyable play

Start with $25 rack rate. Given that:

Excellent layout, interesting holes, dog legs, some water holes and lots of really nice mature trees.

Fairways are fine if you apply winter rules and move the ball - if you're wimpy - to grass. The course is still working on controlling the weeds but will get control of that soon.

Greens are not very pretty but are consistently cut and rolled, resulting in reasonably fast greens that run true.

We have a group that plays this course regularly and it is a great value, and an very fun play.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Pretty nice

Just moved to the area - first golf since move. Wife came out w/me-she played 9, I played 18. Sunday afternoon - pace of play was great. Friendly staff/pro shop guy very helpful. Nice layout - some neat golf holes - will definitely be back.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Great shape

This course is in great shape. There are a few greens with mold that they are working hard on but it is night and day different from last year. Everyone is helpful and playing here is a joy

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

Worth the Money

Course is a work in progress. Some fairways have a lot of good grass and bare spots. Bunkers can use some work. Overall worth the money.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Getting Better

At least fairways had grass on them. Course is getting better, but still needs lots of work.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Response from The Spruce Creek Preserve Golf Club on 07/30/2018:
Hello Reeses, thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review your experience with us, we truly appreciate your feedback and will certainly pass it along to our team. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the 5-star experience that you deserve.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

New management has been making a difference

Have been playing this course off and on for four years and it has experienced difficulties in the past, but it is on the mend and many improvements have been made to upgrade the course. New management has shown that it cares about the course and it definitely shows. Currently the pro shop is undergoing updating with new ceramic flooring. All things considered I give this course a B+, and with all the rain that we have been getting this summer it can get better. Fine wine takes time to better and so does a golf course. You just have to give it a chance and this management is putting in the money and effort to bring it back. This is a tight tree-lined course with strategic trees, doglegs, and obstacles that will test you. It's a fun course to play, doesn't cost you an arm and a leg to play, has a friendly staff, and a great little restaurant with good inexpensive food.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Used cart

Improved course

Been playing here for a few years and this is the best shape it has been in. They are working really hard at improving the course, clubhouse, and the driving range.

I especially like the donuts in the morning. It is a nice touch.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Didn't see 4 stars...?

Not a bad course with some work... If it looked like the pic on the scorecard would have been great. For me I drove past 4 or 5 better courses on my way there. I'll just stop at one of them next time.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Fair
Amenities Average
Response from The Spruce Creek Preserve Golf Club on 06/14/2018:
Hello, on behalf of The Spruce Creek Preserve Golf Club staff we appreciate you taking the time to address your concerns as we are always looking to improve. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with the conditions of the course but still hope you enjoyed your round. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Nearby Courses
Ocala, Florida
1.0
1
Ocala, Florida
2.0
75
Ocala, Florida
4.2419117647
293
Citrus Springs, Florida
3.9464
56
Ocala, Florida
3.5772058824
44
Citrus Springs, Florida
3.1736285714
131

Stay & Play Offers

$89 Starting price
Valid dates: Oct 11, 2018 - Aug 31, 2019
Stay and Play Golf in Scottsdale, Arizona from $89 per golfer/night (including golf & lodging!)
13601 SW 115th Ave , Dunnellon, Florida 34432, Marion County
(352) 861-3131, (352) 861-9899
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE